We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfactory budget hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Regency Hotel Solihull

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Regency Hotel Solihull
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Satisfactory budget hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed only 1 night as part of a weekend shopping trip. Our room was clean, tidy and nice and warm and the bed was so comfortable. The food was okay but nothing special.

My only complaint was that the hair dryer was no where near a mirror - perhaps designed by a man!

Overall the hotel was fine for an overnight stay

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    216
    156
    119
    114
See reviews for
173
162
35
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We were at this hotel foe a friends 60th birthday function so we were only there for the night, but this the second occasion we have stayed there, the other time was a similar function back in 2007.

The hotel is very comfortable, but only has a three star rating ??, not quite sure why ??

The section below is taken from their website;

"The Regency Hotel is a 3 star hotel which boasts 111 rooms , excellent leisure facilities including an indoor pool and fully equipped gym, one restaurant and bar, as well as flexible business facilities with 7 meeting and conference rooms suitable for training courses, conferences, workshops or corporate celebration dinners in Solihull or near Birmingham area."

On both occasions we have stayed there we have found it to be very good, no complaints about anything. The staff are always very friendly as was the general atmosphere.

We would no reservations about returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigalw35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed here for 1 night whilst using the NEC. The hotel room was fine; comfortable and clean, nice big bed and everything you need. There was no thermostat so couldn't control the heat and was rather warm. Staff were fine and apologized about the refurb that was going on. Breakfast was a buffet but the staff were rather slow and had to be asked to get you a hot drink and toast.
Paid extra for breakfast but no one was checking whether it was included in your room rate or not so probably could of got it for free!
Plenty of options around the local area for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jblood75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

It's a good hotel in a good location, with lovely staff.

OK it's being refurnished so some parts are older than others, but they did apologise for any disruption caused.

Saturday breakfast times seemed to vary with different staff - two assured us it was 7.30am but when we arrived we were told it was in fact 8am. However they did their best to feed us before we had to leave at 8am.

For the amount paid, it's good value. It's also very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gareth0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I spend most of my time staying at hotels because of the kind of job I do and I can safely say this is the worst hotel I have stayed at. The room I was given was in middle of a building site, walls waiting to be plastered and painted. The bulbs in the room were mostly gone and despite reporting it to reception, nothing was done about it. The mattress was so tired and soft, I have got a bakc ache from the not very good sleep. My room was freezing cold but they set the temperatures centrally so nothing could be done about it. To top this up the water pressure was not adequate to reach the second floor so I was invited to take a shower in the leisure centre !!!!
The internet is also so slowly, I could not do any work during my stay !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoNik2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shirley hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Used the hotel last weekend to host a training day (Friday). Day Delegate rate for week day was attractive. Venue was accessible, finger buffet was plentiful (though cleared way a little too quickly for the desserts to follow) and enjoyable. Refreshments throughout the day were reasonable though perhaps a supply of pastries at mid morning break rather than biscuits might be a good idea. Venue room was fine for what we needed. Hotel is going through refurbishment which is needed in some areas. Seating in my room could be better for an evening or working at the desk. Staff were excellent and helpful and catering staff for the training day area unobtrusive throughout. Looking to use them again a few more times next year provided the day delegate rate does not rocket due to refurbishment costs.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed 3 nights from 13th to 15th November. Cant complain about the facilities and staff. Reasonably priced. Good location and ample car parking (free). Highly reccomended if you want a decent room at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasan7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shirley
2.1 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.2 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#10 of 25 in Solihull
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 25 in Solihull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel
5.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Hotel Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel Solihull

Property: The Regency Hotel Solihull
Address: Stratford Road, Shirley, Solihull B90 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Shirley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regency Hotel Solihull 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive hotel is built around an elaborate, large Victorian home which was later converted into the Regency Club. The hotel is surrounded by lovely grounds and yet is just a short drive from the motorway network and Birmingham. It is minutes away from the NEC and Birmingham International Airport.Meeting rooms are modern, well-equipped and versatile, suitable for conferences, seminars, training courses and all benefit from natural daylight and air conditioning. The hotel also has excellent health and leisure facilities and a great restaurant, bar and pub, perfect for unwinding at the end of a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Regency Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Hotel Birmingham
The Regency Hotel Solihull Shirley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing