We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gardeners world visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Regency Hotel Solihull
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed at the Regency as part of a National Holiday trip to Gardeners world and the Good Food Show. Whilst some aspects of the hotel were a little dated (bathroom) this didn't detract from the stay which was very enjoyable. The staff were very attentive, Reception, Manager, Restaurant, Bar staff. We were made to feel very welcome and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mcdonaldkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley S, Operations Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your wonderful review, I’m sorry to hear that some aspects of your bathroom were a little dated. I have asked our head Housekeeper to address this where possible to ensure all of our bathrooms are modern.
I have passed all your comments over to all the team concerned
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Regency Hotel in the future
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 898 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here on Saturday as part of National Holidays trip to Good Food Show. First, let me say that this is one of the better hotels that National use. I believe the hote has recently been taken over by the Corus group. All the downstairs areas haven been refurbed and are very nice. We had a double room on the second floor and as soon as we got out of the lift the heat hit us like a furnace. The room wasn't any cooler! The window was already open but it is tiny and there is absolutely no air whatsoever. We asked for a non-smoking room which this was, however in the past it must have been a smoking room. The bathroom smelled heavily of smoke. Only one towel which as bizarrely hidden in the wardrobe. On close inspection the rooms are quite tired and dated. There was no mattress protector on the bed and we seemed to roll together when we lay down! Included in our price was a three course meal. The food and service was exceptional. Delicious chicken and a fab bottle of wine. We went to bed to watch the England match. There was a school reunion taking place and the music didn't finish until 1 am. On this occasion we didn't mind as we were watching the tv however Morrisey's bar didn't turn the music off until 3 am. This was totally unacceptable. The football finished at 1am! The room was stiflingly hot. I rang reception and asked for a an but they were all being used. Not surprising, if the others were as hot as us. Breakfast next morning was really, really lovely. Well cooked, hot and plenty of choice. All in all, a good stay but too hot and too noisy!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biblet_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley S, Operations Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review, I have passed your kind comments over to our Head Chef and Restaurant Manager, I’m sorry to hear that the Private parties booked affected your experience, We as a hotel strive to ensure all of our guests have an enjoyable experience, I’m sorry once again that other parties have affected your stay.
With regard to the heat upstairs, our Property Maintenance team have purchased more fans for the bedrooms during the summer months.
I’m glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Regency Hotel in the near future
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A relative had kindly booked a voucher for us to to to eat the Regency Restaurant for our 30th wedding anniversary.

I confirmed our reservation for 7:00 p.m. earlier that day. On arrival they told us they could not accommodate us as they had a party of 48 arriving for dinner until 7:30 p.m.

Only after asking what do they suggest we do for half an hour and on my suggestion were we offered a complimentary drink and that they would call us for dinner at 7:30 p.m. At 7:45 we were asked if we would like another drink and we explained the situation.

We were finally taken into the dining area around 7:50 and given a round table coffee table literally in a corner of the restaurant not big enough for a dining. We felt like we were treated like cheap guests.

The saving grace was the salmon starter however my "slate plate" was wobberley. The lamb dish my husband ordered was fine but the duck was very sweet. the waitress was attentive but walked away before we could reply if everything was ok!

I asked for the bill and we were the ONLY people left in the restaurant. We went into the courtyard after waiting for over 10 minutes for the bill. Sat there for at least another 10 minutes (even the waitress had come out) and gave up (for the 1 glass of extra wine).

Very disappointed with the service. We are local residents and would love to give business locally. I don't know how much was paid for the voucher but we certainly feel that whatever was paid was not what was expected, but don't wish to let our sponsor know.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Hersha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley S, Operations Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, I apologise that your dinner was not to the expected standard.
I understand that our Restaurant Manager has been in contact with you regarding this. You have my personal assurance that your next experience with us will be a more enjoyable one.
Thank you again for taking the time to review your experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My brother David and his fiancee Debbie went to several venues before deciding on The Regency for there wedding, simply because of the warm and friendly welcome they received on arrival there professionalism and attention to detail.My party arrived the day before and found the staff very friendly and accommodating, rooms were clean and comfortable and well equipped. On there big day nothing was to much trouble ,staff were smart and reliable and everything ran smoothly.Food was of a good quality and hot which makes a pleasant change.staff were unobtrusive and there when required, professionally directed by Bradley and Craig and also Kiya. I would recommend this venue highly, not just for functions but also overnight stays . Believe me i have stayed in much more expensive hotels and been very disappointed.So thank you to all the staff for making their day extra special..Best man Paul.
.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley S, Operations Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Paul
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding the hotel and the team. I’m very happy to hear that your brother and Sister in law had such a fantastic day and overall experience.
Your comments have been distributed to all the team members involved throughout your experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Check In: ***** Stars
Stayed here last week as had a client meeting next door. On arrival a really polite girl processed our check in quickly and efficiently, advising us that we had booked a Breakfast Inclusive Room (see later comment)

Room: ****Stars
Massive, Clean and Tidy. A bit hot and no way to open windows fully

Health Club: ***** Stars
The Club although looking a bit Oligarch with statuettes everywhere was excellent. Pool area clean and tidy, good customer service from the guy who gave us nice fluffy towels as we walked in.

Breakfast ***** Stars
Service at breakfast was great and attentive. Food was great and of a higher quality than most other places I've stayed. Cooked to perfection. Full English, all the trimmings :-)

Sleeping **** Stars
A sound sleep only spoiled by the starting of the fans in the kitchen below my room. Easily remedied by closing the window, although room became very stuffy.

Check Out: * Annoyingly Unfocused
Upon Check in I was told I had breakfast included....this turned out not to be the case. The gril who was checking this showed me the check in form as if to say 'liar'. She then also on my insistence advised me that the girl on Check In was new and that she is 'undergoing training'. The upshot was that I parted with £25 of my own money, will no longer recommend the hotel and certainly won't stay there again. If I had of been trying it on, I wouldn't vent it here as don't have the time, but it is these inconsistencies that drive a regular Business Traveller mad.

To the Manager. A Golden Opportunity tarnished by a 'it's not our fault' approach.

Room Tip: Rooms to rear of Hotel quieter and away from main road at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BruceO1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley S, Operations Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review The Regency Hotel, It is wonderful to hear that you had an enjoyable experience in the Hotel Health Club, I am equally pleased that your room was of a good size and you had a good nights sleep.

I have passed your kind comments about breakfast to our Head Chef and Restaurant Manager. We are continually using guest feedback to improve our Food offering and I am pleased that your experience was a good one.

With regard to your unfortunate experience whilst checking out, We have recently Employed a new Rooms Division Manager and Head receptionist who have both worked hard tirelessly to improve the guest experience during the checking in and out process. I'm happy to report that we have made and continue to make improvements in this area.

Thank you again for your feedback, Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to discuss the matter further as I would love to welcome you back to The Regency Hotel in the future. My email address is operations.solihull@corushotels.com

Kind Regards
Bradley Shough
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Where do I start.From the moment myself and my new wife walked into the hotel to view the venue we were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome by all the staff which was the deciding factor for us booking the hotel for our wedding. From the start of the beginning of the planning of our big day to the conclusion last night the staff have been very attentive and accommodating and nothing has been to much for them even down to a few tweaks 24hrs before. Everything was done for us and our guests on the day and the wedding went without any hitches.The food was of a high standard served piping hot to every guest, by the attentive staff.The rooms stayed in by some of our guests were of a high quality and extremely clean. After a long day it was great to come down to a breakfast of the same quality as the food served on our wedding day.Our guests were full of praise for the venue, food,and friendliness of the staff.Thanks to Bradley, Craig,kiya, and all of the waiters,waitresses, kitchen staff etc.for making this a great day for everyone. David and debbie.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley S, Operations Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear David
Thank you so much for your kind words following your wonderful wedding, it gives me great pleasure to respond to these kind words.
All of us here at The Regency take great pride in ensuring all weddings we host are a success and following your comments it is evident to see that.
I have passed your kind comments to all the team and we look forward to welcoming you and Debbie back to The Regency Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My partner and I held our wedding day at The Regency, or The Corus as it was then known, in September 2013. The staff were amazing, the food was lovely and the whole day went without one hitch! All our guests commented on the staffs' helpful and friendly manner and those that stayed were impressed with their rooms and breakfast the following morning, no complaints were made at all. We couldn't have picked a better venue to celebrate our wedding day and cannot thank the staff there enough for all they did for us, namely Jorgen, Sam and the food and beverages manager who's name escapes me! We are hoping to return to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front can suffer with some noise from the road so light sleepers may benefit from a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley S, Operations Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your wonderful comments! It is wonderful to hear that you had such a wonderful wedding day, following your wedding the hotel has undergone a substantial refurbishment programme which has included all bedroom corridors, Restaurant and public areas. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Regency Hotel in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shirley
0.6 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#12 of 28 in Solihull
2,048 reviews
2 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#4 of 28 in Solihull
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
379 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Manor Hotel
5.2 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Hotel Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel Solihull

Address: Stratford Road, Shirley, Solihull B90 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Shirley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Price Range: £51 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regency Hotel Solihull 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive hotel is built around an elaborate, large Victorian home which was later converted into the Regency Club. The hotel is surrounded by lovely grounds and yet is just a short drive from the motorway network and Birmingham. It is minutes away from the NEC and Birmingham International Airport.Meeting rooms are modern, well-equipped and versatile, suitable for conferences, seminars, training courses and all benefit from natural daylight and air conditioning. The hotel also has excellent health and leisure facilities and a great restaurant, bar and pub, perfect for unwinding at the end of a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Regency Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Hotel Birmingham
The Regency Hotel Solihull Shirley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing