We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round negative!!”
Review of Saracens Head

Saracens Head
Ranked #22 of 37 Restaurants in Shirley
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
oldbury
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All round negative!!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stopped in here for lunch on our way through solihull.We have been to a fair few family pub restaurants and must say until now never really found any major problems.

1st - we orderd food and was told drinks would be braught iver to our table..20mins later still no appearance of our drinks.so my husband had to go and collect them from the bar.

2nd - after a 45minute wait for just a sandwich and side of chips
The waitress decided to bring our sides out 10minutes prior to the sandwich.

Was absolutely disgusted with this restaurant.
All round moody atmosohere.
Will never return.glad we don't live local.

Helpful?
2 Thank mellichap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    31
    24
    18
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
1 review
“lovely dannie needs promoted as manager :)”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

always a great time at the saracens when dannie and the few of the team are working, always excellent service just one problem danny really should be promoted as manager as she runs as a good ship and works excellent with her colleagues :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baby221014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fancy a roll up cigarette ”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Went in on a Sunday afternoon few mates we all ordered food my friends food came out first and amongst his salad was non other than a tube of filter tips (used in rolling tobacco) food came out was vile won't use this place again. Manager insisted the chefs don't smoke indicating that the salad must have come off an Unused plate from a different customer VILE.

Helpful?
2 Thank Swingey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag...”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Went here last night for an inexpensive bar meal for my mother's birthday. I have been here often to eat, and have rarely had problems. However...

Only one member of bar staff was working, and she seemed totally disinterested. Long wait for drinks. When we ordered, they did not have around 4 different dishes that we chose from the menu, resorting to a last choice for many of us. The food took 50 minutes to arrive, after many people that had arrived after us and left before us had eaten. When the food did arrive, the rare steak was well done, the chips were cold, the peas were not cooked, the gammon was not cooked, and the bangers and mash came without the yorkshire pudding, and the mash was solid as a rock - clearly been nuked in the microwave to reheat it in time for the other meals.

As other reviewers have commented, the toilets stink, and the toilets we used had broken locks. The drinks, when we managed to get them, tasted awful. Limited choice on tap also. The real annoyance was that this is more expensive than the Red Lion! £3.05 for grotty lager!

However, the waitress was extremely apologetic, and very friendly. The decor has improved drastically, and it was pleasant enough to sit in, and was relatively clean for a change. The football was on the big screens, and they had judged the volume just right.

Overall - stick to the burgers on the menu, as they looked alright when they came out. However, for a drink, I would go elsewhere. Will be interesting to see if this place survi ves when Wetherspoon's comes!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IAmTylerDurden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Tasty food, smelly toilets, need more (faster) staff”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Visited on a sunny Saturday at 1pm with husband. Have dined here several times, but not for a couple of years. Few people in pub, but not too busy. Clean & well decorated. Nice outdoor seating, but on a busy road. Toliets appear clean, but absolutely stink - always have, quite off-putting.

Despite being 2nd in the queue, we had a 15 minute wait at the bar to order & collect drinks. This has always been a problem here - there is only ever a couple of staff & they're always so slow & disinterested!

My husband ordered a chilli hotdog, which wasn't available. So instead chose a hotdog with cheese & I had chicken kiev. Food came out within 20 minutes, but my husband's meal was wrong (different topping on hotdog). Always annoying, but the waitress apologised & swopped it within 5 minutes. Food was tasty & a fair-sized portion. Good value, 2-for-1.

It was enjoyable & I'd go back. Just a couple of things letting the place down - smelly toilets, wrong order, s...l...o...w staff!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsT1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saracens Head also viewed

 
Solihull, West Midlands
Solihull, West Midlands
 

Been to Saracens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing