We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently excellent - best fish and chips around”
Review of The Finest Catch

The Finest Catch
Ranked #5 of 37 Restaurants in Shirley
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Cuisines: Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Finest Catch is all about great food, great atmosphere, and fantastic customer service. Order whatever you wish at any time. Just a starter, or just an ice cream, or just a coffee... no problem.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent - best fish and chips around”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Following a recommendation, we took family here for an early evening meal. Although they don't take bookings on an evening we were seated almost immediately and served promptly. A bit noisy when busy - the sound of all those voices seems to echo around the main area - and the music is a bit repetitive. However the fish and chips are delicious. The batter on the cod is simply the best I've ever tasted, light and crispy. The extra chips (for anyone who isn't already full!) and the bottomless soft drinks provide excellent value. At about £10 per head for a good sized portion of fish and chips, with a serving of mushy peas, bread and butter and an unlimited drink, it's not that much more than a takeaway and a lot more enjoyable. We've been again since and the second visit was just as good. Now we know the food and service are consistently high quality, this will become a regular place for us to eat for a quick mid-week meal, although with alcoholic drinks available, it's just as good for a weekend evening meal out as well. Thoroughly enjoyable!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stewb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    148
    60
    48
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed - was expecting better”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had previously been unable to get into the Finest Catch at Henley In Arden so were expecting good things. Seven of us. The people who had cod and chips were all happy, but the scampi, cheeseburger, chicken burger and ribs all below par. The regular portion is huge. The waitress was snappy bordering on rude and ill-prepared. The décor is fab and it looks really clean. We won't be going again - our local chippy is much better.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WoodsieSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
691 reviews
332 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 550 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We called here for an early tea on a Friday Night. Car Park was half full. Restaurant was too. Seated next to the toilets.
Servers (all young) were positive - asked twice if wanted extra bread and butter and once if meal was ok.
My wife had small fish and chips which she judged excellent.
I went for and Chicken and Ham salad. It was exactly that. There was a mixed salad of rocket, tomato and cucumber with a vinegarette dressing, 3 wedges of ham and 4 chunks of roast chicken and some grated cheese in a dish.
Restaurant was clean and tidy - customers kept coming and going, so the Servers were kept pretty busy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Topkoppite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Refreshingly excellent both customer service and food wise”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

First impressions count and I was impressed, fantastic customer service, attentive staff and the food was great

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a16ebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Fish and Chips”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

If you want good value fresh fish and chips then this is the place to go. Pleasant service in American style surroundings.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Finest Catch also viewed

Henley-in-Arden, Warwickshire
 
Solihull, West Midlands
 

Been to The Finest Catch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing