We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst PI stay ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Norwich, UK
Level Contributor
216 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Worst PI stay ever”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

If it wasn't for the fact we have had excellent service, value and accomodations previously with Premier Inn I would never stay in one again after this experience. Not warned ahead of stay that restaurant was closed, asked reception staff if there was anywhere to eat near by - no help at all - another guest waiting in reception area advised me of local options. Offerred discounted breakfast at another PI 2 miles away but asked if I could move instead and told no unless I wanted to pay extra. Too tired and couldn't be bothered to cancel rest of stay and move myself but wished I had, Car park noisy and no where to park on last night as restaurant had reopend and heaving, but still not doing breakfasts. One night next door on phone till early hours, next night a couple shouting at each other. Complained next mroning but reception said he had been there and hadn't heard anything....so much for their policy of a good nights sleep or your money back. Shocking customer service all round.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms looking over car park - noisy even with windows closed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DisneyNorwich_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    98
    63
    30
    15
See reviews for
79
67
14
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

It's a Premier Inn, not the Ritz. So there's no reason to expect a champagne experience when you are only paying lemonade prices, is there?

But the staff here really do try to make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible, and they make a damn good job of it too.

Turned up mid evening with a colleague, to find a large car park with lots of spaces, and we were then greeted by a smashing receptionist who had all the paperwork ready for us - just sign on the dotted lines.

The rooms were newly refurbished, with big flat screen tv's, loads of room and a very serviceable bathroom. There was no air conditioning in the rooms, but the staff had left fans out to help to cool the rooms down during the heatwave we have been enjoying.

Food in the restaurant was first class and very good value. (Try the fish and chips - top rate.)

The bar is fairly priced and perfectly acceptable.

But the jewel(s) in the crown for this place are the staff. Even when they were getting in to a bit of a tizzy because of a 'charge back' facility for our drinks, they did it with charming smiles and good humour.

No, not a Champagne hotel, but a very decent bottle of fizz, nonetheless!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essex1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilfracombe
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

rooms were spacious beds comfy. big fluffy bath towels. The staff were great especially Joy who was brilliant couldnt of been more helpful or friendly. The adjoining pub did good food which was reasonably price and you didnt have to wait long for it. Would go back here again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Hello Tracey L,

Thank you so much for your very positive comments about our staff, and I am happy to know that you found the the food at the Saracen's Head good and reasonably priced.

We look forward to you visiting us again when you can.

Thank you again for submitting your comments. We really do appreciate you taking the time to do this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

beware of loose handrail on entry door from rear car park, burning bedside lights that don't even work and noisy guests that are not dealt with. isolated incidents i know but you also need to know....



  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Had to stay here after an unexpected and long journey from jersey. Lots of delays and very grumpy when I got here. Within 1 minute, the very friendly and helpful staff had settled me down. They were just so good. Room was spacious,clean and as always very comfortable. Restaurant opposite does a great brekkie as well. If ever in area again would definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jersey_6_string
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Hi jersey_6_string,

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your lovely comments about the hotel and the restaurant. At Premier Inn, customer service is extremely important, and it reassuring to know that this is demonstrated by the staff at Solihull Shirley. We look forward to you coming to stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Went for a meal on Saturday night for my birthday, couldn't of picked a better place, the pub on the front of this hotel is called the Saracens Head and is a Two for One place.

Excellent meals, really good value, the only downside, the tables could of been cleaner, not cleaned from the previous diners, even though the glasses had been collected the table hadn't been wiped or cutlery etc removed.

Soon to close for refurb, can't wait to see it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marion r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Hello marion r,
Nice to know that you found the restaurant to be good value for money. The 'two for one' meals offered are very popular, particularly with families. Sorry that on the down side, the tables weren't as clean as they should be, and as this is not a Whitbread owned restaurant, I will pass your comments on. Hope to see you again after they have had the refurb.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed here for one night to catch up with family (mixture of ages). Hotel staff were very helpful and the hotel itself was very clean and comfortable.
The adjoining pub next door was dreadful! A very big pub with absolutely no atmosphere and cleaners! The ladies toilets looked like they had been abandoned for over a month, no toilet roll in any of the 4 cubicles that were working....When asked the barmaid if she could put toilet roll in, she just shrugged her shoulders and walked off. Getting served was another issue, especially when 4 members of staff are busy in conversation outside the bar....customer service was lacking to say the least. Needless to say we skipped the over priced breakfast the next morning, due to cleanliness and hygiene concerns about the pub where breakfast is served, and took a 3 minute drive to the Plume, for a faultless breakfast and tip top customer service. Would strongly recommend doing this if staying at this hotel.

Sorry Premier Inn, but due to the awful staff that run the pub next door and cater for your breakfast's I will not be returning or recommend anyone stay here. Had the Robin Hood pub been open(another Premier Inn pub) we would have stayed there instead.

Disappointed.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mbneal1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear mbneal1975,

It's good to know you were happy with the staff and that you found the hotel comfortable.

I'm sorry that this was not the case where the restaurant was concerned, and that you had issues with the staff and overall cleanliness. The restaurant which is not Whitbread owned, is due to be refurbished very soon, nevertheless I will pass your concerns on.

Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shirley
1.7 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
1.3 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#11 of 25 in Solihull
1,611 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#12 of 25 in Solihull
1,055 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 25 in Solihull
627 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel
Address: Stratford Road, Shirley, Solihull B90 3AG, England (Formerly Premier Inn Solihull North)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Shirley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take the laidback approach in Shirley, just a short drive from Solihull and the NEC Birmingham ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing