We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MY STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MY STAY”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I was unable to complete my night's sleep on my first night being wakened first by snoring from next door then talking. My third night was much worse being wakened at 2 am by someone entering next door and talking loudly, playing music and hand clapping until 2.50 when they left only to wake me again at 4 when they returned. I complained to reception who told them to keep the noise down but they continued to talk until 5.10 when one of them left. I was wakened again at 6 when the last occupant left.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    95
    62
    29
    14
See reviews for
78
63
14
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Malham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stay in Premiers all over the UK and this one lets them down, the entrance from the car park is filthy, the carpets are as bad, I had a ground floor room which was OK, the girls on reception were pleasant it was just the condition of the property.
The pub next door was a typical city pub with a few drunks being loud and annoying.
The breakfast was average, the girl explained that this was not a Premier Inn kitchen it belonged to the pub. The lighting in the breakfast area was pathetic, people could not read the menu without having to go to a window.
I won`t use this one again unless it has been refurbished

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

First I must stress that a few of the people here really try hard and are great. While bed was good and room had the usual useful furnishings the reception was dirty, the rooms shabby, and the top floor rom with a Velux roof window was like being inside a drum in heavy rain. The check-in person had forgotten her glasses and could not complete the forms correctly, forgot to give me the essential car park ticket and so on. The pub restaurant attached does not belong to Premier and has staff who just don't care, who forget orders. Food truly awful. This is not the Lenny henry experience - stay up the road at the other Premier Inn near the M42.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

my room had lots of room to move about ;-), very clean and normally when away hard to sleep but slept great and would stay again! friendly staff and willing to help. restaurant had lovely food and lots of it. bath tub small but did the job other then that a great experience.
Come find out for yourself

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I'm a big big fan of premier inn and usually panic when there isn't one where i need to stay. However this just didn't match up to the other experiences i've had. While i understand that sharing a carpark with a local public carpark isn't ideal it was a big rough round the edges, there was lots of litter and dirt and loo roll (?) round the entrance itself to the hotel.

The general decor was tired, the carpets were worn, doors needed a bit of a lick of paint, rooms were smaller than they normally are with no bath. Yes it was filthy cheap at £75 for 2 adults for 2 nights, but just not quite to the standard of the rest of them, which was disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmapony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Premier Inn as it is convenient for the NEC and has free overnight parking.The room was small but comfortable and overlooked the car park( convenient for keeping an eye on the car). The adjoining pub served basic but well cooked evening meals although was very busy. We were not disturbed by noise overnight despite our room being next to the stairs. The inclusive breakfast was very good and plenty of it.
The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful as were the staff who served breakfast.
The journey to the NEC took 20 mins and was a straightforward route.
Main criticism is the price. Where are the £29 rooms which are advertised widely? We paid £89 which,although not expensive,irritates when other travellers pay much less.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I recently stayed again in this Premier Inn also known as The Saracens Head in Shirley. The welcome I recieved was like being an old friend. All the staff in this hotel but in particular Joy the receptionist and the lady at breakfast, sorry don't know her name, were exceptional at their jobs.
Well done.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shirley
1.7 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel
2.2 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull Town Centre Hotel
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull (Hockley Heath, M42) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel
Address: Stratford Road, Shirley, Solihull B90 3AG, England (Formerly Premier Inn Solihull North)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Shirley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take the laidback approach in Shirley, just a short drive from Solihull and the NEC Birmingham ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing