We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, sleep and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Great value hotel. Staff on reception and at breakfast very friendly. Rooms were standard for premier inn, clean and comfy. Only downside was the evening meal in hotel restaurant. Very poor, I had steak pie, which was mostly soggy, heavy pastry and packet gravy. Not pleasant .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marielou22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here courtesy of my husbands employer
Joy on reception is an absolute diamond very helpful and friendly. Room Clean and comfortable local shops in very short walking distance
This Premier lnn is attached to The Saracens Head pub meals here are lreasonably priced bit off a wait for them but edible

We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaynebazeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I were visiting family in the area and stayed here for 2 nights this week. The welcome was very friendly and the Hotel had recently been freshened up. Our room was a typical Premier Inn room with an extra bed added so that our Granddaughter could spend a night with us. This was included in the price. The bathroom appeared to be updated and the shower was very good.
Reception staff were very pleasant and if we can get a similar financial deal again we will choose this particular Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had booked in for a two night stay, as we were attending a concert at the LG arena. On arrival, we were allocated our room, however on checking out our room, noticed that the shower door had broken. This was reported to the reception and we were quickly offered another room. There was another small issue, where I had to ask for another towel, but once again this was remedied quickly and courteously. The reception staff were brilliant, always a friendly smile, and they were happy to help at any time. The standard of the hotel was generally good, beds were very comfortable, with a choice of pillows. Extremely good value for money at £29 per night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jivebunnie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Easy to find and ideal for an overnight stay before going to the Airport, was your usual Premier Inn standard, the rear entrance from the car park was ideal when carrying cases although the carpets did look worn the rest of the hotel was in good condition.
No noise and the lady on reception was excellent and friendly

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveCardiff1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Now I paid £29.00 for my room so I wasn't expecting much and we all know with a Premier Inn it's the ridiculously comfy bed that's the deal breaker...it didn't disappoint.
Friendly welcome by staff, yes the entrance is a bit shabby but they are working on it, the scent of fresh paint was in the air.
My room was spacious, clean and cost £29.00!
My only negative was the noise at night in the corridor. If they could soundproof that better it would have been perfect. Yes you do gave nicer Premier Inns but this was OK for a night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debsywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I was unable to complete my night's sleep on my first night being wakened first by snoring from next door then talking. My third night was much worse being wakened at 2 am by someone entering next door and talking loudly, playing music and hand clapping until 2.50 when they left only to wake me again at 4 when they returned. I complained to reception who told them to keep the noise down but they continued to talk until 5.10 when one of them left. I was wakened again at 6 when the last occupant left.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shirley
Village Hotel Solihull
#13 of 28 in Solihull
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#7 of 28 in Solihull
681 reviews
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 28 in Solihull
1,125 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel

Address: Stratford Road, Shirley, Solihull B90 3AG, England (Formerly Premier Inn Solihull North)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Shirley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Price Range: £47 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take the laidback approach in Shirley, just a short drive from Solihull and the NEC Birmingham ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing