We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
The cherry on top of the cake

This review is long overdue - by fifteen years. In 2005 my wife and I made it to St Kilda on the... read more

Reviewed 3 March 2020
malcolmr779
Incredible - trip of a lifetime

My boyfriend and I were lucky enough that the weather cleared on our last full day in the Hebrides... read more

Reviewed 3 November 2019
BooksWineTravel
Read all 275 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Isle of Harris
from US$504.41
More Info
from US$135.30
More Info
from US$537.05
More Info
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveller rating
266
7
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
266
7
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea stacks st kilda cake four hours bird colonies day trip amazing trip cup of tea perfect weather eggs lucky with the weather sea conditions great skuas unique place return trip an unforgettable experience beautiful island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 275 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2015

As a contrast to days and days of walking around Lewis and Harris, the boat trip to St.Kilda was a holiday highlight of a different kind for me, and a unique experience given the isolation and remoteness of this once permanently inhabited island cluster out in the Atlantic. I travelled in a twin-hulled vessel which gave me a smooth ride both ways. Once on the island, passengers had a good four hours to explore the island with due regard for the wildlife, the weather, and the work of the resident archaeologists. We even had a twenty minute spell of hot sunshine in Shelter Bay. Then, back on board the boat we were fed delicious cake and tea and headed out to Boreray, home to a few devil-may-care sheep on the steep slopes, and Britain’s two tallest sea stacks festooned with birds. This was a fabulous day out, safe in the hands of Angus and his sea-faring colleagues.

Date of experience: September 2015
2  Thank rwbcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015 via mobile

Cautious at first given the distance but the vessel makes the journey easy. Whether you doze in the warm cabin or sit on desk and scan for the inevitable wildlife the journey is worth waiting for.

Angus has a good team and they clearly know what they are doing and are proud of St Kilda.

The tea and cake was a treat and the tot of whiskey set you up nicely.

Plenty of time on the island so a hike to the top is ache I achievable

Your of other islands is nothing short of amazing.

Top top experience.

Date of experience: October 2015
2  Thank MarkWilliamN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Travelled with Angus on Orca II back in September 2012, although the weather wasn't sunny, it was reasonably calm,even made a stop at Pabaidh to pick up a couple on the way out. Fantastic trip, for me the best part was after leaving Hirta , cruising round the Stacks and islands of the group. The crew were great, advising on the best routes up Conachair, to capture unforgettable pictures. The Dram and cake were very welcome on the return to the boat.Would love to go back on a sunny day! Would definately go back with Angus

Date of experience: November 2014
3  Thank oathtaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015

I was very fortunate to go on the last trip of the year from Leverburgh to St. Kilda with Kilda cruises.. The weather was very kind and I was lucky enough to get sunshine not only on the outward journey, but for the four hours on St Kilda and back. Chris & Malky the boat crew were great company and very informative. I couldn't believe my luck when first tuna and then a pod of dolphins swam alongside the boat. St Kilda was an amazing place to see and exceeded my best expectations. I climbed up to the gap behind the houses and then up to the highest spot looking down to the boat anchored in the bay. I came back down via the radar station with time to purchase a few mementos from the National Trust shop. We then left on the return journey via the stacks which were amazing to see, Chris managing to get us close to the stacks for some amazing photographs and Malky telling some facts and history about the islanders and the hard life they led. I was also lucky to meet a really nice group of people, some from as far away as Australia and Bainbridge Island in Washington state. I had a really great day and thanks to Angus, Chris and Malky for making it so. The day trips start again in April 2016 I highly recommend it. Still thinking about it and so glad I made the trip.
Thanks
George Wilson, East Kilbride, Scotland

Date of experience: September 2015
5  Thank Hist0ryb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

A one in a lifetime experience! We were so happy this trip was able to happen (weather was perfect). Angus and David were fantastic and the trip was superb! This was always a goal of mine - to make it to St. Kilda - and I only had one day while in Scotland to make it happen. Angus and his company made this trip the best experience I could have asked for.

Do not book with anyone else - this crew, the boats and price - you will not be disappointed!

Date of experience: September 2015
3  Thank Sara4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews