We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
54
18
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
18
2
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I stayed at Retiro no Rio during my roadtrip through Portugal. When I arrived i was amazed about the beautiful views from anywhere on the property. The appartments all have terraces with river views.
There is a short walk private road to the river side. It's beautiful to walk along the river and just sit on the rocks and enjoy the views.
Togheter with the friendly owners, a lot of atractions and historical cities in the area, breakfast by the owners or freshly delivered bread by the baker (every morning), this really is a place you WANT to go back some time or show it to friends or family.
Recommended place if you want to see the real Portugal!

Room tip: I stayed in Studio Canela on my own. This studio is also suitable for a couple or a couple with 2 children easily. It has one bed in the living room and an extra bedroom.
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arjen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I had a great time in Retiro no Rio. I stayed there with my friend in a really nice room B and B - Dahlia. We enjoyed all the time there. The area around was always clean and the swimming pool outside was just great. We also had a dinner and BBQ with the owners and other guests of Retiro, it was so nice to spent some time with them and had a delicious food. The dutch people who owns the guesthouse are nice and friendly, always helped us with questions about traveling and other when we needed.
The area of Retiro no Rio is beautiful (nice nature around and villages, also lots of nice cities), there is a river Mondego, where we spent lots of time, sunbathing or swimming, also there is possibility to go kayaking, which is also great.
It is relax, quite place... just a great place where to spent a nice holiday and travel around the Portugal. Hope I will go back there again.

Room tip: Dahlia - is the one where I stayed - really nice
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zuzana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

The first time I went for a holiday at Retiro no Rio with some friends it had only just been opened and, as was explained, a lot of work still had to be done. Nevertheless, the apartment was clean and cosy and the owners went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. Needless to say I went back there - 4 times so far - with one or two friends and now that most of the work has been done it looks absolutely wonderful. Every single apartment was completed, the bbq area looks great and the swimming pool is fantastic. I'll certainly go back there some time in September, looking forward to enjoying the peace and quiet, the day trips to the beautiful surroundings and those marvellous hosts who have become amost like family.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eeeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We've stayed at the B&B Erica room. The only window in the whole room (located in the the bathroom) had a view to the garage. We don't know the conditions of the other rooms/apartments, but that specific room was awfull.

Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Imogdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetiroNoRio, Owner at Retiro no Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2011

Dear Imogdi,
We are sorry you did not like the room. We have since then redecorated the room, retiled the bathroom and the room now has extra windows. However, B&B Erica is our low-budget room and we assure you the other accommodations are of a higher quality. We would like to give you the opportunity to find out for yourself and therefore have sent you a voucher by e-mail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retiro R, Owner at Retiro no Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews