We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
54
18
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
18
2
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Ruurd and Elena are extremely friendly and can't do enough to make their guests feel welcome and at home. Reaching the converted farm at the bottom of a winding steep track is in itself an adventure. The surroundings are superb with the accommodation situated on the banks of a glorious river. Ruurd even lent my 11 year old son fishing equipment. We particularly enjoyed the Portuguese theme evening. We'd love to go back there. Worth every euro.
Fiona, France

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fifisasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retiro R, Owner at Retiro no Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Fiona,
Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay at our quinta. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!!
Best regards,
Ruurd and Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Retiro do Rio is a fantastic location for a peaceful holiday in central Portugal. Away from it all but with all the required comfort and facilities. We had a good appartment/studio (Canela) with terrace and there is a beautiful swimming pool above the river, The local baker comes every morning with your order. Supermarkets are 10-15 min drive away. You can also join your hosts for dinner if you don't feel like cooking. Retiro do Rio is close enough for day trips to Coimbra, the coastal beaches, Viseu and the Serra da Estrela. For a great meal try Restaurante Quinta De Cabriz in Carregal do Sal. The access road is a bit of a challenge for an inexperienced driver but well worth the effort to enjoy the unforced hospitality of Elena and Ruurd.

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank David697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed at Retiro no Rio in September 2012. What a beautiful part of the world. The accomodation was clean and comfortable, the location on the river with lovely views absolutely stunning. Our hosts were very friendly and accomodating and the evening meals that they provided as an optional extra were superb. We enjoyed a canoe safari down the Mondego river which finished at our accomodation and found several interesting and out of the way spots to explore. SOmething for the whole family, we will definitely be back.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I stayed at Retiro no Rio during my roadtrip through Portugal. When I arrived i was amazed about the beautiful views from anywhere on the property. The appartments all have terraces with river views.
There is a short walk private road to the river side. It's beautiful to walk along the river and just sit on the rocks and enjoy the views.
Togheter with the friendly owners, a lot of atractions and historical cities in the area, breakfast by the owners or freshly delivered bread by the baker (every morning), this really is a place you WANT to go back some time or show it to friends or family.
Recommended place if you want to see the real Portugal!

Room tip: I stayed in Studio Canela on my own. This studio is also suitable for a couple or a couple with 2 children easily. It has one bed in the living room and an extra bedroom.
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arjen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I had a great time in Retiro no Rio. I stayed there with my friend in a really nice room B and B - Dahlia. We enjoyed all the time there. The area around was always clean and the swimming pool outside was just great. We also had a dinner and BBQ with the owners and other guests of Retiro, it was so nice to spent some time with them and had a delicious food. The dutch people who owns the guesthouse are nice and friendly, always helped us with questions about traveling and other when we needed.
The area of Retiro no Rio is beautiful (nice nature around and villages, also lots of nice cities), there is a river Mondego, where we spent lots of time, sunbathing or swimming, also there is possibility to go kayaking, which is also great.
It is relax, quite place... just a great place where to spent a nice holiday and travel around the Portugal. Hope I will go back there again.

Room tip: Dahlia - is the one where I stayed - really nice
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zuzana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews