We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“half way to the old town”
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Edelweiss
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Briancon
Durres, Albania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“half way to the old town”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

this hotel is half way to the old town. from the bottom where the ski lift is, the old town looks very far up and nobody want's to walk up and buses are not so often but it's worth visiting it so the hotel is in a very ok place if you want to mix skiing and touristic activities. Toilets not good at all and breakfast basic.

Room Tip: far from the villages of Serre Chevalier area where winter activities were concentrated except the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolfinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    109
    35
    5
    6
See reviews for
37
97
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Hotel is located on one of the main streets in Briancon, very close to car-free zone and all amenities in the town. It has its own parking, which was a big plus, yet the space is quite tiny.
The rooms are very basic, but clean, the only "complaint" i would have is for the bathroom, which really needed some renovation. I was very surprised about the speed of the wifi connection, which was surprisingly fast in comparison to other hotels and apartments in France.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anze S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

A nice hotel, nothing fancy. The building is not really renovated but is nicely touched up with some new layers of paint. The authenticity of the old building is still present, which we appreciated. We stayed in the family room that sleeps 4. It is not too big, but for a night's sleep it does the trick.
If you don't expect a modern room and amenities, this place will not disappoint you. They have some parking spaces reserved for motorcyclists.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stef133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for only one night as part of trip around France.

The welcome was very warm and helpful.

The room was a reasonable size as was the bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean. Parking was available to us and although a little tight made a huge difference toleaving the car on the road.

Would be happy to recommend this hotel in the future. Good value for money!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bsomerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed for 1 night with 2 young children in a family room and we found the room to be very spacious and comfortable. Service was friendly and breakfast lovely - great to have off-street parking (although tight with cyclist support vans), easy to walk to places, including a supermarket at the bottom of the hill. Room well priced for what you get (quite basic). Only (small) disappointments were that the floor needed to be washed not just vacuumed (children got very black feet from walking around) and the shower head wasn't attached to the wall so had to hold it whilst having a shower.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTraveller08032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located on a hill just between the old town/fortress and what I would call "new town". It's a 5 minute walk in either direction to lots of shops and restaurants. The rooms were very clean and the reception was cordial. The bed was very comfortable and it was huge (an American King size bed). The parking was tight but it was free, a major plus! If you are touring by motor bike, they had special reserved parking just for bikers. We had two rooms reserved and they upgraded one room for our friends traveling with a baby, no charge and only to make sure they were comfortable with a larger room. The rooms were winderful, the location was great, and the price made it all a great deal. Two very minor complaints. First the bed only had a duvet and comforter and I wished it had a sheet too. Second, you could hear a lot of the AM truck traffic for our room and we had to close the window. Would have been nice to have a fan to drown out the noise and keep it cool with the window shut.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMV224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
231 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a nice little hotel near the old town in Briancon so it is a short and steep walk uphill to plenty of restaurants.

There is a small car park and garden to the front.

Service was friendly and they were able to help us do some clothes washing which we needed to do as we were away for a few weeks.

The room was a good size, clean, and a little basic. The window looked out over a road that ran down the side of the hotel, but it was quiet.

Breakfast was good, they have a nicely decorated breakfast room and lounge.

The hotel was well priced and I would recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midlandsmoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Briancon hotels
0.2 mi away
Soleil Vacances - Parc Hotel Residence
0.2 mi away
Auberge De La Paix
Auberge De La Paix
#4 of 17 in Briancon
70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Briancon Serre Chevalier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Suite-Home Briancon Serre Chevalier
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Cristol
Hotel Le Cristol
#6 of 17 in Briancon
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont-Brison
Hotel Mont-Brison
#8 of 17 in Briancon
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Property: Hotel Edelweiss
Address: 32 avenue de la Republique, 05100 Briancon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Hautes-Alpes > Briancon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Briancon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Edelweiss 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Briancon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing