We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tried the food”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de la Gare

Hotel de la Gare
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de la Gare
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Briancon
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tried the food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We needed food before a train journey and the place was close and looked friendly. Never again will I allow a Frenchman to be rude about English cuisine:
The panini were half cooked as if they had been taken from the freezer and micro-waved on too low a power. They were meanly filled.
The charcuterie platter was served without bread. The waitress realised this as she cleared the plates away and produced the bread later but did not return the butter. Staff too busy to be asked for anything. We nearly left to find a faster place and wished we had.
Hot chocolate fine - the machine must be a good one.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deptford_AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    15
    7
    6
    13
See reviews for
7
14
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed here with friends and found it to be a great little inexpensive hotel. There might not be too many luxuries, but the basic rooms are comfortable and the downstairs bar/restaurant does decent food. The local area is amazing and for cyclists you can't find a better town to base yourself.
The rooms have a double bed, sink, mirror and a tiny bit of storage space. You can't take your bikes inside, but there's a garage you can use for a small daily fee.
The coffee is great and in the morning the atmosphere is quite pleasant.
If you want a cheap but decent hotel, then this is a winner.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the bathrooms, that way you don;t get woken up by people using the facilities d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravBugTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Hotel de Le Gares are found in just about every French town, and this example continues in the same long standing tradition. The main rail station is just across the street, and the town centre of Briancon is a few hundred yards loaway. The old walled town however is really a taxi ride away. The hotel seems to have had a fairly extensively upgrade in that there are double glazed windows, redecorations throughout and Inew plumbing evident in the rooms. Each room has either twin or double beds, a desk and chair, and a hand basin. The main drawback lies in the 1930's property design in that there are two floors, each with 7 rooms, and each floor shares one WC and one shower. It is difficult to see how this could be changed - but do bear in mind that you are only paying 40 euros to include the TVA (VAT) per room per night.

The Madame in charge is as pleasant, helpful and hard working as you could wish to find and a perfect example of someone determined to provide the best service possible. All in all this is an excellent and inexpensive over night stop, in an interesting and beautiful town. It does not set out to be anything more than iit is, and what it does, it does very well. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PyttsPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

Hotel de la Gare has been facing the railway station in Briancon for years. If you're arriving here, it's convenient. I think it's the cheapest or second cheapest hotel in Briancon. This is a one star hotel.

Briancon could be defined as partly a higher priced than average two star haven and partly a quite highly priced three star city. (The small city has not a single four or five star hotel in late Spring 2009.) Then again, it's part of a ski resort, easily one of the ten largest ski resorts in all of Europe, an excellent ski resort, and has been touted within the "20 biggest" largest ski resorts in the world (but that incldes quite a lot of ski resorts as each rank has a number of ski resorts of the same approximate size).

While prices are higher here than in many charming Italian places nearby, such as Sauze D'Oulx and Montgenevre (nice, small resorts, easy to get to and return to from Briancon the same day by car or bus) prices are noticeably lower than most resorts in the Northern French Alps. And the larger Northern resorts nearly all smaller (Serre Chevalier is very similar in size to The 3 Valleys). If you get squeamish or ill with altitude when going skiing, Serre Chevalier shouldn't be much of a problem, it is a low resort, yet one of the most snow sure resorts in Europe. Briancon and the mountain resort of Serre Chevalier are popular places to visit in the warm months too.

My budget was lower than expected, having paid £75 excess luggage fee departing at the airport and estimating to save for more returning. I arrived in Briancon, after a week staying in Le Monetier Les Bains, on the Serre Chevalier bus with loads of luggage and skis, boots and poles. (I'd got a little mixed up with the baggage allowances of airlines in my rushed packing - this one was 5 kilos less than another 2 airlines I've been on recently, and strict. I was going camping at Le Cote D'Azur after Serre Chevalier.)

I really thought I had no choice in arriving in Briancon but to go across the road into the Hotel de la Gare, and that took me two hard runs with luggage, and people were going in there off the bus that early evening, and I didn't want to miss a room.

I stayed 3 nights. The room was 35 Euros p.n., with no ensuite shower room or loo. The hall loo and shower were fine, and I was impressed with the cleanliness in my stay. There was a good sink in the room. Unfortunately, this being a one star hotel, it means that hoteliers may not think that a bedside or table lamp needs to be included. There was softer installed lighting to the ceiling lights but not near the bed or the desk. The room seemed to have been recently modernised. I quite liked it, it was basic, and there was nothing, I thought, that would worry anyone. Except that the wall decor had been subject to a poor decision I.M.H.O. The walls had had the kind of rustic natural look that is a kind of tiny pebble-dash finish, which can be cute. And I think that would be fine if it were painted a light colour, like light blue, green, mauve or white, and with a painting or two the room would look really pleasant, I imagine. But they had painted it dark, dark reddish, and the effect was that it seemed a little like a cave prison! That was just what my taste suggested with the decor at some points when I stayed.

I must make it clear, I have never, ever slept on a more comfortable matress. I've slept for a couple of years or so on memory foam at home, and I travel around a fair bit, but this matress was just splendid. I thought it had to be the best memory foam available before checking, but it was a new loooking, solid, sprung mattress in fact, quite like very good memory foam, but slightly firmer. I'm not one who really comments on the mattress quality in hotels. This was really terrific however, and I've never experienced anything nearly as good.

The bar-restaurant is fine - a traditional, basic auberge place, which I found pleasant - nice plants, a piano at one side, nice tables, a good bar, the people and the oven cooking the home made bread and pizzas are visible in a part and that helps make a very simple place with a pleasant ambience which most would like I think. I asked for a glass of wine. Patrons seem to be politely, pleasantly enjoying themselves here. It was only 1 Euro and 50 cents for about 220 mls of house wine (naturally, this is cheaper than average for Briancon). It had a lovely, thinnish ruby taste I would be very pleased to have 3 or so glasses of, more if drinking out for an evening. I would make sure come to this bar when passing through Briancon in future, it's so handy, it's simple, unpretentious, relaxing, and from memory of years ago, I found the food quite nice. (And I love the tiny bar of Hotel de Paris not far away also). The bar - pizza restaurant seems well liked.

I was stuck without enough Euros on Easter Monday as I didn't make the Post Office to change sterling by Saturday morning at Easter weekend. But the hotel very very pleasant indeed and told me at once, with no fuss, that I could stay an extra night, only paying the next morning with Euros when I was checking out.

The hotel didn't have any Cartes D'Hote left (guest cards). The cards are necessary for travelling freely on the Serre Chevalier bus, between Briancon and Monetier. The hotel gave me a sheet on which they asked this be accepted in lieu of a Carte D'Hote, as they had run out, and they put the official Hotel De La Gare stamp on it. I think the lady I spoke to indicated they would get some soon. The bus driver told me that that was good and acceptable ('valable') for that day, but unfortunately, a hostile older bus driver whom I have had bad experiences with in years before, though she let me on the return bus in Monetier, was going nuts about how it wasn't 'valable'. Though she tried to keep it when I left the bus (without paying, as she didn't ask me to pay). I had to pull my hotel communication from this woman ("It's not yours, it's mine" I had to repeat).

Naturally I would not have gone to Monetier from Briancon (nearly 30 miles) by relying on the hotels's guest card substitute that day if the first bus driver had not already assured me that this was 'valable' for that day from Briancon Prorel to Monetier and back again. And the first bus driver kindly told me which was the easiest stop in Monetier for me for returning. But the returning, later bus driver stopped the bus a number of times to walk down to loudly say things and gesticulate, seemingly just for public benefit, as she wasn't making any sense. I knew my hotel guest card substitute was 'valable', the bus company had assured me of that earlier. The second bus driver kept saying 'guest card only'.

I include this information in case it would happen to you. Hotels and any official guest residence in Serre Chevalier must give every guest a Carte D'Hote for the duration of their stay, each place is obliged to. It can happen that a place may run out quite suddenly. I want to advise people that if this happens to you, you should make sure to get a stamped sheet like I received, which specifies you are a paying guest, your name, and your dates. And then you should bring it to the Briancon (or other Serre Ch. tourist office) and have them either exchange it for a guest card (or get the tourist office stamp on your sheet if they direct). Otherwise, you don't know if you won't be allowed to ride suddenly depending on what a bus driver decides, though your tourist tax pays for nearly any bus you want during your stay. The hotel ran out, hotels are run by humans, and they did nothing wrong, it is not their fault. They did what they should have in the situation.

I recommend the hotel. I recommend the simple bar -pizzeria restaurant too (they also serve salads and maybe some starters and bread dishes).

Please note I give this hotel 4 stars because of the cleanliness, the convenience, the matress, the good sized room which was fine to stay in, efficient and pleasant service, the simple, inviting bar - pizzeria, the cheap, nice wine (a convivial extra making a budget stay pleasant) and their pleasantness to me when staying, especially when I couldn't get my British pounds changed at a long holiday weekend. However, I am aware many people would think this room in itself would be no more than an average 3 star Trip Advisor place as a one star hotel at 35 Euros p.n. for one person. Then again, the mattress was the best I have ever slept on.

There is a small cinema and small alternative concert venue (mostly indie rock music) behind Hotel De La Gare. The bar of Hotel De Paris, very close by, is small and very inviting, a nice place. The restaurant of Hotel De Paris is well recommended. Two highly recommended simple, very rewarding restaurants are the French Pizzeria restauarant Le Francois 1er (on the way to Grand Boucle shopping centre, not far to walk from Prorel lift station), Le Louisiane restaurant, with a small bar also, (opposite and 20 yards from Prorel lift station). The first serves High Alps wine (hard to find). Le Louisiane (a pleasant, American deep south hardly themed place) did serve lovely High Alps wine in pitchers last year but it wasn't on the menu this year, though the excellent, good priced 2000 or 2001 Vin de Pays Du Gard more than made up on a visit this year there .

Also recommended is the pleasant cafeteria of Casino at Grand Boucle shopping centre (indoor and outdoor seating, lovely views). The prices at the Casino cafeteria are amazingly cheap. Large, lovely quite fresh buffet style meals of many courses can be had for low prices including full bottles of wine. For example a 75 cl bottle of nice Bordeaux for less than 5 Euros. Deserts and starters are lovely, very good choice, the cheese board shouldn't be passed up, and the ice cream counter has a great selection. The main course is a buffet, note. And vegetarians, as I am, may have no choice but a selection of baked vegetables (which I thought was lovely ). This is where to come after sweating a lot during the day to really eat and drink a lot and really enjoy it (yet not pay much for it).

Regarding the buses in Briancon, it's not possible to board the bus from the train station to anywhere unless you are going further than Briancon Prorel lift station, and paying for the whole journey. It's not possible to pay for the short part, train station to Prorel lift, separately, you'd have to pay the whole charge. This is important for Hotel De La Gare guests, as with many other visitors, as they have to walk from the hotel opposite the station to the Prorel lift station and back each time, unless going further into or coming from further in Serre Chevalier and paying for the whole ride (while it's free with a guest card with the Briancon Prorel lift as the first or last stop). It's a bizarre bus company terms of licensing rule. Basically you walk to and back from Prorel (15 minutes or so), there's no bus unless you're staying on after Prorel, and if you take the first part of the journey you have to pay for the whole journey, guest card not accepted if your journey includes the short drive from Briancon station to Prorel. It's funny to see the small crowds of French daytrippers coming to Serre Chevalier to ski by getting the train to Briancon walking with their skis and boots. Until you have to also!

Hotel De La Gare is about 10 minutes walk away from a good leisure centre which has swimming pools, ice rink, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, water slide, and is in the middle of a built in park area (Parc 1326). Visits for the full facilities (but the ice rink is a separate cost) are around 10 Euros a time for hours. It stays open to 9 some nights, making it ideal after skiing and before a good meal or drinks, great location for wellness / spa facilities at an affordable rate if staying at Hotel De La Gare or Hotel De Paris (or anywhere in the central, low section of Briancon city.)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank factual5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Briancon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#14 of 17 in Briancon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Briancon Serre Chevalier
0.5 mi away
Soleil Vacances - Parc Hotel Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont-Brison
Hotel Mont-Brison
#9 of 17 in Briancon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.8 mi away
Auberge De La Paix
Auberge De La Paix
#4 of 17 in Briancon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.1 mi away
Suite-Home Briancon Serre Chevalier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Gare

Property: Hotel de la Gare
Address: 1, rue Oronce, 05100 Briancon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Hautes-Alpes > Briancon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Briancon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing