We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hakuna Matata” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Cypres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Cypres
Ranked #1 of 3 Contes B&B and Inns
Knysna
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hakuna Matata”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

It was a real treat to experience good old fashioned 'service' and comfort. Our stay at Les Cypres was like a breath of fresh air - the room was clean and comfortable and provided all the luxury we needed. Nothing was too much bother for Francis - she looked up restaurant telephone numbers for us and then in the morning helped us plan our route for the day. A lovely personal touch which is so lacking in this modern day world.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    10
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

After a brief stay at Les Cypres Contes, I have no hesitation in recommending this charming , homely, guest house to anybody wanting a reasonable priced stay in the Nice area. The owners are helpful, the rooms are clean and tidy, the area is quiet with excellent views, and you are barely 20 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Nice. With the quaint charms of the perched village of Contes as an added attraction barely a ten minute walk away, the chance to take in the tranquil southern French countryside is an added attraction

If I am visiting the Nice area again, I would certainly consider this lovely guest house for my stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

İf you want luxury you shouldn't stay in Les Cypres. Even, there is no television and telephone in room. Rooms and bathroom is very small. But, there is just pure tranquility and hospitality. When we stay in there we always tought that stay in my relative's house because there is no place for breakfast. You have to go Frances's Kitchen (hotel owner) for having delicious breakfast and can chat with her. Hotel in a small town which name is Contes. Contes is a different place so you can spend time in there.

If you don't GPS system can be hard to find to hotel. Because, hotel is in a small town. Towels doesn't change everyday.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We had a lovely stay of three nights at Les Cypres. Our room was small, but clean and comfortable. The ensuite shower was very good. The rooms share a salon with a TV and a refrig. Breakfast, served in the garden, was plentiful with bread, cheese, yoghurt, juice, lots of French-press coffee, a particular favorite. The hosts were very friendly and engaging .... an English couple, living in the region for many years, fluent and knowledgeable. We found that they have recently assumed ownership here. There is much apparent effort to improve the buildings and the gardens.

We also discovered our hostess' culinary talent. She mentioned that with advanced booking she would prepare the occasional dinner. We twisted her arm and really had a treat ....some of the best Indonesian food ever!!! And a short walk away is an excellent traditional French restaurant. We also enjoyed the lovely perched village of Contes and a nearby hiking trail. The centre of Nice is only 20 minutes by car.

So we think that Les Cypres has the charm and quiet of life in a mountain village, as well as easy access to the big city. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jer0493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We were a little apprehensive about staying at this B&B due to some of the negative reviews we had read prior to booking. How pleased we were to have ignored those reviews!!
The location is ideal as it is in a beautiful little village with wonderful surrounding mountain views and walks, and is only 15 minutes drive from Nice. If you do not wish to drive into Nice, there is a local bus a short walk away. You can also catch the tram at the terminus which is one stop down the motorway ( cost 1 euro).
On arrival we had a very warm welcome by the owner, Frances. The room had recently been redecorated, Frances explained that they had bought the B&B only two months ago and were busy making lots of improvements in order to make the guest accommodation more welcoming. The rooms are spotless, comfortable and cleaned everyday. Breakfast ( continental, you are in France so please don't expect a full English!) was served in the beautiful garden, in the sunshine, and how nice to be served with freshly baked bread, homemade yoghurts jams and cakes, no supermarket rubbish here!
From our experienced we would highly recommend this wonderful B&B if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of your busy lives.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euroa, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

After difficulty finding a B&B "on the run" (we had not pre-booked anywhere) we were very glad to find this delightful place by accident. We asked for one night's accommodation and stayed two as it was comfortable, the hosts friendly, breakfast served in the garden.Conveniently located to the Perched Villages with a quality restaurant within walking distance it met our expectations.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Had we stayed in this B&B only, we would have kept a bad souvenir of this type of accommodation. (We had never experienced B&B’s before, as we were usually staying in hotels).

We had booked 5 nights, at the end of August.
I had asked for the “Glycine” bedroom, but we stayed in the “Tilleul“ the night of our arrival, the “Glycine” being occupied. (I was aware of it when I made the booking).

The “Tilleul“ is small but clean.
The “Glycine” is slightly bigger, with the toilets independent from the bathroom.

What both bedrooms have in common.

First, the positive points.
The bedrooms are decorated with taste and the towels are of good quality.

Then, the “minuses”…

There is neither air conditioning, nor fridge, nor TV, nor swimming pool. (A fridge is common to the 3 bedrooms and the television is in the little lounge, also to share with the other bedrooms).

It would be a good idea to change the mattress of the “Glycine”. Unless you sleep in the middle of the bed, each side sags to the point that you might fall off the bed! (Even if neither my partner nor I are “heavy weights”).

None or very little storage capacity (three hangers and one shelf).

They boast a « breakfast brunch ».
Under “brunch”, the dictionary indicates “A meal typically eaten late in the morning as a combination of a late breakfast and an early lunch.”
Admittedly, breakfast is healthy: no croissant, but two varieties of bread (baguette and wholemeal bread), freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, home made yoghurts and jams. One morning we had some ham, on two other mornings we had cheese.
I doubt anyone with a normal appetite can do without lunch after that…

Coffee is rationed: only one cup per person and you cannot ask for anymore because there is not anyone to be seen.

On their website, the garden is said to be “rural”. It would be more appropriate to say “totally abandoned” or “non attended to”.

What can I say about the state of the tables and chairs outside the bedrooms or on which breakfast is served? It is probably possible to find more rusty… with a lot of good will!

As to the shutters, they too would benefit from a good sanding and some fresh paint! Flaked paint also reflects the lack of interest being given to the guests!

Seeing the services, I think that 85 euros (“Tilleul” bedroom) or 90 euros (“Glycine” bedroom) is well over-priced.
How can you justify such a price when Contes has nothing in particular to offer and is not by the sea!?

An interesting fact to note as well, is that out of the three places where I had booked, this is the only one where they asked for a deposit for our stay…

Accessing the place by car is an adventure on its own ; if you enjoy manoeuvring, you will be over the moon to both driving in and out! And please, do not come with your 4x4 because the gate is too narrow; you would end up parking in the village!

My idea of B&B’s was that owners are affable… not at the Cyprès!

The exchange with the owner was limited to “Bonjour Monsieur “, the two mornings we crossed him.

As to his spouse, she was setting everything on the table before anybody arrived. She then would appear for 3 mn when you were there and that would be it. Later, you could catch sight of her when she was clearing the tables, only once everybody had gone.

In two words, we wasted money on a place which I do not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orchid99GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Contes
4.0 mi away
Auberge de la Madone
Auberge de la Madone
#1 of 1 in Peillon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
17.1 mi away
Auberge des Gorges du Loup
Auberge des Gorges du Loup
#1 of 3 in Tourrettes-sur-Loup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
6.3 mi away
Le Panoramic
Le Panoramic
#81 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Chateau de la Chevre d'Or
9.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Prince de Galles
0.8 mi away
Villa Cyriel
Villa Cyriel
#2 of 3 in Contes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Cypres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Cypres

Property: Les Cypres
Address: 289 route de Chateauneuf, 06390 Contes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes Maritimes > Contes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Contes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 15 mn of Nice,3 guest House in an authentic House, rural garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Les Cypres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing