We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"An amazing find."”
Review of La Bagnosienne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baigneux-les-Juifs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Bagnosienne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Undeniably the best Bed & Breakfast we stayed at during our trip to France. This is a great place, the rooms are delightful and such is the hospitality of Lesley and John that you don't want to leave.
We stayed for 3 nights, exploring the Dijon area and the highlight was to return each night for one of John's fabulous dinners and the great company.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for La Bagnosienne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2011

The litlle medieval town was beautiful and convenient to Dijon .The mystical countryside surrounding this village is enchanting,The accommodations were wonderful but most of all,the hospitality of the English couple who were our hosts ,Lesley and John,made the visit memorable,We also must add kudos to John for his delicious breakfasts and dinners.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The proprietors, Leslie and John, were kind, attentive and interested in having a chat. John is an excellent chef, so don't miss the opportunity for him to cook dinner for you! The rooms were very clean and relaxing. The bathrooms were brand new! There is a nice courtyard and garden area to relax with a glass of wine. We felt at home immediately. When we arrive we were starving, so Leslie ran to the village restaurant to see if they could accommodate us for lunch. The town itself was tucked away and not touristy at all.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jday512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Lesley & John were charming, friendly, helpful and also great fun! John is a great cook as well. The village is sweet and peaceful, the surrounding countryside the ideal place for a perfect switch-off experience from busy lives at home. Guests all sit together around the dining table which makes the whole experience very sociable and the meeting of different cultures. The countryside is perfect for cycling, very safe, plenty of routes , easy to difficult and John is there to advise, he even offered to pick us up if we got stuck!
I look forward to going back and having a glass of wine with them in their beautiful courtyard!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunshineladyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

From the moment we were greeted at the door to the time we reluctantly left,nothing more could have been done for us.The food was delicious,the rooms welcoming,altogether perfect for a short break - just wish it had been longer!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Headcorn33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We had a wonderful stay with Leslie and John. They had great sense of humor. Made us feel so relaxed and welcoming.

The breakfasts were very nice. Make sure you order John's dinner. Local and freshly prepared meals. Local wine offered with each meal.

It was a very relaxing place and a great location for touring the local wine country and historic sites. They had a lovely patio you could sit on and relax with a glass of wine.

Leslie took us around the village and it was so interesting. She is so warm and friendly.

I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smokie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I had a great 4 night stay at La Bagnosienne. I stayed in two rooms, ‘La Cassis’ and ‘La Mirabelle’. Both rooms had very comfortable beds, La Cassis being a double and La Mirabelle being the twin room. The rooms had a light and airy rustic French feel to them, with exposed brickwork on one wall. Both rooms have plenty of space and look out on to the charming village.

John’s cooking is excellent! His style is Mediterranean and French food, all unpretentious and all delicious. My favourite course was always the desserts: the poached pear was fantastic, as was the fig tart. Breakfast was also great, with John or Lesley popping out for fresh bread from the village bakery each morning, served alongside croissants, jams, freshly squeezed orange juice and John’s own blend of coffee.

La Bagnosienne is in the village of Baigneux les Juifs, a reasonable sized village with a post office, shop, pharmacy, small church and it seems to have quite a bit going on. It’s in a great location for day trips out to Dijon, Montbard, Chantillon sur Seine and the Cremant wine route. Only a 15 minute drive away is Chateau de Bussy-Rabutin. It was raining the day I went but it was still a nice place to look around, with large gardens that would make a great picnic spot when the sun is shining, and a maze to play in. Abbaye de Fontenay is also nearby, and is well worth spending some time in. The main church and courtyard are stunning!

Lesley and John are friendly and knowledgeable hosts who went out of their way to make my stay truly memorable, and they have created an atmosphere at La Bagnosienne that is really special. I shall certainly be going back.

I got the Eurostar to Paris and then the TGV to Montbard and picked up a hire car from nearby. It was really easy and meant I didn’t have the hassle of driving all the way. But if you are looking for somewhere to stay on your way further South (or North) then La Bagnosienne is only a minute’s drive from the N71.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_ThompsonsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baigneux-les-Juifs
22.4 mi away
Le Chateau De Courban & Spa Nuxe
17.0 mi away
Hostellerie d'Aussois
Hostellerie d'Aussois
#1 of 4 in Semur-en-Auxois
194 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Du Roy
Hotel Restaurant Du Roy
#1 of 1 in Aisey-sur-Seine
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Logis de l'Ecu
Logis de l'Ecu
#1 of 1 in Montbard
96 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hotel de la Cote d'Or
Hotel de la Cote d'Or
#2 of 4 in Semur-en-Auxois
134 reviews
11.7 mi away
Le Verger sous les Vignes
Le Verger sous les Vignes
#1 of 1 in Villeferry
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bagnosienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bagnosienne

Address: 12 rue de Quemigny | Baigneux- les-Juifs, 21450 Baigneux-les-Juifs, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Baigneux-les-Juifs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Baigneux-les-Juifs
Price Range: £47 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a delightful chambres d hotes in a small, typically Burgundian village. (Prices start at 58€ for a double room) The village has five shops including a well stocked supermarket and its fascinating apluvium lavoir and ancient church are well worth visiting. Sports, including tennis, are available in the village by prior reservation.The proprietors, Lesley and John, offer a very personal service to all their guests. John is a great cook and his tables d'hotes is now widely acclaimed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Bagnosienne Baigneux-Les-Juifs, France - Burgundy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing