We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful homely b&b”
Review of La Bagnosienne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baigneux-les-Juifs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Bagnosienne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Our second stay with Leslie and John and it was just as fantastic. A warm welcome, beautiful room and top class food - what more could you ask for. The location is ideal too as we stop over on return from skiing. Looking forward to our next visit :-)

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirsty_s2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2011

We began our French journey at La Bagnosienne, where we were warmly greeted by Lesley and John. Our room (very clean) was beautiful with a touch of French chic. Breakfast was simple, but delicious - freshly baked french bread. We opted for the evening meal - I would highly recommend that you do, as it was one of the best meals we had whilst we stayed in France. John is a fantastc cook and catered for our specfic requirements. We hope to return in the future as it is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hayley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Very welcoming and hospitable. Rooms beautifully decorated and beds comfortable. Food absolutely fantastic. Lesley and John are superb hosts and John will amaze you with his culinary skills. We will definitely return on our next visit

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We returned to this charming chambre d'hotes for the third time in September and cannot praise it or its patrons highly enough.

The village of Baigneux les Juiffs is traditional for the area and ideal for people wanting to experience the `real' rather than Disneyfied France. It is an ideal location for visiting surrounding sites and a wonderfully calm place to retreat to, as well as a perfect stopover point for visiting the deep South of France.

As previously, we experienced a very warm welcome from Lesley and John and our room was an oasis of calm and tranquility, with a wonderfully comfortable bed and all the things that one needs in a home from home.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WWendyWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stayed here for 3 days to break up the journey to the south of France and it was a wonderful start to our time in France.
We had seen the positive reviews of the food before we booked and thought having our meal at the B&B would be useful after our drive down. It was a really nice meal and we decided that we would eat there the other two nights as well and we weren't disappointed, really good food each time.
The other aspect that made this one of my favourite stays ever in a B&B (and we usually do choose B&B's rather than Hotels for short stays) was the welcome from John & Lesley. Whilst John was cooking Lesley was a charming and friendly host and when he was free John also was friendly and very welcoming. It was more like staying with friends than being in a B&B.
The room, whilst not particularly large was charming.
The location of the B&B was also very good, in a nice village with a traditional feel and conveniently located for Flavigny (lovely village where Chocolat was filmed), Fontenay Abbey and Dijon amongst other places. (Tip if you want a driving free day, you can catch the bus from the village into Dijon, as long as you don't want to stay there too late).
Would highly recommend this B&B for a short stop-over on the way to or from the south of France or for a longer stay to see the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MJG_KG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We had booked this b&b as an overnight stop on our trip back to UK from Cote d'Azur, on the back of reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed.
Unfortunately because of traffic we didn't arrive until 7.30pm, which was a shame as we would have liked longer to explore the village and area. Lesley and John were perfect hosts and helped us to relax immediately. We enjoyed a marvellous evening meal prepared by John. Breakfast the next morning was equally impressive.

On leaving Baigneux in the morning we drove through some exquisite vineyard villages before getting to the autoroute.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We stayed here for the first night of a 3-week trip, and what a lovely way to start off the trip. We had the warmest of welcomes, including the happy question, 'Do you prefer white or red?'' The two rooms we had were charming, with supremely comfortable beds, shutters to make it dark for sleeping, and good reading lights. John made us dinner - Beef Burgundy, of course! - which was lovely. It's definitely the way to relax after a long drive from the ferry, knowing that a lovely meal is being cooked for you as you settle in with a good book, or a stroll in the gardens out back. The village is quiet, but worth an early-morning nose around with a camera. Breakfast was perfect. You couldn't want for more - all in all a model establishment. Get directions for Flavigny, which is definitely worth the pretty meandering route and a good stop for sightseeing and lunch.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhillyUKGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baigneux-les-Juifs
22.4 mi away
Le Chateau De Courban & Spa Nuxe
17.0 mi away
Hostellerie d'Aussois
Hostellerie d'Aussois
#1 of 4 in Semur-en-Auxois
196 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Du Roy
Hotel Restaurant Du Roy
#1 of 1 in Aisey-sur-Seine
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#1 of 1 in Saint Seine L'Abbaye
45 reviews
14.5 mi away
Logis de l'Ecu
Logis de l'Ecu
#1 of 1 in Montbard
97 reviews
11.7 mi away
Le Verger sous les Vignes
Le Verger sous les Vignes
#1 of 1 in Villeferry
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bagnosienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bagnosienne

Address: 12 rue de Quemigny | Baigneux- les-Juifs, 21450 Baigneux-les-Juifs, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Baigneux-les-Juifs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Baigneux-les-Juifs
Price Range: £48 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a delightful chambres d hotes in a small, typically Burgundian village. (Prices start at 58€ for a double room) The village has five shops including a well stocked supermarket and its fascinating apluvium lavoir and ancient church are well worth visiting. Sports, including tennis, are available in the village by prior reservation.The proprietors, Lesley and John, offer a very personal service to all their guests. John is a great cook and his tables d'hotes is now widely acclaimed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Bagnosienne Baigneux-Les-Juifs, France - Burgundy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing