We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home, what more could you want......”
Review of La Bagnosienne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baigneux-les-Juifs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Bagnosienne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We recently stayed with John and Lesley at their beautiful home. It has been sensitively restored and beautifully furnished to maintain the charm and character of the building, but so much more than that is the warm, friendly and charming welcome and attention that you receive from the fabulous John and Lesley.
Never too much, but always just checking if you have everything you need, providing information and feeding you with Johns fabulous meals, whom is soooooooo modest about his skills.
When it came to our 19 month old daughter, she left calling them Pappa John and Essey, I think that speaks for itself!!!! Nothing was too much trouble, moving meal times to accommodate her bed time, playing games with her and bringing in specific foods for her when they went shopping.
The rooms were spotless, beds comfy, a cosy cot and high chair too with a supply of interesting things magically produced to keep our daughter amused.
Tea and coffee in the room, good bathrooms and plumbing - a rarity in France. Always enough hot water for daddy and daughter bath time and showers for mummy, fresh towels and linen coming out of our ears.
Will we be back? Absolutely!!!! Thank you Pappa John and Essey.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

Leyley and John are my first experience of "chambre d'hôte" , and they were marvellous, so fabulous !!!
So easy to live in their home, so beautyful, spacious and comfortable !
So easy to discover Burgundy, people, areas, rythms of country life and french food !
So easy to exchange experiences and to rebuild the world around the dinner table !
So cool to discuss hours with John in the kitchen about food, around a fresh fruit juice or a cup of coffee, and with Leyley in the sitting room with a good glass of wine.
So delicious is the food prepared by John ...So cosy the room arranged by Lesley.
So ...., so ...., so ...,
A big thank for this charming couple : amazing hosts in every possible way; Warm, caring, loving and trusting.
I shall visit and revisit again. VIVE la Bagnosienne
Bea

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beatrice_ducloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had a total of 10 days in France. We choose Bed and Breakfasts as our preferred accommodation option as we enjoy meeting people and learning more about the local culture. Sadly, we have found that many B&Bs offer just that, a Bed and a Breakfast ... but then you have La Bagnosienne with amazing hosts Lesley and John which offers a whole lot more.

The moment we arrived at this charming property we were made to feel like old friends returning to visit. We were offered tea / coffee or a glass of wine and then spent several hours chatting to Lesley about the history of Baigneux-les-Juifs and chatting to John in the kitchen about his love affair with great food and local produce while he was preparing our evening meal.

John takes much pride in preparing and serving beautiful food that is fresh and super tasty. John - you really do a wonderful job!

The main property is very well set out. Our bedroom had a very comfy bed and was impeccably clean and the ensuite was more a BIG bathroom with a BIG bath which was very much appreciated.

We were travelling with another couple and we all agreed that was one of the BEST Bed & Breakfasts we stayed at in France.

Sadly, this was our last night in France and we had already booked a return fare to the UK. Had we not - we would have certainly stayed another night, or two.

Thank you John and Lesley for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We had a double room with a big bathroom (big compared to other B&Bs that we have stayed at) how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaReel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

What a find! John and Lesley are fantastic hosts. Lesley is the home maker and John the cook. He creates wonderful meals. We have been to stay on many occasions and the welcome is always very warm. They have done a wonderful job in creating a beautiful home which they are happy to share with their guests. Nothing is too much trouble. They have a lovely courtyard and if the weather is good John serves dinner outside. A lovely ambience. The soft towels and tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms make it a home from home. We are regular visitors to the area and always stay at La Bagnosienne. The best B and B we have stayed at in France.

Room Tip: There is one family room and two double rooms. The double rooms are very pretty and the family room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

we had the privilege of staying with John and Lesley for four nights from the 12th Sept 2013,
They were excellent hosts. Our room was very comfortable and full of rustic charm as was the whole house
The meals that John prepared for us were above average.
To us La Bagnosienne was a home from home.
We were sad to leave and can't wait to go back next year.
Brian and Barbara Willis
Tiverton Devon

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian551696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

After a holiday in France we had a wonderful stop-over at La Bagnosienne. This was our second stay and we were not disappointed. Lesley and John are excellent hosts and made us very welcome. The whole place is really beautiful and our room was particularly comfortable and well-appointed. John treated us to some delicious meals and excellent French wine. We will certainly aim to stop here again if we have the opportunity.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jx22013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We landed at this place by chance. I came to the door and knocked, inquired, the room was available, and we stayed for two nights. Just the beginning of a wonderful time !

We've been on the road now almost FOUR months, travelling through Europe, staying at places of all categories and types. The owners made me feel right at home. And, being a travelling chef, I even cooked for everyone.

A truly memorable stay. We will be back to Europe next year, and this little place is now on our itinerary for sure.

Formalities..... perfectly clean room, comfortable bed, piping hot water to shower, tea/coffee in room with kettle, lovely little cottage, very pretty village, excellent parking. They told us about this wash house, and I was like... what's that all about. We went anyway, and it was fantastic. An amazing little art display one might say.

We did not have the breakfast as we are not morning eating people... :)... But speaking with the landlord about food was immense fun, as he is a passionate chef too !

Room Tip: TAKE the room facing the street.. you get wonderful sunshine. Don't bother with anything else. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesahib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baigneux-les-Juifs
22.4 mi away
Le Chateau De Courban & Spa Nuxe
17.0 mi away
Hostellerie d'Aussois
Hostellerie d'Aussois
#1 of 4 in Semur-en-Auxois
196 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Du Roy
Hotel Restaurant Du Roy
#1 of 1 in Aisey-sur-Seine
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#1 of 1 in Saint Seine L'Abbaye
45 reviews
14.5 mi away
Logis de l'Ecu
Logis de l'Ecu
#1 of 1 in Montbard
97 reviews
11.7 mi away
Le Verger sous les Vignes
Le Verger sous les Vignes
#1 of 1 in Villeferry
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bagnosienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bagnosienne

Address: 12 rue de Quemigny | Baigneux- les-Juifs, 21450 Baigneux-les-Juifs, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Baigneux-les-Juifs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Baigneux-les-Juifs
Price Range: £48 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a delightful chambres d hotes in a small, typically Burgundian village. (Prices start at 58€ for a double room) The village has five shops including a well stocked supermarket and its fascinating apluvium lavoir and ancient church are well worth visiting. Sports, including tennis, are available in the village by prior reservation.The proprietors, Lesley and John, offer a very personal service to all their guests. John is a great cook and his tables d'hotes is now widely acclaimed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Bagnosienne Baigneux-Les-Juifs, France - Burgundy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing