We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing natural beauty...don't miss it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redwood National Park

Redwood National Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: National park that preserves an area of over 110,000 acres of Redwood rainforest and 50 miles of scenic coastline in Northern California.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing natural beauty...don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Redwood National Park has so much to offer. In addition to some of the tallest trees in the world, the are also miles of beautiful coastline to explore. My favorites were Hidden Beach and the Cathedral Trail. The Tall Trees Trail is great also. If you want to visit it be sure to request a pass from the visitors center early in the day before they reach their 50 per day limit. Also, check out the Elk in the meadows. The rangers can tell you the best places to look.

Visited September 2010
Helpful?
5 Thank charityd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    724
    96
    21
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience. Never to be Forgotten. Would visit again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

After leaving Klamath we were advised to travel along The Norman B Drury Scenic Parkway. We left the freeway and almost at once we were immersed amongst the giant trees. We heard the drip drip from the canopy of the trees. We saw loads of banana slugs and beautiful insect life. It was so unspoilt and an experience we will treasure. We highly recommend this route as it is quieter than the main redwood stands and just as impressive.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank ilovetouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Thomas H. Kuchel Visitor Centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

Terrific place with a terrain 3d model of the area and an old traditional tree canoe outside. Plus heaps of cool birds nests - see heaps of dropping on the floor? Look up & you'll see their nests! Inside you can watch a 12 min video about the area & the trees. Nice souvenirs with a great range of books. Friendly & helpful rangers to help plan your trip through Redwood NP. Definitely worth a stop & you can even collect your park stamp for the kids parks passport too.

Helpful?
3 Thank GratitudeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
380 reviews
174 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Amazing trees”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

We stopped in a winery in Ashland and a lady over heard us talking about our plan to drive to the southern Oregon coast. She recommended stopping at the Stout Grove of the Redwood national Park and it was one of the best recommendations we got. This place is just amazing. It is not crowded, the trees are magnificent, and you can actually get close. We walked on two of the fallen giants and got a real impression about their height. If we will ever be in the area again, we will certainly stop again.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank hiking-har
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing Trees”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

The Redwood National Park was wonderful. I would visit the Cresent City visitor center before anywhere else. Stout Grove has the old growth trees. It is where you will find some of the largest and oldest trees in the park. There is also a river that you can hike down to in the Stout Grove section. There is only room for one car down the road to get to Stout Grove.

The Rosevelt Elk are not that easy to find, but the visitor center can guide you in the right direction. We saw some, but we had to climb down a hill to view them. They were shy that day.

If you like tide pools, go to the lighthouse in Cresent City at low tide. It is much better than standing on the rocks in the park. Even the Ranger told us that low tide in the park was not that safe. We were able to see several things in the water. Don't miss the seal rescue center( I don't remember the name, but it can be found on the internet). It is near the lighthouse.

We did not have any luck at Kalamath Overlook, but it may have been the time of year that we went. On your way to Kalamath, stop at the Drive Through Tree. It was a fun little photo stop for a few bucks.

We were told by our hotel that in order to find sandollars, you had to go out before daylight. We went out in the dark with headlamps on to find sandollars. When I went out in daylight early in the morning, the sandollars were covering the beach. I think that they wanted us to look dumb.

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
14 Thank LAF72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Redwood National Park also viewed

Redwood National Park, CA
Redwood National Park, CA
 
Redwood National Park, CA
Redwood National Park, CA
 

Been to Redwood National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing