We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Abulutely Stunning Experience !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mavromichalai Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Limeni
Reviewed 8 January 2013

There is nothing more satisfying that living trhough the Full Historiciy of a magical place such as Mani. And living in a historical building adds on this by far. Moving your steps where Petrobeis Mavromihalis was sitting for glazing the deep blue of the wild sea in front of his house or sleeping at night and listening to the sound of waves that were bringing the Greek boats back from the battle during the Greek Revolution against Turks in 1821 or sitting at the veranda and watching the pirates getting ready to attack the poor residents of the area, were experiences that just stay there in the memory for ever.
The hospitaly of the Family that was running the hotel was amazing. All was clean and tidy and the antiques all around made us feel like home. It's wothwhile to ask the story of each one of them. Actually Mrs Areti has a story for everything in that house !!
And her son, Dimitris, was a Master of History. He new everyting that has happened in the past (and how to link it with the present) and gave us great advices for visiting the Akrotenaro -ancient gates to Hades!!- (try to go to the end: a bit difficult acess but you have to see the seal and the endless horizon waving at you when arriving at the lighthouse !!!) and of course the Diros Cave which is one of the most beautiful Caves in the World! Go to Areopoli and have some greek delices (the "sygklino" here is unique) and go to Vatheia (now abandoned) and have a stroll around the abandoned little streets... Mani is quite abandoned from the Greek State, but thankfully, not from that amazing Family of which the fater is one of the best Architects in Greece and his own duty and wish is to bring History back in Reality.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic but for a special feeling ask for the "cave room". For a more luxu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EMICH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012

i wouldn't even call this place a hotel. it's a big stone-built house that looked like a mansion of some very hospitable greek family, it seemed like they still were living there, as even the common spaces were decorated in this family-home cozy style. much effort was given to restore this unique atmosphere of the old times, and the owners well succeeded to my opinion.

our room was quite large and comfortable, with wide stone walls and lots of wooden decoration. we also had a window with a seaview (no room had a balcony), and it seemed that the building is located right over the waves. the bay is pretty small but picturesque.

the location of this place might be quite remote from the usual tourist roads, but i would definitely recommend the guesthouse to those who value tradition.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in July with a baby. I found the rooms to be ultra clean, very well decorated, spacious ( we stayed at a family room), the bed superb. We were provided with a crib for the baby. You walk down stairs to reach a beautiful sea which was very clean waters and at a good temperature to dibe in easily.
We were always served with a smile. The owner works at the hotel along with his son and some other people and they are doing a great job.
The breakfast was splendid and they make it right that moment.
Will definitely go back soon.
Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dph7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Our room was cosy and quiet. The window behind the bed (overlooking the sea) let in light for reading. Bathroom was small but had the necessary amenities. Breakfast was simple. Overall we had a good stay

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowphalaenopsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I came here for a drink only and for some hours, but I plan to visit soon and spend at least two or three nights here. It is about an 18th century tower house which has been fully restored with some magical views. Some of the rooms sit on top of the lapping waves in a small harbour with crystal waters. The sublime aesthetic beauty of the interior decor of this beautiful 4* hotel is evident. The location is unique and it seems as if it rises from the turquoise crystal clear waters of Mani’s finest bay.
I was amazed when I went inside. It seems like a museum and it is surely a building of much history which I will write about very soon when I return here again. Indeed after seeing some photos of the inside décor and the rooms I can say that it truly combines the elegant simplicity of the surroundings. What a wonderful place to be. It surely recaptures something lost in the modern world of today.
I long to be back and of course I will share a more detailed review of not only the hotel but the surround area as well.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank greekcypriot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

A beautiful, luxurious hotel in a pretty village. However, readers should be aware that, at least at the time of our visit, no one on staff spoke any language other than Greek. Limeni is very expensive, with rooms at this hotel ranging from 120-200 Euros. I wish that we had known about some of the other lodging nearby, such as in Italo. Incidentally, the hotel is easily confused with another, Pyrgos Mavromichalai, in the same village. If you visit this area, the Dirou Caves are truly spectacular.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank jdonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The location is great, the value for money is great, the room and everything inside perfect, the service also. But the breakfast was very poor, they charge if you ask for a cappuccino 4 euros and the cappuccino was really bad.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anacondas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limeni
0.1 mi away
Pirgos Mavromichali
Pirgos Mavromichali
#2 of 3 in Limeni
164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Limeni Village Hotel
Limeni Village Hotel
#1 of 2 in Areopoli
223 reviews
1.2 mi away
Petra & Fos Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vasilios Apartments Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Itilo
Hotel Itilo
#2 of 3 in Oitylo
164 reviews
1.2 mi away
Porto Vitilo Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mavromichalai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mavromichalai Hotel

Address: Limeni | Mani, Lakonia, Limeni 236 62, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Limeni
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Limeni
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mavromichalai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing