We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a haven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Kalkudah
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a haven!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

What a great hotel and experience!!! The best beach hotel we have ever been!!!!
We spent 6 days at Maalu Maalu as a beach break during our recent 3-week holidays throughout Sri Lanka and should have wished to spend more time. The hotel is perfectly located in middle of the bay, the sand beach is extremely clean as the entire hotel. Food is extremely tasty with a great variety of local and international dishes and cocktails are just perfect! Rooms are simply but nicely decorated and bathrooms are huge! The infinite pool is one of the best we have been swimming in and what a great staff! Always attentive to details, quick and friendly but never annoying.
The Customer Service is much more than excellent and they make you feel like at home! We had an issue with the air cons to which they answered quickly and in an excellent manner. Repeating one of my clients sentence, I would said that “In an era where customer service seems to be a forgotten phrase, Maalu Maalu provides truly extraordinary service and commitment to its customers”.
The best hotel we have been in Sri Lanka and one of the best ones I have ever been around the world!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cecfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    195
    58
    20
    15
See reviews for
298
306
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

There are clearly some very good things about this hotel with a few small niggles. We received an excellent welcome from Ashok and indeed were given a choice of rooms.The layout is lovely with bedrooms of good size but limited storage space. Bathrooms are enormous but as others have commented very hot. Food was reasonable buffet style but a little repetitive in the evenings, was expecting more seafood variety. On one lunchtime there was an excellent special of local lobster though this was not particularly well advertised and we nearly missed it !
Service could be a little slow and there were some communication problems with the waiters - we had been there 2 nights before we realised there was an a la carte alternative to the buffet though this seemed to be the same as the lunchtime menu. Pool was lovely though there was the usual European tradition of nab the sunbeds at breakfast which meant finding shade could be difficult if you didn't participate.The beach is excellent though open and as others have commented the character of the beach is changing due to the building work, noise wasn't intrusive from the building though the rather repetitive bar musak drowned it effectively. A nice touch was a complementary dinner by the beach on our final evening.Overall it was an a very enjoyable stay,and the few niggles could be put down to staff training and communication.When we offered a staff gratuity on departure Ashok informed us that it all went to staff welfare projects which suggests a good underlying ethos.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

It all started off quite badly with a mix up with our booking and it looked like we wouldn't be able to enjoy our stay as planned. However, Ashok, the manager, came to our rescue. He told us not to worry, trust him to look after us and so we made the long journey north from Ella. He was as good as his word. Our booking had been sorted and we were upgraded to the panoramic honeymoon suite which was apt as it was our honeymoon. The suite was clean, spacious and comfortable with a huge inside/outside bathroom with a jacuzzi and upstairs was another bed on a mezzanine level. There was wifi and satellite tv and the view from our balcony was breathtaking. We also had a small pool and a sauna which was shared with the next suite. We only used the pool once as there was a lovely large infinity pool right outside our suite. Plus the most beautiful beach you can imagine is 50m away. The sea was warm, shallow, gentle and ideal for swimming and lolling around in. The only distraction was the odd jet ski speeding around the bay which took a little from the tranquility of the beach. There are quite a few hotels springing up on the beach but it is not crowded and maalu maalu is the nicest looking hotel in that it has thatched roofs and has a boutique feel unlike some of the other monstrosities nearby. Every time you walked out from the lobby and saw the pool merge with the sea and the horizon you couldn't help but say 'wow'.
There was a buffet for breakfast and dinner with a wide variety of cuisines on offer to suit all tastes and the food was of a good standard. The beach bar served lunch which we felt was patchy by comparison. Drinks were available in both bar areas and service was generally very good. All of the young staff were very friendly and helpful and made great efforts to communicate in English.
The spa was very nice and relaxing. The gym was well equipped if a little warm. We hired bikes and cycled to the nearby town which was worth doing.
There is a pretty heavy security presence at the hotel entrance and on the beach which, whilst keeping the place safe and secure, can make you feel like the locals are being kept out or segregated. This may not be the case at all.
There was a mix of families and honeymooners staying at the hotel when we were there but the atmosphere was very friendly and welcoming throughout. The birds in the roofs make a racket early in the morning so don't expect a lie-in! It's probably best to get up early to secure a beach or pool bed for the day. Some of our European neighbours were experts at securing these beds!
All in all we loved our time at maalu maalu. The hotel strives for excellence and all of the staff really do their utmost to help you. Ashok was great to us in particular. He's a real asset to the hotel.
We would have loved to have stayed there for longer than a week and we would definitely stay there again. However, we hope the local planners do not let greed destroy the area and kill the thing which makes it so appealing; the amazing and relatively quiet and unspoilt beach.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journeymanDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in August. We booked the ocean suite room which was well equipped and opened out straight onto the beach. The bathroom is huge, almost as big as the bedroom, the only thing I would have changed is adding a window in the room to be able be nice to enjoy the view as it is spectacular. The pool is lovely and a good temperature so we didn't actually use the smaller pool that came as part of our suite. We found it a bit difficult to order drinks at the pool and the hotel would benefit by having a waiter taking drinks orders. There is a bar by the pool area but it's not very comfortable, even though the theme of the fishing boat adds character it would be much more inviting with some cushions to sit on and a bit more space to relax and have a drink there.

I needed to do some work whilst I was there and the staff kindly let me leave my laptop in the bar area for most of the day.....one big request is to please change those awful sweaty plastic cushions, they are impossible to sit for any length of time, many people mentioned this.

Wifi is good in the bar area but we would have appreciated it in the rooms where I could have done my work in my own comfort.

We stayed on full board basis, and whilst the food was good and varied each day the standard was not 5star, I don't think this is anything to do with the chefs but more the lack of supplies and fresh produce in such a remote location.

We tried the spa massage which was good and not too overpriced.

The beach is fantastic, clear still blue water with white sand. There is a bigger resort next door but I would still prefer Maalu Maalu which is more of a boutique style hotel.

There is some construction going on around the area but the noise is minimal and didn't bother us at all.

The staff are wonderful and truly an asset to this resort, all staff spoke great English and couldn't do enough to help. They were always friendly and did whatever they could to ensure guests are happy.

This place is a long drive straight from Colombo (about 6 hours) so we stayed at a great little place called Joe's Habarana Village on the way there and on the way back which broke up the journey really well. If we were to venture over to the East Coast again we would definitely do this again and no doubt stay at Maalu Maalu.

Thanks to all for a wonderful stay on the beautiful East Coast of Sri Lanka

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kay009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at Maalu Maalu. We really like this resort because it's very quiet, not crowded and the beach is beautiful. I'm Sri Lankan and live in the USA, there is no restaurant near me that serves a good Crab Curry, this place has one of the best Crab curries I've ever had. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. There were a few items I did not see on the buffet and I asked the chef and he added the items.

You can take a boat out to the reef and they will take you to a really nice snorkeling spot about 10 minutes away. Water temps in both the ocean and the pool are great.

My wife and I both had a full body Ayurvedic massage for one hour and the cost was Rs6000 ($46 USD). That massage would be close to $200 in the USA.

We traveled with two kids age 14 and 9 and had a two story room. The kids stayed in the loft on the top floor. Both floors had their own air conditioning unit. Our friends that traveled with us had three kids so they received a two bedroom suite with two bathrooms. This is one of our favorite resorts in SL, we will go back again.

Room Tip: If you have two children you will be fine in a two story room. If you have three children you shoul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Lankan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

As I write this review I wonder if Maalu translates as overblown, pompous and pretentious but I suppose that’s too many words.

The location on the beach is very nice although there are at least four other hotels along the same stretch.

I think when they trained the staff they forgot to tell them that Sri Lanka is a friendly place and tourism is a hospitality industry.

There is a lot I would like to say about this place (or more specifically the staff/ management) but apparently I am not allowed to swear on Trip Advisor.

So I will say the following. In my opinion Maalu Maalu are so far up their own intestines that they need never worry about getting sun-burnt.

If you enjoy staying at places where you are made to feel like an inconvenience then you’ve hit the jackpot. I can honestly say hand on heart there is no amount of money you could offer me to stay at this place.

There are another four hotels along the same stretch of beach and if you want to be appreciated and looked after try them.

Awful people, terrible service, bland food and ridiculously overpriced. Apart from that it’s still bad.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank gurudean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four days in the middle of a busy three week tour of the island for a bit of a recharge and what a welcome rest it proved to be. With only 40 rooms in the complex this hotel just about managed to retain an element of independence and stylishness lost by establishments much bigger. Attention to detail was good as were the staff and overall service. We ate in the restaurant in the evenings which served a good array of dishes both local and European to cater for most tastes. The position of this hotel if a quiet and a relaxed break is what you are seeking is just great. An easy and relaxed atmosphere allowed us to kick back a little in readiness for our onward adventure.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon1865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalkudah hotels
0.1 mi away
Uga Bay
Uga Bay
#2 of 12 in Kalkudah
757 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anilana Pasikuda
Anilana Pasikuda
#4 of 12 in Kalkudah
363 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sun Aqua Pasikudah
Sun Aqua Pasikudah
#5 of 12 in Kalkudah
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Amethyst Resort - Passikudah
0.1 mi away
The Calm Resort & Spa
The Calm Resort & Spa
#6 of 12 in Kalkudah
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise by Jetwing
Sunrise by Jetwing
#7 of 12 in Kalkudah
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa

Property: Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
Address: Passekudah Bay | Hotel Road, Passekudah, Kalkudah 30410, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Kalkudah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kalkudah
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkudah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kalkudah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maalu Maalu our beach hotel is awaiting you with its services in the beautiful environment of Pasikudha. The hotel offers comfortable 32 Deluxe rooms, 04 Interconnecting Chalets, 08 Rooms with Attics. A swimming pool, a sauna, a massage tub and further services are available for our hotel guests who wish to relax and indulge in Ayurvedic treatments. You can feel endlessly rolling waves reflecting the blue of the sky and tipped with frothy whiteness fill the air with a salty haze that sticks to the skin and fills the ears with sound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maalu Maalu Resort And Spas
Maalu Maalu Hotel Kalkudah
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa Sri Lanka/Kalkudah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing