We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Uga Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Uga Bay
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Kalkudah
Certificate of Excellence
Klippan, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A new well designed 5 star hotel in east coast of Sri lanka. Service is excellent from check in to check out time. Even the minor details are well attended. Never miss the Jet ski ride (Rs 2500/15mts). Beach is very sandy and clean. I forgot my valuable camera on a pool table, they returned it to me after several hours. Food is tasty. all the rooms have a ocean view. But a room close to the restaurant will be helpful.

Room Tip: A rrom close to the restaurant will be helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    167
    45
    8
    3
See reviews for
294
300
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with my wife and it was simply an amazing experience.. The rooms were very comfortable and stylish and had a really good entertainment system as well.. The beach was really great and you could even swim there as there were hardly any waves.. The staff was extremely nice and friendly and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.. The only complains I have is with regard to our room which was only made available to us at 4pm which was 2 hours after the check-in time and the food being a bit average.. The food that was served was pretty much the same throughout the trip and was a bit ordinary.. Apart from these small issues, the stay was very much enjoyable and I would definitely go there again.. =)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thilina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We went Uga Bay to celebrate our second wedding anniversary.. They gave us a surprise by giving a cake along with two wine glasss. That was really great since we did not expect such a thing. All the staff was really helpful and friendly. The rooms were spacious and clean. Also, the view and the surroundings were great. We felt like we sholud have to spend more time there. Actually, it was a reallly great experience which made our anniversary a memorable one.

Room Tip: The rooms in upstairs have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Achini d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Firstly, I would to say that I do not usually write reviews so negatively, but it was very hard to find the positives here! My husband and I stayed at Uga Bay in August for 4 nights and we had booked an ocean view room with an 'uninterrupted view'! The first room we were 'put' in (and I say 'put' as we were literally dumped in the room, with no explanation, conversation etc) which was the second row back from the beach definitely did not have this! (See picture). I complained immediately and was told they were fully booked, but we could change the next day, which we did and this did have the view we were hoping for (See picture). However, I would say that the improved room and the whole resort is far from being 5*. The room had scuffs all along the wall, and little details such as the robes looked dirty and the wardrobes were broken. There were lots of children running through the grounds and big groups of people who played their own music loudly on the beach...next to the beach bar....not the most relaxing environment! The staff are very young and inexperienced. When I asked for a cushion for the wooden beach lounger, I was told there were non left, even though half the loungers had non on them, so this was extremely uncomfortable. The bar staff tried, but did not really know what they were doing. We went for dinner the first evening and service was very slow and they did not half the dishes on the menu (other table that even didn't even get their food!). We spoke to a Manager, who be quite honest seemed more concerned about himself than ensuring his guests were happy. Whilst a barman was making our drinks one evening, he called over to get his gin and tonic served first!!! Things only seem to improve with the arrival of more senior manager on site and he immediately started getting things sorted......like a getting cushions on the all the sun loungers and fixing parasols etc. We had arrived from Uga Bay's fabulous sister hotel we had such high expectations and to say were disappointed would be an understatement. I am not sure that Uga Bay is a relaxing choice for couples and is more suited to groups or families, which is such as shame as the beach is magnificent! I was given the feedback form, just as we were leaving getting into our car and asked to complete it there and then....I took it with me and posted it to Uga Escapes Head Office. I only hope things have improved, as it has such potential to be a beautiful resort with a little more care and attention.

Room Tip: For a uninterrupted view ask for one of the 8 rooms on the front row
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trinibelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramli G, Director/ CEO at Uga Bay, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this valuable feedback and we appreciate it very much as it is with such feedback we can continue to improve and offer a superior experience to our guests. We've noted all your comments from the feedback form which you completed at the resort in August 2013 and have taken measures to address all areas of concern.

Thank you once again and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Uga Bay.

Ramli Ghaffoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunis, Tunisia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Very beautiful hotel . The view is amazing. The rooms are lovely decorated and very comfortable. The crew is attentive,helpful and very kind. The restaurent is also great . I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amal m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We loved the hotel. it's beautiful new hotel with beautiful beach. the rooms are lovely decorated and i'm happy we picked that hotel in Pasekudha.
I loved the fact that the hotel crew is really trying to make you satisfied and ask for your opinion to get better all the time. because of the way they care about the guests - they will become better more and more.
The food - some of the dishes were good and some less. When I said something is not tasty for me they ask why and wanted to understand and suggest another dish for me. All in all the food is good especially the soups and fish /seafood but there are some dishes that need to be improved. Also the cocktails were tasty.
Thank you! :)

Room Tip: better taking the rooms in front of the beach - the one we took was there and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malmichal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

As per my experience this is the best beach I ever found on Sri Lanka. At the first seen my memories goes to
Maldives.. The place it less crowded & have a long beach with shallow water. It’s a great place to spend few hours in isolate
Counting stars.

The Hotel was amazing & newly built with stunning architecture. It was value for money & the service is fairly good.
Rooms are comfortable & spacious with all modern facilities. The hotel is really attractive & lovely in the nigh with all
The lightings. Experimental dishes are there at your choice but the selections were minimum if you go through the set menu.

I hope this Hotel is one of the best locations in this side of the country. If you really want to try out a peaceful stay with high
Hospitality you better try this out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuwan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalkudah hotels
0.1 mi away
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Kalkudah
830 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anilana Pasikuda
Anilana Pasikuda
#4 of 13 in Kalkudah
367 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sun Aqua Pasikudah
Sun Aqua Pasikudah
#6 of 13 in Kalkudah
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunrise by Jetwing
Sunrise by Jetwing
#8 of 13 in Kalkudah
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Calm Resort & Spa
The Calm Resort & Spa
#5 of 13 in Kalkudah
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amethyst Resort - Passikudah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uga Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uga Bay

Property: Uga Bay
Address: Coconut Board Road, Kalkudah 30410, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Kalkudah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kalkudah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kalkudah
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkudah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Uga Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the beachfront and set just meters from the pristine beaches of the stunning Pasikudha Bay famous for its gentle swell across one of Sri Lanka’s shallowest beach where guests can walk waist- deep to the edge of the coral reef. Turquoise waves gently break their long stroll over coral reefs as it caress the powdery white sands warmed by the sun, sitting at the centre is Uga Bay the 46 Studios built in a cluster style brimming with vibrant energy, offering its guests a memorable ocean vacation. The accommodation at Uga Bay is unique in many ways. Located along the beachfront and set just meters from the pristine beaches of the stunning Passikudha Bay comprises of 46 spacious 500 square foot rooms, a Bay Suite and a Beach Chalet. The architecture is contemporary tropical fused with a Mediterranean theme set amidst swaying palms. Each cluster features two Beach View Studios upstairs and two Studios on ground level with direct access to the beach. All studios offer breathtaking views of the tranquil Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Uga Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uga Bay Sri Lanka/Kalkudah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing