We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss”
Review of Uga Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Uga Bay
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Kalkudah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

One of the most relaxing 3 days that was spent with my family. House keeping was abysmal, and even though food was fantastic, it wasn't a buffet. so quantities were less. But overall it was great. Book through the web cuz the hotline they have sucks for reservations. Had to call 3 times and give my credit card details 3 times over the phone to get the reservation. But when it comes to the hotel the in house staff is incredibly friendly and so helpful. By far the best hotel in pasikuda.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (902)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 902 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is the ideal place for a peaceful vacation. Loved the concept. Perfect fit for the location. Pool was overlooking the sea. water sports were also available. Food was great and staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: No big difference in top floor rooms and bottom floor rooms (both have sea views) even though top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eranda89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Went to Uga Bay during the end of Feb 2014 to celebrate my wife's birthday. It was top notch since the moment we arrived at the property. It was not too busy and all the staff were very helpful and treated us like royalty! This is what you expect from a property of this standard.

Guests have mentioned about some issues that they have experienced during the initial stage of the property being up and running but I see that all those areas have been rectified.

In short, good food (Exec Chef Amal is an asset) staff and the property is nothing short of excellent!

Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I always wanted 2go2Passikudah & company's annual excursion was decided4 UgaBay@Valentine's Day2014. Staff of LankaClear Pvt. Ltd. made it on this day for 2Nights & 3Days. Was thrilled to see the excellent condition in Beach Studios & facilities offered. I had the best open big beach after Negambo and DJ night was marvelous. Walk along the beach upto the Naval Base was super fun. Cuisine & Beverages stood par excellence. Many thank owe to Mr. Roshan, & gratitude to Mr. Faheem. Would see u soon again. Fabulous!!!

Room Tip: Beach Studios Near the Beach Or Higher floors has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VarunaLCPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this beautiful hotel. The villa's with ocean views (every villa has an ocean view) are very much larger and luxurious than an average room at any hotel I've stayed in Sri Lanka. What I loved best was the hotel was so kid friendly. Travelling with a 2 and 4 year old is always a challenge. However the staff were so helpful and accommodating. They always had the kids food at the table as soon as we settled in. The food was great too.Unlike other hotels that have buffet for all 3 meals on full board here we could chose from an Alcarte menu. The sea and beach was amazing too. A true heaven in paradise. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDeSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Our stay at Uga Bay was one of the most relaxing and pleasent experinces ever. Whilst the Hotel by itself was fabulous , the service standards were beyond expectations. The staff were so helpful and went out of there way to accomodate all our meal prefernces. It is easily the best place to stay in passikudah without a doubt.The ocean rooms are highly recommended as it gives a lovely view of the Beach and Sea. Due mention should be given to Roshan and Hafi for showcasing the true meaning of hospitality and to Sameera who did a fantastic job at the restaurant.The Reservation team of Chamika and Jithendra were most helpful and obliging

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shanaka C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Hands down one of the best beach resorts I have been to in Sri Lanka. Stayed in a beautiful Ocean Studio and the view from the balcony was amazing. The food was fantastic! Credits to chef Amal and the brilliant staff for their excellent services. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heminihema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalkudah hotels
0.1 mi away
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
#4 of 13 in Kalkudah
911 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anilana Pasikuda
Anilana Pasikuda
#6 of 13 in Kalkudah
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise by Jetwing
Sunrise by Jetwing
#7 of 13 in Kalkudah
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sun Aqua Pasikudah
Sun Aqua Pasikudah
#5 of 13 in Kalkudah
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Calm Resort & Spa
The Calm Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Kalkudah
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amethyst Resort - Passikudah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uga Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uga Bay

Address: Coconut Board Road, Kalkudah 30410, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Kalkudah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kalkudah
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkudah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kalkudah
Price Range: £102 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Uga Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the beachfront and set just meters from the pristine beaches of the stunning Pasikudha Bay famous for its gentle swell across one of Sri Lanka’s shallowest beach where guests can walk waist- deep to the edge of the coral reef. Turquoise waves gently break their long stroll over coral reefs as it caress the powdery white sands warmed by the sun, sitting at the centre is Uga Bay the 46 Studios built in a cluster style brimming with vibrant energy, offering its guests a memorable ocean vacation. The accommodation at Uga Bay is unique in many ways. Located along the beachfront and set just meters from the pristine beaches of the stunning Passikudha Bay comprises of 46 spacious 500 square foot rooms, a Bay Suite and a Beach Chalet. The architecture is contemporary tropical fused with a Mediterranean theme set amidst swaying palms. Each cluster features two Beach View Studios upstairs and two Studios on ground level offering breathtaking views of the palm fringed garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Uga Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uga Bay Sri Lanka/Kalkudah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing