We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The George at Nunney
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nunney
Reviewed 31 May 2012

After hearing with joy that our local pub had new owners, we trotted along the other Friday evening for a drink or two, only to come away even more disheartened with it!!
Greeted by a misirable rotund lady, (who I could've sworn was one of the last managements staff & no friendlier then?!) we were told we couldn't leave a card behind the bar (although we were only one of three tables) & had to spend over £10 to use it!
Whilst sat in the bar drinking, we overheard the same member of staff telling a table of four that had obviously had food, that they couldn't possibly have any more coffee's for the two non drinking members of their party!!!
On ordering a second drink at only 10.38 on a Friday night, I was rudely warned 'that was it' as it was last orders!
Sadly, the local will be at the bottom of visiting list again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mush89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_George_at_Nunny, Owner at The George at Nunney, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

I'm really sorry to read your review, especially as you are locals, and we have really gone out of our way to bring the locals back into The George since the previous owner left. As you may know, we now open all day, serving teas, coffees, cream teas and homemade cakes. We welcome families and children (unlike the previous owner) and its lovely to see the place full of life.

I'm not sure what went wrong that evening, but can only apologise if you felt the service was not up to scratch. We have tried very hard to turn the pub/hotel around, not only with the extensive renovation of the bar and dining areas, but also with staff training. We've introduced new lower price menus, and lovely sharing plates which have gone down very well. In general, we have received nothing but great feedback, and the place is busier than ever. So it is very disheartening to hear that you were not entirely happy.

I would love an opportunity to invite you again and prove that The George is now a lovely place to visit not only for dinner, but also just to pop in for a coffee, or a beer or glass of wine. Please feel free to call me personally, (I'm Gordon the new owner) and I will gladly offer you both a free drink on the house if you would give us another chance.

Thank you also for letting us know about your experience, I have spoken to our staff and made sure that the problems you encountered will not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

We visit Nunney on a regular basis staying in a private cottage and have on occasion visited the George for a drink and a couple of times for meals . Beforehand, we had felt that the previous owner was overly selective of his clientele and that his opening hours and meal service times were very limited. On one occasion, we were made to feel very awkward when we went in for a meal without booking, although the place was only a 3rd full. Well, things have certainly changed as we discovered when we popped in for a last minute meal a couple of Sundays ago. We were made to feel very welcome by the new owner's sister and nothing was too much trouble although there were only 30 minutes left before they stopped serving, something that would have been unthinkable under the previous regieme. Also glad to hear that the bar was also going to be used as a normal drinking area which is something else that was lacking before. We will certainly have no qualms about becoming regulars when we are on one of our frequent trips. Well Done! Hope it's a success.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardsonnigel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_George_at_Nunny, Owner at The George at Nunney, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Lovely to hear you enjoyed your evening with us, and appreciate the work we're doing on the place to make it a much more relaxing and welcoming place for our guests to come in and eat or just drink! We're working hard to bring the locals back in and it seems to be working, with the place busier than ever! Our service times are being extended, and we will always accommodate guests who want to eat, even if serving times may have finished or are close to being finished.

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate the feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Imagine a picturesque and most stunning little village... seemingly miles from anywhere....the sort you stumble on by accident and that usually appear only in movies .....well this i found a couple of weeks ago ...along with the fantastic George Inn in the village of Nunney. To my surprise this adorable little pub offered an extremely warm welcome along with real ales, draft lagers and a good selection of quality wines...a quick passing through visit turned into lunch from an extensive mouth watering menu of quality foods accompanied by a few more glasses of wine..... so of course you can imagine my relief when booking a room as a last minute decision became no real chore for the staff to oblige. The room was clean and bright and had an ensuite along with a very comfortable bed and you can even take dogs with you if desired as there are a few rooms allocated specifically for dog owners :) .....the pub has views overlooking the castle ruinings and there's a pretty little garden to the back where we sat having afternoon tea and cakes to really de-stress. The restaurant on the night was quite full but comforting with a combination of singles and couples, both old and young and there were even a couple of families with well behaved children too .... so a lovely mixture of people and a very pleasant atmosphere in deed. My stay was finished off nicely the following morning with a full english breakast.... which was totally yummy and a last walk around the castle ruins before finally checking out. I left very happy, very full ....and totally de-stressed and cant wait to go back next month :) :) a quality inn in such an amazing little village ...i guarantee anyone that goes there will revisit time and time again :) as i sure will! Thanks to all the staff and the new owners who were so friendly....keep up the great service...you're doing a lovely job :)

Room Tip: The Trafalgar I believe is one of the best ...but my room was lovely too ....will try for the trafal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDA_rep, Owner at The George at Nunney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

It was lovely to meet you last weekend, and your lovely dog. It really was no problem getting a room for you, as the rooms are always made up just in case someone wants to stay who hasn't booked.

We're so pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and a big thanks for writing such a nice review. When you get a chance maybe you could send us some of those great pictures you took of the village. :)

We all look forward to seeing you both again next month.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I am delighted to hear that this establishment is now under new management and offers a child friendly policy. On my next trip down to Centre Parcs in Longleat, I will bring my wife's Granddad who is now 100yrs old and my 2 year old son. He has visited the George for many years, as would can imagine being 100yrs he has had plenty of opportunity. We look forward to visiting hopefully in late summer.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank LittleL0uie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDA_rep, Owner at The George at Nunney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

That's really good to hear! We really look forward to seeing you and your family in summer, and when you do pop in ask for me (I'm Gordon) it would be lovely to meet grandad and the little one :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

hotel with character, lovely village, good breakfast, all perfect, thank you............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martyna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDA_rep, Owner at The George at Nunney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Thanks very much for writing the review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay Martyna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

what a lovely find! a proper old english pub with proper ales and draught lagers, it was a pleasure to walk into with its gleaming bar and mouth watering menu. Only stayed one night as passing through. the owners were very relaxed and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent evening meal, very comfortable rooms followed by a beautifuly cooked breakfast in the morning. would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beebeefiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDA_rep, Owner at The George at Nunney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Do drop in next time your passing through Somerset!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Z72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nunney
5.8 mi away
Travelodge Beckington
Travelodge Beckington
#2 of 2 in Beckington
210 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
7.7 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
887 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
6.6 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#28 of 32 in Bath
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George at Nunney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George at Nunney

Address: Church Street, Nunney, Frome BA11 4LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome > Nunney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nunney
Price Range: £67 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George at Nunney 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George at Nunney is an 17th century coaching Inn in the village of Nunney, in Somerset. The Inn is a firm favourite with locals, regulars and travelers alike and has established itself with a reputation for fine food, great service and a relaxing ambiance enhanced with open fires and sandstone walls.The bar, lounge and restaurant areas are all recently refurbished with great character, featuring exposed beams and large open fireplaces. The gardens are a haven for those who enjoy drinking or dining 'al fresco'.We have 9 spacious rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms, and tea/coffee making facilities and a hairdryer and Television. A full locally sourced and acclaimed English breakfast is included in the price of our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The George at Nunney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George At Nunney Somerset
Hotel George At Nunney
The George At Nunney Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing