We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pub Average Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George at Nunney
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nunney
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good pub Average Room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed at the George for two nights prior to a visit to Centerparcs, stayed Saturday and Sunday night. Would echo the review of a previous reviewer about the adequate room - must have stayed in the same room by the description. A large room at the back of the premises with a 4 poster type bed, a bathroom which was of a standard expected of an institution or campsite. The room was in need of refurbishment and modernisation. But was acceptable for the price - especially as they allowed us to set up bad mates and sleeping bags for the children in the same room at no extra charge. Evening meal on Saturday was very good and service was excellent. Breakfast in the function room was a bit weird, dark and impersonal with fawlty towers level of service, despite this the food was good. Good beer in the bar and a friendly pub atmosphere

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    150
    38
    26
    13
See reviews for
102
226
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed for one night here, had paid extra to book a four poster room, which we got. Sadly it was not the one in the pictures. We had the top floor attic room at the back. The public areas in The George are decorated in a very modern, boutique style and we found it a shame that we felt the rooms let it down. For the cost of some new bedding, a lick of paint and re-tiling the bathrooms you could have a whole different feel, more in keeping with the rest of the place. The bedroom, although clean, just felt a bit grubby and tired. We were expecting boutique and our room did not live up to that.
Dinner in the restaurant was lovely, we booked in advance and I would highly recommend doing so as even on a random thurs eve the place was packed. The food was great and we were served far quicker than we were anticipating. Staff were very lovely although I didn't at any stage feel they would go out of their way, but neither did they do anything wrong either.
Breakfast. Was a bit of a let down if I am honest. Especially after the lovely meal the night before. The breakfast staff were a bit grumpy, as opposed to the staff the night before and I was surprised breakfast is held in the function room, which is a lot more basic than the restaurant. It did feel like a bit of a conference room, with the style chairs and tables, and that know we had stayed we werent "worthy" of the main beautifully decorated restaurant and have to be bunged in the back room. I felt let down by this a little bit, although the breakfast is fine.
We would stay again if in the area, but would pick a different room this time, perhaps one of the newly renovated ones. The village and setting are gorgeous though.

Room Tip: Go for a newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohidoliketobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were given the four poster room at the front of the hotel. This large room overlooks the stunning moated castle. The ensuite bathroom was clean and well appointed.(no rubber bath mat) Our friends had a room at the back which was also clean and fine but rather small, as were some other rooms that we saw. We found the food to be very good pub grub, not "fine dining" All the staff were pleasant and efficient. A very pretty village with a good Spa shop. We will most certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had booked to stay for 2 nights at the beginning of September, After 5 hours we had added and extra night to our stay! the pub & restaurant area has been done up to a really high standard, we were checked in quickly and shown to our room which had a beautiful view of Nunney castle, a lovely cosy clean room and en suite. We went straight down for a drink in the walled garden which was beautiful. When we came down for dinner we had a drink in the bar first and then were shown to a table when we were ready, Food was absolutely delicious with a nice broad choice of menu and lovely wine and the chips were literally the best chips i have ever eaten!! Breakfast was served in a separate area and again had a good menu choice and was delicious! Our room was cleaned every day and every night the food we were served was absolutely amazing!Could not fault the food or service! The staff were wonderful, particularly Lynette behind the bar and Josh the waiter who looked after us for the majority of our stay and even recommended things for us to do while we were there! When we paid our bill (which included our food bill for the entire stay) on check out we were pleasantly surprised what a bargain it was! very reasonable! We would not hesitate to come back and hope to revisit in August when they have the Nunney Summer Fayre!

Room Tip: Ask for an ensuite room and if you have trouble climbing stairs ask for a room on one of the lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstyfreund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

If you're visiting Nunney Castle, the location cannot be beat, as it is located just across the street. The room was decent. Nothing fancy, but clean and roomy. The Wireless was not working for most of the night and the ladies at the front desk could not have cared less and were so busy helping someone create an online dating profile, that the barely acknowledged their guests. Also, the restaurant was not good and was really overpriced for cold lasagne. Overall, it was an ok visit and there is not really any other options in town, so if we find ourselves in town again, we would probably stay again, but we would skip the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I visited here with my Mum for an evening meal. It's somewhere we had looked at staying and decided to stop by for a meal after a day at Longleat Safari Park.
The front car park overlooks a small river and the castle. And we also had a quick look at the village church. It's such a pretty place.
Dinner service doesn't begin until 6:30 but we were seated at a table straight away and served drinks. The staff were really friendly, helpful, and couldn't do enough for you.
The food itself was fantastic! Not much of a veggie choice for me, so I went with pizza and chips. This was one of the best pizza's I have had in a long time and the chips were huge, crispy, and fluffy.
My Mum picked one of the pie specials (lamb and apricot) and was equally as impressed as I was. We are both lovers of large portions and even we couldn't finish our meals. A bit of a disappointment because we would have loved to have tried their desserts ;)
The pub itself is warm, welcoming, and a mixture of old and new but very stylish and comfortable. There is a seating area outside at the back of the pub, but we didn't venture out as we'd spent most of the day outside in the rain at Longleat.
The food and drinks were both very reasonably priced and did not disappoint.

Do have a look at the castle and church if you happen to visit here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheekychinchilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Me and my partner had arranged to have a little break away and wanted to visit Bath in particular. We found this one on lastminute.com, and despite it being over half an hour outside Bath, the photos of it and menu and pricing appealed to us enough to decide to stay there.

So we stayed there for the first time back in January, and the Service, Location, Value, Cleanliness etc were all sublime, so much so that it encouraged us to come back again this past week.

And I was pleased to see that nothing had really changed since our first trip, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was excellent. The only things we found on this trip that were not satisfactory were the fact that the mattress cover was not changed while we were there and on one day they did not supply us with replacement teabags/sugar/milk for the kettle, but its no biggie really, and is not gonna turn off this wonderful, charming hotel. We definitely would like to come back at some point and would recommend this hotel to anyone and would also recommed that nobody take notice of the negative reviews

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redoran_Verano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nunney
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Frome Hotel
10.0 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
8.7 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Woolpack Inn
The Woolpack Inn
#2 of 2 in Beckington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
2.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#6 of 32 in Frome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George at Nunney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George at Nunney

Property: The George at Nunney
Address: Church Street, Nunney, Frome BA11 4LW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome > Nunney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nunney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George at Nunney 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George at Nunney is an 17th century coaching Inn in the village of Nunney, in Somerset. The Inn is a firm favourite with locals, regulars and travelers alike and has established itself with a reputation for fine food, great service and a relaxing ambiance enhanced with open fires and sandstone walls.The bar, lounge and restaurant areas are all recently refurbished with great character, featuring exposed beams and large open fireplaces. The gardens are a haven for those who enjoy drinking or dining 'al fresco'.We have 9 spacious rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms, and tea/coffee making facilities and a hairdryer and Television. A full locally sourced and acclaimed English breakfast is included in the price of our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George at Nunney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George At Nunney Somerset
Hotel George At Nunney
The George At Nunney Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing