We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left hand, right hand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George at Nunney
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nunney
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Left hand, right hand”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Booked for three nights bed, breakfast and evening meal over the New Year, New Year's Eve had a buffet, New Year's Day found out at last minute that the kitchen would be closed after lunch so had to find alternative, when we got back found the hotel in darkness as they had closed at eight, and nobody had let us or our friends know.
But after saying that the food was very good, the rooms clean and beds very comfortable, the staff were excellent and friendly at all times. Would have rated them five but for the communications problem between management and staff.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BlueroanWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    151
    39
    28
    13
See reviews for
106
231
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The George was recommended to us by our friends when we told them that we wanted to escape from Birmingham after Christmas! What a lovely escape it proved to be...opposite a real castle in the middle of a very pretty village. There was plenty of parking in a walled car park and then it was if we had stepped into the most beautiful space with glowing fires, soft lighting and a genuinely warm welcome. The atmosphere is both classy and relaxing, and you really do feel at home not just because of the comfy sofas but because that's how the staff make you feel. Our bedroom was decorated in the same sort of comfortable contemporary style as the downstairs and with a view of the landscaped walled garden outside, which we sadly weren't able to sit in because the weather was foul! Dinner and breakfast both had varied menus and tasted hand-prepared. We especially liked the mixed fish platter and the baked Brie starters but all the food was lovely. By the end of our stay we had just fallen in love with place and the people! So now we'll be recommending the George at Nunney to everyone ourselves.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We had a three-night stay at the George and enjoyed it very much. The atmosphere is very warm and welcoming; the staff were attentive without being overbearing. Clearly money has been spent on refurbishing the bar and dining area, which is cosy and very attractive. I'm guessing that the bedrooms are due for an update - nevertheless, our four-poster suite was very nice: comfortable and clean and we would book it again. We had a good night's sleep with barely any noise despite being at the front of the property where people exited the pub.

Dinner in the hotel restaurant was very good; both the mains and the vegetables were fresh and well cooked and presented. The menu was reasonably adventurous, although if you were a big eater you might find the portion size a little small. We were well looked-after by staff during our meal.

I was surprised to see a comment elsewhere on this site about the breakfast room being 'unacceptable' - we thought it was a pleasant, sunny place to start the day and much more appropriate for breakfast than the atmospherically-lit restaurant! Breakfast itself was very good, with a cold buffet including fruit, cereal, yoghurt and juice as well as an excellent Full English. The breakfast room was a little understaffed, with items running out and not being immediately replaced, and on one of the three mornings we had to wait rather a long time for breakfast. However, it appeared that everyone had turned up at once, and if you want a freshly-cooked breakfast then you can't have it both ways! I would also like to commend the staff for their helpful, cheerful and polite attitude, which is an achievement when you're rushed off your feet and dealing with customers who may not be at their most cheerful first thing in the morning.

All in all we loved the George and will be returning. I did overhear another customer commenting on the small size of the other guest rooms, although I didn't have a chance to check this out. Nunney is very convenient for attractions such as Bath, Stourhead House and the Haynes Motor Museum, and is in itself a lovely little village to walk around. We visited the Church and the Castle during our stay.

Room Tip: Probably worth paying extra for a suite, although good value generally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherrypie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Had a brilliant 2 night stay at The George.

We were looking for a traditional village pub and The George did not disappoint.

From the moment we arrived it was as if we were family. Nothing was too much trouble, including ensuring that we had the best available room to accommodate our 11year old son as well.

The room was very clean and well presented - comfortable and spacious. An overhead shower rather than the hand held would have made my husband happier - but I found a bath brilliant!

Food? Brilliant - wide choice on the menu, excellently presented, large servings - very happy family. We had thought we'd eat there once and find somewhere maybe in Frome or Bath for the second night - not an option after we had our first meal - all wanted to return. Breakfast is hearty and was included in the room cost with a slight additional charge for our son.

Location wise it is perfect. Short drive to Bath and Stonehenge (our major tourist destinations) - but likewise access to lots more from Nunney. And the village itself is gorgeous.

We found all staff to be responsive but more importantly friendly and prepared to stop and have a chat even though they were really business (Xmas trade and functions). In fact for us responsive, pleasant and knowledgeable staff are what can really make a place and a huge congrats to the staff at The George.

Great place - would return given the chance!

Room Tip: We had a room at he back and although busy with functions, no noise issues at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaye V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have just celebrated my husband's 70th birthday at The George with 38 friends. I dealt with a very pleasant lady, Sharon Farmer, who took care of all the arrangements in a very professional and friendly manner. The lunch time party took place in the function room which looked very inviting especially with the Christmas decorations. The fork buffet could not be faulted, and included delicious salmon and beef. We had booked to stay overnight with a number of our guests and in the evening we enjoyed another superb meal.The following morning the staff had kindly arranged for all twelve of us to sit at a large table for breakfast.
The George was so full that two of our guests were unable to secure a room. However, the staff booked accommodation for them at a nearby guesthouse and arranged for them to breakfast at The George.
Thank you to The George for making the day very special.
Angela McDonald

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Having failed to find a suitable overnight stay for our group of 12 friends wanting a walking weekend, we called in to the George as the last stop before giving up and were delighted to find a warm and welcoming pub with cosy nooks downstairs, a restaurant with room for 12 and 6 rooms available for our proposed weekend in Oct. I asked to view the rooms and was cheerfully taken up and shown several which were just what I had hoped for. Booked the rooms, no deposit needed. Rang to confirm and to ask for a dog friendly room and a specific table in the restaurant - all of which was arranged. I wont go into lots of detail except to say we had a great weekend. Rooms were comfortable, clean and well equipped. Hairdrier, tea and biscuits, heater and hot shower. Food was excellent and no preorder asked despite our large number. Breakfast in the rear room was also very good - well done to the young lad who ran around coping with us. Thank you to the lady member of staff who suggested we visit the WWII exhibition in the church after the castle. It was excellent. By the way, we thoroughly enjoyed our circular walk from the Compton Inn at Compton Dando 11 km and a good lunch. Also excellent lunch at the Bath Arms nr Longleat but boo hiss to the Longleat Estate for not allowing us to even walk down their drive to access a circular walk to Heaven's Gate.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

booked for an evening meal and it was fabulous - wide choice on the menu, very well cooked and presented. The staff were very friendly and we will definitely go back another time. The cheeseboard was fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaileyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nunney
8.7 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
661 reviews
7.5 mi away
Travelodge Beckington
Travelodge Beckington
#1 of 2 in Beckington
170 reviews
7.7 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
10.0 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
842 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Woolpack Inn
The Woolpack Inn
#2 of 2 in Beckington
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George at Nunney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George at Nunney

Property: The George at Nunney
Address: Church Street, Nunney, Frome BA11 4LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome > Nunney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nunney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George at Nunney 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George at Nunney is an 17th century coaching Inn in the village of Nunney, in Somerset. The Inn is a firm favourite with locals, regulars and travelers alike and has established itself with a reputation for fine food, great service and a relaxing ambiance enhanced with open fires and sandstone walls.The bar, lounge and restaurant areas are all recently refurbished with great character, featuring exposed beams and large open fireplaces. The gardens are a haven for those who enjoy drinking or dining 'al fresco'.We have 9 spacious rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms, and tea/coffee making facilities and a hairdryer and Television. A full locally sourced and acclaimed English breakfast is included in the price of our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The George at Nunney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George At Nunney Somerset
Hotel George At Nunney
The George At Nunney Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing