We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George at Nunney
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nunney
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I booked a room at The George as I was visiting my sister who lives nearby. My aunt and uncle were also staying in the hotel. I think there must have been a deal on that weekend as our room rates were incredibly reasonable. My fiance and I were in the Castle suite which was amazing! The only slight niggles were the fact that the clock in the room didn't work and the windows were painted over so couldn't be opened. However, the staff were all fantastic. My aunt and I stayed up late for some drinks and a gossip and all of the staff were really lovely. Breakfast the next morning was great, too. We'll definitely stay again when we visit my sister and will recommend it, too. Having read through other reviews, my only slight concern is the willingness of the owner to offer free meals, rooms, bottles of wine and drinks to the bad reviews. Sometimes it's nice to be rewarded for saying something nice, too!

Room Tip: The Castle Suite is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank em17ily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

Staff were great, made me feel relaxed as soon as I came through the door.my room was at the very top which was very quiet...just what I wanted.room and bathroom were spotless.freeview and dvd in room..plus a little selection of films on a shelf on the landing which was a nice touch . restaurant was nice and didnt have to wait too long for food either. All this plus easy free parking..would definitely return here in future.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Just returned from a two day break at this hotel and it was gorgeous! We had the castle suite and were so very pleased with it. The room itself was full of character and the beautiful four poster bed was a touch of luxury. We dined at the hotel the first night and were so impressed with the food we decided to scrap our plans to eat elsewhere for the second night. The meals were generous in size and was without doubt the best pub food we've ever had (we eat out alot!). Breakfast was plentiful and lovely and the staff were friendly and accommodating! Couldn't have had a better stay! Thank you so much to the Hotel and it's worth mentioning that the residents believe the food is the best in the area!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I decided to pop out for dinner on Valentine's evening and just happened to stumble across the george at nunney; luckily they had 1 table for 2 left. The staff couldn't have been any more accommodating, the food was out of this world, so tasty and full of flavour. The overall feel and atmosphere of The George was cosy, warming and classy. A definite number one for future date nights with the other half. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDA_rep, Owner at The George at Nunney, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you Sarah for your review. I am really pleased you had a nice evening with us, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We booked this property because of the rave reviews on Trip Advisor. We were at a wedding in Frome so only used the George for bed and breakfast.
We were received by a friendly lady who showed us to our room. Although the radiators were full on, the room was never really warm, largely because the window was not double glazed and did not fit absolutely, and it was a wild and windy night.
The room was not large and somehow not very warm and inviting. It was, in truth, a bit spartan. Apart from a good king-size bed and a large-screen television there was minimum, low quality furniture. It all needed softening.
Breakfast was extremely good, served by the same friendly lady who had checked us in and, in truth, it was that lady and the excellent breakfast that redeemed the place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cavan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were recommended this hotel by Sue who wrote a review below. It was indeed a terrific place to stay and we will recommend the George to our friends and family.
The only slight niggle was that the bedroom window could not be opened as they had been painted over.

Room Tip: The Castle suite was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank futster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stumbled across this pub having stopped off to take some photos of the castle. The George is beautifully decorated and staff were welcoming. After seeing the food come out for others we had to try some and it was delicious. Will definitely make the trip back just for this pub.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Somerset321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nunney
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
10 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
903 reviews
10.4 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Travelodge Beckington
Travelodge Beckington
#1 of 2 in Beckington
224 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
10.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George at Nunney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George at Nunney

Address: Church Street, Nunney, Frome BA11 4LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome > Nunney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nunney
Price Range: £68 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George at Nunney 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George at Nunney is an 17th century coaching Inn in the village of Nunney, in Somerset. The Inn is a firm favourite with locals, regulars and travelers alike and has established itself with a reputation for fine food, great service and a relaxing ambiance enhanced with open fires and sandstone walls.The bar, lounge and restaurant areas are all recently refurbished with great character, featuring exposed beams and large open fireplaces. The gardens are a haven for those who enjoy drinking or dining 'al fresco'.We have 9 spacious rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms, and tea/coffee making facilities and a hairdryer and Television. A full locally sourced and acclaimed English breakfast is included in the price of our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George at Nunney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George At Nunney Somerset
Hotel George At Nunney
The George At Nunney Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing