We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gordons got it right!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George at Nunney
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nunney
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gordons got it right!”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Its taken a while and, I am sure, lots of learning curves for the present landlord to get it right, but he has! Its now a stylish and welcoming inn (in a interesting and pretty village). The food is very good now, tasty and interesting!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrunoMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    157
    42
    28
    15
See reviews for
109
238
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night in the castle suite, what a lovely room. Spacious, clean + lovely four poster. Big cleam bathroom with space to do your make up. We had dinner in the bar which was very good, a good choice + the best chips ive ever had! Breakfast was excellent, good choice of cold + a huge cooked meal. Staff were lovely + helpful, in all cant fault it + would certainly go back

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I booked a room at The George as I was visiting my sister who lives nearby. My aunt and uncle were also staying in the hotel. I think there must have been a deal on that weekend as our room rates were incredibly reasonable. My fiance and I were in the Castle suite which was amazing! The only slight niggles were the fact that the clock in the room didn't work and the windows were painted over so couldn't be opened. However, the staff were all fantastic. My aunt and I stayed up late for some drinks and a gossip and all of the staff were really lovely. Breakfast the next morning was great, too. We'll definitely stay again when we visit my sister and will recommend it, too. Having read through other reviews, my only slight concern is the willingness of the owner to offer free meals, rooms, bottles of wine and drinks to the bad reviews. Sometimes it's nice to be rewarded for saying something nice, too!

Room Tip: The Castle Suite is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank em17ily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Staff were great, made me feel relaxed as soon as I came through the door.my room was at the very top which was very quiet...just what I wanted.room and bathroom were spotless.freeview and dvd in room..plus a little selection of films on a shelf on the landing which was a nice touch . restaurant was nice and didnt have to wait too long for food either. All this plus easy free parking..would definitely return here in future.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a two day break at this hotel and it was gorgeous! We had the castle suite and were so very pleased with it. The room itself was full of character and the beautiful four poster bed was a touch of luxury. We dined at the hotel the first night and were so impressed with the food we decided to scrap our plans to eat elsewhere for the second night. The meals were generous in size and was without doubt the best pub food we've ever had (we eat out alot!). Breakfast was plentiful and lovely and the staff were friendly and accommodating! Couldn't have had a better stay! Thank you so much to the Hotel and it's worth mentioning that the residents believe the food is the best in the area!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I decided to pop out for dinner on Valentine's evening and just happened to stumble across the george at nunney; luckily they had 1 table for 2 left. The staff couldn't have been any more accommodating, the food was out of this world, so tasty and full of flavour. The overall feel and atmosphere of The George was cosy, warming and classy. A definite number one for future date nights with the other half. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDA_rep, Owner at The George at Nunney, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you Sarah for your review. I am really pleased you had a nice evening with us, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford UK
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We booked this property because of the rave reviews on Trip Advisor. We were at a wedding in Frome so only used the George for bed and breakfast.
We were received by a friendly lady who showed us to our room. Although the radiators were full on, the room was never really warm, largely because the window was not double glazed and did not fit absolutely, and it was a wild and windy night.
The room was not large and somehow not very warm and inviting. It was, in truth, a bit spartan. Apart from a good king-size bed and a large-screen television there was minimum, low quality furniture. It all needed softening.
Breakfast was extremely good, served by the same friendly lady who had checked us in and, in truth, it was that lady and the excellent breakfast that redeemed the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cavan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nunney
8.7 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
669 reviews
7.7 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
576 reviews
7.5 mi away
Travelodge Beckington
Travelodge Beckington
#1 of 2 in Beckington
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
10.0 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
854 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Woolpack Inn
The Woolpack Inn
#2 of 2 in Beckington
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George at Nunney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George at Nunney

Property: The George at Nunney
Address: Church Street, Nunney, Frome BA11 4LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome > Nunney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nunney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George at Nunney 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George at Nunney is an 17th century coaching Inn in the village of Nunney, in Somerset. The Inn is a firm favourite with locals, regulars and travelers alike and has established itself with a reputation for fine food, great service and a relaxing ambiance enhanced with open fires and sandstone walls.The bar, lounge and restaurant areas are all recently refurbished with great character, featuring exposed beams and large open fireplaces. The gardens are a haven for those who enjoy drinking or dining 'al fresco'.We have 9 spacious rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms, and tea/coffee making facilities and a hairdryer and Television. A full locally sourced and acclaimed English breakfast is included in the price of our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George at Nunney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George At Nunney Somerset
Hotel George At Nunney
The George At Nunney Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing