We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George at Nunney
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nunney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at a local B&B and were told this is the place to come for an evening meal, thank goodness they also warned us of the portion sizes. It was so good we booked for the following three nights! The food, service and decor were fantastic.
Don't go if you want a three course meal because chances are you'll only manage two!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    151
    39
    27
    13
See reviews for
105
229
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here at the end of July while doing trips to
Longleat and Cheddar Gorge (perfectly placed for both). We stayed for one night, and we were very impressed with this lovely little Inn. It is absolutely gorgeous inside, with modern refurbishments mingled into a classic character property. It looked and felt more expensive than it was. Our room was lovely, and it was spotless, couldn't fault it at all. Everything worked perfectly and even had a decent fan in the room for when it was hot at night.
We had dinner there, and enjoyed our baked Camembert and the buy one get one free offer for pizza (on Sundays). The service was a bit slow but we noticed it was quite busy and they appeared to be under staffed, but they were all very polite and efficient. I had been suffering from a headache all day and one of the waitresses actually asked round for some painkillers for me which was a lifesaver!
After a lovely nights sleep, breakfast was delightful. We very much enjoyed our stay here and would definitely come back if we come to the area again.

The village itself won an award for prettiest village a few years ago, and is worth a little walk around. There is an impressive looking mini castle across the road from the inn with a moat, which is worth looking at.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

There has obviously been a lot of money spent on a re-furb, not necessarily by someone with a love or understanding of pubs! On the up-side it was spotless, the staff were excellent and the drinks in good condition; on the down, it feels and looks like a chain hotel...and the prices are steep.

The style is out of keeping with the building, but I imagine some like it...but the garden, which should be lovely, was spoilt by the incessant piped music echoing around the greenery.

A bit too much Wetherspoons, not enough taste and style.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MickieBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_George_at_Nunny, Owner at The George at Nunney, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The George at Nunney. Obviously we are disappointed you didn't like the new look of The George, and of course it is, as you say down to taste. However since completing the renovation we have had nothing but compliments of the new look.

We understand certain customers prefer the traditional 'pub' look of wooden chairs, mahogany tables, patterned carpets and centrally placed bright lighting. However we were determined to make the George stand out, so we went with the popular contemporary look of ambient directional lighting, oak tables, wicker and leather chairs and solid oak flooring which works well with the stone and original features of the George.

Gladly it has worked for us, and we are proud to be one of the busiest pub restaurants in the area.

A quick peak at our website hopefully demonstrates we are no weatherspoons, we only buy locally sourced produce, and cook home cooked food which we serve in a style which the majority of our customers enjoy.

We'd be pleased to recommend a traditional pub to you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Set in the Beautiful village of Nunney a proper old fashioned Pub. The staff are friendly and helpful. We came as a party of 7 and the food was amazing and service very good highly recommend. Lovely Garden to sit in on a summers evening too!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMD805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A lovely quiet 17th Century coaching Inn, at Nunney at Frome, never heard of before, but discovered down a typical country lane. Complete with an excellent active local church and a Medieval castle, complete with moat. perfect for a quiet relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We recently stayed here and used the George as our base to visit surrounding areas, we were lucky that the weather was lovely and it was a pleasure after a day out to come back and chill in the beer garden, the place is very well looked after and all the staff from the lady in charge to the cleaner was lovely. A little bit of attention is required here and there but that is me being unbelievably picky, I have stayed in a five star and not had a better experience, the food was lovely and to view a castle out your bedroom window and listen to a stream flowing is just a dream. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone and I just can't speak highly enough of the place, you won't want to leave.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rotty300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here 19th July 2014, was fantastic in every way you can't fault the place and was good price all round . Enjoyed every minute. Would recommend this place to stay and will be going back. Well done to all the staff all staff very helpfully and polite .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nunney
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Frome Hotel
10.0 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
8.7 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Woolpack Inn
The Woolpack Inn
#2 of 2 in Beckington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#6 of 32 in Frome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George at Nunney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George at Nunney

Property: The George at Nunney
Address: Church Street, Nunney, Frome BA11 4LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome > Nunney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nunney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George at Nunney 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George at Nunney is an 17th century coaching Inn in the village of Nunney, in Somerset. The Inn is a firm favourite with locals, regulars and travelers alike and has established itself with a reputation for fine food, great service and a relaxing ambiance enhanced with open fires and sandstone walls.The bar, lounge and restaurant areas are all recently refurbished with great character, featuring exposed beams and large open fireplaces. The gardens are a haven for those who enjoy drinking or dining 'al fresco'.We have 9 spacious rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms, and tea/coffee making facilities and a hairdryer and Television. A full locally sourced and acclaimed English breakfast is included in the price of our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George at Nunney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George At Nunney Somerset
Hotel George At Nunney
The George At Nunney Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing