We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George at Nunney
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (523)
Filter reviews
523 results
Traveller rating
256
168
46
31
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
256
168
46
31
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubnunney castlefor sunday lunchcastle suitemy partnerribslovely little villagebeer gardenevening mealfunction roomsteakold buildingpiepretty villagewalled gardenfood was lovelypudding
Filter
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 523 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed at a local B&B and were told this is the place to come for an evening meal, thank goodness they also warned us of the portion sizes. It was so good we booked for the following three nights! The food, service and decor were fantastic.
Don't go if you want a three course meal because chances are you'll only manage two!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My partner and I stayed here at the end of July while doing trips to
Longleat and Cheddar Gorge (perfectly placed for both). We stayed for one night, and we were very impressed with this lovely little Inn. It is absolutely gorgeous inside, with modern refurbishments mingled into a classic character property. It looked and felt more expensive than it was. Our room was lovely, and it was spotless, couldn't fault it at all. Everything worked perfectly and even had a decent fan in the room for when it was hot at night.
We had dinner there, and enjoyed our baked Camembert and the buy one get one free offer for pizza (on Sundays). The service was a bit slow but we noticed it was quite busy and they appeared to be under staffed, but they were all very polite and efficient. I had been suffering from a headache all day and one of the waitresses actually asked round for some painkillers for me which was a lifesaver!
After a lovely nights sleep, breakfast was delightful. We very much enjoyed our stay here and would definitely come back if we come to the area again.

The village itself won an award for prettiest village a few years ago, and is worth a little walk around. There is an impressive looking mini castle across the road from the inn with a moat, which is worth looking at.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicolab2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

There has obviously been a lot of money spent on a re-furb, not necessarily by someone with a love or understanding of pubs! On the up-side it was spotless, the staff were excellent and the drinks in good condition; on the down, it feels and looks like a chain hotel...and the prices are steep.

The style is out of keeping with the building, but I imagine some like it...but the garden, which should be lovely, was spoilt by the incessant piped music echoing around the greenery.

A bit too much Wetherspoons, not enough taste and style.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MickieBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_George_at_Nunny, Owner at The George at Nunney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review The George at Nunney. Obviously we are disappointed you didn't like the new look of The George, and of course it is, as you say down to taste. However since completing the renovation we have had nothing but compliments of the new look.

We understand certain customers prefer the traditional 'pub' look of wooden chairs, mahogany tables, patterned carpets and centrally placed bright lighting. However we were determined to make the George stand out, so we went with the popular contemporary look of ambient directional lighting, oak tables, wicker and leather chairs and solid oak flooring which works well with the stone and original features of the George.

Gladly it has worked for us, and we are proud to be one of the busiest pub restaurants in the area.

A quick peak at our website hopefully demonstrates we are no weatherspoons, we only buy locally sourced produce, and cook home cooked food which we serve in a style which the majority of our customers enjoy.

We'd be pleased to recommend a traditional pub to you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Set in the Beautiful village of Nunney a proper old fashioned Pub. The staff are friendly and helpful. We came as a party of 7 and the food was amazing and service very good highly recommend. Lovely Garden to sit in on a summers evening too!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMD805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A lovely quiet 17th Century coaching Inn, at Nunney at Frome, never heard of before, but discovered down a typical country lane. Complete with an excellent active local church and a Medieval castle, complete with moat. perfect for a quiet relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews