We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful retreat”
Private swimming pool overlooking coastal area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private swimming pool overlooking coastal area.
Fitted kitchen Main Bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Private swimming pool overlooking coastal area.
Fitted kitchen
Main Bathroom
Main bedroom with patio doors to terrace
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
En-suite wet room for bedroom 3
En-suite wet room for bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4
En-suite wet room for bedroom 4
En-suite wet room for bedroom 4
Entrance hall
Dining Room with views across the Mediterranean
Dining Room
Living Room
Dine in the welcome shade of the terrace
Casa Mari, THE  village restaurant.
Private pool
The amazing views at night
One of the winding streets of the pretty, Lost Village
The breathtaking views of the Natural Parque
The amazing view of the Mediterranean
The villa is set in the Andalucian hills
Sunset over Malaga  and Gibraltar
Take a drive into the mountains above Almunecar
For those interested in the wildlife, Eagles are frequent vistors.
Visit the fantastic cave system in nearby Nerja
The Village Square
The village of Sayalonga
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Sayalonga, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Barbara L
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Just back from a fabulous week in Sayalonga, staying in Casa Gardo, a hillside villa with stunning views over the coastline and surrounding areas, what a great find this villa was, spotlessly clean, everything you would need and included a great welcome pack along with a good sized pool.
Rita and Charlie are so friendly and very knowledgeable about the surrounding area, they made us feel very welcome and it was almost like we had known them for years.
Would strongly recommend this villa if you want a peaceful, relaxing away from it all break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great peaceful retreat with good pool
Liked least: The road up to the villa
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessB...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulously Relaxing”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My husband and I stayed at Casa Gardo from the 6th to 13th of October. It was the first time I had stayed in a villa but I am happy to say it will not be the last. The managers of the villa, Rita and Charlie, made everything from the initial contact to discuss availability to booking the villa and enjoying a fabulous holiday effortless. We met Rita and Charlie in the village of Sayalonga, which is very friendly and very Spanish, and they then showed us to the villa. On arrival Rita explained where everything you could possibly need could be found, we were welcomed with goodies such as eggs, bacon, bread, beer, wine, bottled water, tea, coffee, butter, fruit juice and even loo rolls!! So do be assured if you do arrive here late you will have everything needed to start your holiday. The villa itself is amazing, both my husband and I agreed the photos did not do it justice. The pool is a real treat with views right the way down to the costa. The villa is a fantastic size and really felt like home. The only thing stopping me from awarding all five stars would be the size of the bed in the master bedroom. At home we have a superking sized bed so did find a double a little small and slightly uncomfortable for a week. However, this is an issue which could easily be rectified as the master bedroom is a fantastic size and would easily accommodate a larger bed. Overall we had a fantastic holiday and would love to return if a larger bed was made available. I would recommend to anyone looking for peace and quiet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the peace and quiet.
Liked least: The small double bed.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George M
Ringwood, United Kingdom
1 review
“superb”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My partner and I stayed at the villa Casa Gardo in Sayalonga for the first two weeks of July 2015.
It was one of the best holidays we have ever had.
The villa and the location were very accurately described.
We were met in the village of Saylonga by Charlie & Rita the managers of the property who led us to the Villa.
Charlie & Rita are both very friendly and helpful and live close to Casa Gardo.
We phoned them twice during our stay because we could not work appliances and both times they where with us within 10 minutes.
The Villa although not a new property was spotlessly clean as was all the linen and everything was in good working order.
The welcome pack that Rita left was exceptional and the added bonus when you opened the cupboards and drawers and found all the hidden extras including a needle and cotton.
The view to the coast is breathtaking and likewise at night the lights on the coastline are spectacular.
The area is very peaceful and good for a quiet relaxing break; the only noise is the odd car going along the track.
The Road/track from Saylonga to the villa is interesting and spectacular although experienced drivers will have no problem I would not recommend someone with L plates driving along it.
Overall we would recommend Casa Gardo for a good quiet relaxing and value for money holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevtheRe...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous villa”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We found this villa on the holdaylettings web site after they made a mess of our original booking. What a find! We were met by Rita and Charlie who we followed to the villa. A car is essential as the property is some 3Km up a narrow mountain track. The villa was bright roomy and spotlessly clean. The views are amazing, even at night. The pool was clean and large enough to swim a few lengths in. The outside table and chairs were good for al fresco dining. The villa was one of the best equipped we have stayed in. Books, videos etc. The kitchen had all the utensils you could wish for. There was a box of pool toys and inflatables however most of these were sadly broken or punctured. This was the only minor complaint. Sorry Charlie I forgot to mention this when we left. This would not stop me recommending this lovely villa. Rita and Charlie are wonderful people and would do anything to ensure you have a great holiday. Sayalonga is a small Spanish town with 3 restaurants all are good with reasonable prices. There is a German run restaurant within walking distance of the villa. It is a bit pricey but the quality is first class.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thank you Trevor & Joan, it was lovely to meet you both. we are just Glad to be able to help you out at such short notice.
No need to apologise Trevor , No one ever tells us :) Nothing like that lasts very long over here in the sun and they are usually pretty flimsy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hernonfam...
1 review
“Tranquil & relaxing with the most amazing views”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our stay at casa gardo was fantastic from beginning to end. Rita and Charlie met us in sayalonga and took us up to the villa. The villa was spotless and had everything you could possibly need. All bedding and towels were provided. Waking up to that view every morning was amazing. The pool was fantastic and there was even a box full of inflatables and toys. There were books, magazines and games which we used throughout the holiday. There were lots of DVDs to watch too. The restaurants in the village were great, both very reasonable prices. There are a few villas around but none that over look you so it is very private. It was extremely hot and we were worried about no air conditioning but the ceiling and stand fans worked very
well. We loved this villa and would highly recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S
1 review
“Idyllic seclusion with glorious views”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were looking for an inexpensive holiday to Spain, having been many times we knew the coast reasonably well. So this villa was something of a gamble, being slightly inland and into the hills, booked directly[with Rita] and a far cry from the usual faceless commercial booking.
We flew into Malaga, picked a car up and trundled eastwards along the motorway, taking the turning for Algarobbo and heading up the mountain to Sayalonga. It’s 8 kilometres up a very scenic and winding road to Sayalonga, a sleepy whitewashed village in the hills, where we met Rita and Charles to be shown the way. It’s a further 3 kilometres to the villa along some basic and even more winding and more scenic tracks. I know it’s 3 km as I ran down to the village for bread each morning - a great workout before cooling off on the pool.
The villa was a pleasant surprise - with a stunning aspect the view was breathtaking every time you step out of the door and plunge into the pool. We were there in August and it was hot. The girls leapt straight into the pool and remained there most of the week.
The villa was clean and reasonably equipped for anything we wanted to cook up - Rita’s welcome pack was a nice touch as we arrived quite late.
It’s off the beaten track and quite secluded and private which was lovely. But it’s not far from Nerja, the caves and the Aquavelis waterpark which was fun, so if you want to join the masses they’re less than half an hour away!
We had a great time - thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, the view, the location.
Liked least: No internet but we didn't care in the end.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsRuthie1...
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing villa”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a great holiday in July at Casa Gardo.

A very nice villa which is spacious, clean and tidy with a lovely big modern bathroom, it also has a great outdoor area with pool perfect for relaxing in the sunshine and the views are amazing (just like the photographs).

We were met by Rita and Charlie, top people, they showed us the way, which is a bit of a twisty drive up a narrow lane but after we'd done it once we found it great fun. Rita and Charlie were friendly and helpful, explaining everything in detail and giving us some good tips and advise for eating out in the area. It was a great comfort to know they were close by if we needed assistance.

All in all a fantastic holiday, we would be happy to recommend Casa Gardo and hope to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness of the villa and the privacy
Liked least: Disliked nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing