We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Dining Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaibo - Upstairs Restaurant

Kaibo - Upstairs Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in North Side
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$47
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Upstairs at Kaibo is renowned for Chef Laurence’s consistently excellent Michelin star standard and modern European techniques, using local and Caribbean ingredients, to create a masterpiece of a menu. The scenic view overlooking the tranquil North Sound is delightful, and the Rare Rum Lounge is decadently relaxed.
Pine Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The owners and staff are lovely people. The setting and view are worth the trip alone. The food is well prepared with unique twists throughout. My 11 year old son who hates vegetables thought the zucchini soup was the best thing he'd ever eaten. I had the gnocchi's...we live in NJ and eat a lot of Italian food. These were the best gnocchi's I've ever eaten.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank BlendOnMain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    40
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome views with great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This restaurant serves great food accompanied with awesome views! My family & I all chose the tasting menu and enjoyed it from appetizer to dessert. As many reviewers noted, the grouper was excellent! Thank you to the Kaibo staff for a memorable dining experience :o)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
241 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“best of North Shore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We enjoyed the atmosphere and excellent tasting menu here - the grouper dish was superb. The outdoor dining overlooking the harbor was most pleasant. The service was attentive and prompt.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Incredible Meals!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband and I dined at Kaibo Upstairs twice during our one week visit to GC in March. We thought we should give the restaurant a try because we were staying at a beach house close by and after the first meal, we had to go back. Both nights we ordered the "Seafood" entrée. “Seafood” was a dish of scallops, shrimp and various types of fish in a red curry broth and it was delicious. The broth had a ton of flavor and the perfect amount of heat. I'm still thinking about the meal! We also enjoyed the "porthole" cocktail which was a pina colada, refreshing and a unique way to infuse and serve a drink. You have to ask the staff about it! If you're in the area you have to try Kaibo upstairs.

In the interest of full disclosure, I had the Grouper on the second night and it was too salty for my taste. Good thing my husband ordered the Seafood and was willing to share!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Everyone in unison: best meal we ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Had the best dining experience at this restaurant. My sister who doesn't like fish ordered the grouper (recommendation by the owner) and said that it was amazing.Staff was very friendly and were great at having conversation with us. My dad and husband had a wonderful time ordering the Smoking Gun drink which was entertaining (watching the preparation) and delicious. We also got their version of a pina colada in a porthole which was also delicious and refreshing. Every meal we ordered was divine....you can't go wrong. My dad exclaimed after dinner that this was the best meal he has ever had in his entire life. The atmosphere and music was like being in a dream. It was an amazing dining experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daaxho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaibo - Upstairs Restaurant also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
Gun Bay, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Kaibo - Upstairs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing