We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Retreat at Rum Point
Nearby Hotels
US$398
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$366
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Caymanian Vacations(Grand Cayman)(Great Value!)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Suites Resort(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$342
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$482
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$440
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman(Seven Mile Beach)
US$876
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$745
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa(Seven Mile Beach)
US$595
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$574
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$424
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sea Palm Villas(Bodden Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
74
9
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
9
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswreck barright next doorsting ray cityrum pointred sail sportsgrand caymangreat snorkelingseven mile beachthe kitchendive shopwater sportscomforts of homeexploring the islandfew stepsglass bottom boatliving roombeautiful condo
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We selected the Retreat because of its location "away from it all", and were very pleased. Our condo was well appointed with everything we could have asked for. Even with the tropical depression rolling through, we spent many enjoyable hours on the beach. With 4 young children we were looking for a place where we didn't have to be in the water with them at every second, and the shallow, clean waters off Rum Point were just what we were looking for. The only downside was the sea grass that was washed up on the beach (not sure if that was more than normal due to the storm), however it was raked up on our last day there. The staff was helpful whenever we needed them; they even arranged a babysitter for us one night. Red Sail offers trips out to Sting Ray City from next door, and even when they were busy, our beach was not. Overall, we loved our stay northside...just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toshiagb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We just got back from a week at the Retreat at Rum Point. It was perfect, and exceeded expectations. The pictures on the web made me think that we were "sacrificing" on accomodations, but we selected Retreat for it's location. Turns out, we did not sacrifice anything - the unit (3BR oceanfront) was beautifully furnished in stylish decor, nice patio furniture, more kitchen utensils and applicances than you could use, and well equipped with everything we needed. Ipod speakers; wireless; nice beach towels; games; books; and lots more. Perfect location - yes, Rum Point club gets busy when the cruise ships drop off, but just go get food and a drink when you see a couple tenders dropping off (before they have time to come down the long dock). That way you won't have to wait! And you can always stay on the Retreat beach, it is sectioned off from Rum Point Club, and there was never more than 6 or 8 people on that portion of the beach. We like low-key vacations, and tend to go out for dinner and then hang at the house to play games and have a few drinks, so we didn't miss SMB at all. We went there one day, and one day was plenty.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WNYsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

Our family of 5 includes 2 older teen daughters & a tween daughter of 11. Finding a place that pleases all members of the family is always a challenge! "The Retreat" got 5 thumbs up from us! We rented unit #33 on VRBO.com & were pleasantly surprised that the property & area were far better than the pictures & descriptions given....not that they were bad, just that the real thing was so much better! We had a 3rd floor ocean front unit, the view could not have gotten any better & I'm still in shock at how reasonably priced it was for that view alone! If you don't like stairs, I would search for a ground floor unit but our family is active & didn't mind the exercise. Upon arrival, Thelda, who helps run the condos, showed us the way & let us know that there were shopping carts on hand that could be used to help transport groceries & such from the parking area to the base of the stairs near our unit. She also quickly had the maintenance staff roll over a BBQ towards our unit for the week. Every member of the management team was extremely friendly & helpful to any questions we had.

One of the best features of this slice of paradise is that "The Retreat" has it's own private stretch of beach where you can bring your own food & drinks down to from your condo. it literally is steps & a few trees away from the "Rum Point" beach club, which we loved but you couldn't bring your own drinks & food to...so we had the best of both worlds because we could still walk less than 50 yards to that side & mingle with more tourists or go play in the water there but could eat to our hearts content on our own side without always having to buy their food! Also, we never had to worry about the availability of lounge chairs on this side of the beach!

Our unit was upgraded, designer paint colors, luxe bedroom furnishings, family friendly living room furniture, well equipped kitchen & better yet, the closet was filled with sand toys, snorkel gear, tennis gear, puzzles, DVD's, games, plastic beach friendly dishes, ice chests, & even large plush beach towels! you name it we had it!

We did not feel isolated here, had a rental car & spent plenty of time exploring the island but were always happy to return to the "small town feel" of the Cayman Kai area & The Retreat.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tclearyn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

We spent two weeks here and can't wait to go back next year. You must snorkel with the sting rays. Fantastec reef snorkling trips too. We were there with our daughter, son-in-law and the 3 yr. old grandbaby. Everyone loved it. You do need a car though if you want to do some sightseeing and shopping. Grocery store is a 40 minute trip one way but it's worth it !

Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
Thank the-velvet-elvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

we came all the way from WA state for a friend's wedding. This was the best vacation EVER and the retreat was perfect in more ways than we can describe..

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews