We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding venue adventure”
Review of Lord Milner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lord Milner Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matjiesfontein
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Wedding venue adventure”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

An oasis in the middle of the Karoo. You make this town your own. It once had a bank, jail, and post office, all of which have been preserved. Fantastic gardens and cool private museums. The locals are all very friendly and very hospitable in their unique Western Cape way. The 15min "shortest tour in South Africa," is a must, the guide, I forget his name, sets a humorous and epic Kaapie tone for Maaitjiefontein. Fantastic spot and definitely worth the stop!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Roy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatjiesfonteinGM, General Manager at Lord Milner Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review.

I am delighted you had an amazing experience at the Lord Milner Hotel in Matjiesfontein, with its wonderful history and people.

We hope that you will return to our magnificent town again soon and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Lord Milner Hotel.

Kind Regards
Johan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    190
    57
    20
    11
See reviews for
97
227
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Lord Milner is one of a kind. An outpost of the British Empire but with a sense of humour that saves it from being a pastiche. We stayed in the Olive Schreiner Cottage, so can't speak to the rooms in the hotel itself. However the cottage is quaint and charming and the association with the great South African novelist was very exciting. Do find the tucked-away swimming pool which we had to ourselves. It's reached through a dried up river bed and by a series of slightly overgrown gardens and deep, mysterious ornamental pools. Take the marvellous bus tour - "the shortest in the world" - narrated by the wonderfully eccentric old retainer. I'm sure his anecdotes are 50% invented and the jokes never change but, along with his sing alongs in the atmospheric bar, are great fun. The food was also a bit of a throw back but tasty enough with a decent wine menu. We witnessed the arrival of the Blue Train for which the entirety of the tiny settlement turns out, including impromptu children's choir and little band. This was an unexpectedly fun part of out trip which we wouldn't have missed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marken2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatjiesfonteinGM, General Manager at Lord Milner Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is very good to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of our property, especially our amazing pool dating back to the early 1900’s and witnessing the arrival of the Blue Train, including the “impromptu” children's choir and little band.

We appreciate the feedback regarding the food and I am happy to report that we have taken your feedback to heart and believe living in a unique area like the Karoo, to serve local traditional cuisine with a modern influence and am very proud of it.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Johan Dippenaar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Beautiful and charming hotel with well appointed rooms. Johnny doubles as barman, tour guide and entertainer and he makes a stay over in this hotel absolutely captivating. Food is served in the age old British tradition, but it is typically South African fare.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the hotel itself and not in the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuroraGirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatjiesfonteinGM, General Manager at Lord Milner Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you indeed for your positive comments and I am delighted that the team took care of you so well.

We live in an idyllic setting and can’t wait to welcome you back to it for a bit more typically South African Old World Charm
Kind Regards,
Johan Dippenaar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Louise, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Just recently spent a 2 night stay at The Lord Milner and was more than delighted. The village is very quaint and feels as though you are stepping back in time.

The hotel was wonderful but, certainly a little dated. They are doing renovations.

The food and service were superb and I normally find service in South Africa to be horrific. My friend was a vegetarian and they arranged a delicious mushroom risotto for him.

Cindy on the front desk was wonderful, very friendly. Johan, the hotel manager was very nice and chatted to us for a while. He even escorted us to the train station on our departure to say good bye. He has done great things in this hotel in regards to training and service standards.

Linda and Maria our servers were very efficient but, shy.

We both has a fantastic stay and will be back again in October.

Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatjiesfonteinGM, General Manager at Lord Milner Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
So wonderful that you enjoyed your 2 night stay with us, and thank you for the wonderful feedback.

We are looking forward welcoming you back in October to see all the ongoing changes, renovations and improvements.

Kind Regards,
Johan Dippenaar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Enjoyable, comfortable stay in a hotel reminiscent of older times - beautiful woodwork with high ceilings and a large visitors book to sign upon check in.

Very comfortable rooms (we stayed in the motel section) as could be expected from a 3 star hotel.

Dinner menu did not have a huge variety, but food & wine was good, albeit a tad pricey.

Continental breakfast was also tasty, and is an extra option.

If you can, do the quick, but funny, 5 minute tour on the red double decker bus.

I can recommend a stay here!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Petrus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatjiesfonteinGM, General Manager at Lord Milner Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Matjiesfontein is truly an amazing destination and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Lord Milner Hotel.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Johan Dippenaar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have just re-visited this wonderful old hotel after an absence of 10 years, and were very pleased to note that it has had a face-lift. Our daughter and son-in-law had their wedding there in 2004, and a family group have just been back to celebrate the 10th anniversary. The bedrooms and bathrooms were nicely refurbished and very accommodating. One of the members of our party stayed in room 30 in the Reston Villa section, and claimed that her room was haunted as she had some very strange dreams. Not surprising really, as the hotel was used as a hospital during the Boer War hostilities. Our dinner of shoulder of karoo lamb was superb, and the breakfast was also very good. The management and staff were extremely helpful and obliging.

Room Tip: Go for room 30
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RawdonSA, General Manager at Lord Milner Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Sue

Thank you for your positive feedback and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the food that we have to offer her in the Karoo.

The Lord Milner Hotel is proud of its staff and always strives to give the best service and standards to make your stay a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Matjiesfontein.

Regards
Johan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Lord Milner Hotel is a throwback to a bygone era, but the facilities are excellent and up to date. Excellent dinner (just as well - if you are looking for an alternative at Matjiesfontein you will not find it). It is hard to convey the nature of this village in a short review. Visit both museums, the pub, additional reception rooms and the gardens behind the hotel. This all takes two hours at least, longer than I expected. Talk to the staff and people you meet, who all have interesting stories. Matjiesfontein is one of the more unusual places you will ever visit, and it is surprising that not all guide books feature it. Undiscovered gem is a cliche, but not here. On a more practical note, there are very few accommodation alternatives in either direction, so pace your itinerary for a stop at the Lord Milner.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RawdonSA, General Manager at Lord Milner Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for all the good comments. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your experience at The Lord Milner Hotel, especially your meal in our restaurant and the wonderful history of our property.

We look forward to your return visit to the beautiful Matjiesfontein.

Warm Regards
Johan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matjiesfontein
16.2 mi away
Laings Lodge
Laings Lodge
#1 of 7 in Laingsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#7 of 7 in Laingsburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aan De Doorns Guest House
Aan De Doorns Guest House
#1 of 17 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Samara Private Game Reserve
Samara Private Game Reserve
#2 of 14 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lord Milner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Milner Hotel

Property: Lord Milner Hotel
Address: Logan Street, Matjiesfontein 6901, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Matjiesfontein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matjiesfontein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lord Milner is a lovely Victorian Hotel, full of history and atmosphere, begging to be explored. Matjiesfontein, the town itself has wonderful gardens to leisurely lose yourself in, interesting museums abundant with all sorts, as well as the typical general store/gift shop, a small chapel, a coffee house full of homemade goodies, an old courthouse, a recently renovated church and The Laird’s Arms Bar. Most evenings, one can enjoy a ride on the old London bus and tour the grounds with our entertainer Johnny. Then experience sundowners in the Laird's Arms. Dinner is served from 7-9pm in our beautiful candlelit dining room. We’ve hosted some beautiful weddings and outrageous birthday parties in our transport museum or the old Courthouse. We are only 3 hours from Cape Town by road or take the train.. "The Train to Matjiesfontein". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lord Milner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing