We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lord Milner Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laings Lodge(Laingsburg)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Hotel(Laingsburg)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Mymering(Ladismith)
US$74
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Loganda Karoo Lodge(Touwsrivier)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karoo Art Hotel(Barrydale)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Draaiberg Farm(Touwsrivier)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (650)
Filter reviews
650 results
Traveller rating
287
254
73
23
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
254
73
23
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslord milnercape townthe pubthe buscoffee shopdining roomold world charmstep back in timetransport museumswimming poolrovos railkaroo lambwell worth a visitrailway stationroad tripan oasisthe main hotel
Filter
Updating list...
565 - 570 of 650 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We booked a long weekend at the Lord Milner Hotel in Matjiesfontein during July. On arrival we were greeted by Ingrid at reception. Very warm, friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Luxury suite - beautifully re-decorated room, clean and spacious bathroom. Accommodation was much more than 3 stars. We had dinner both nights in the hotel, which was sublime. Good options on the menu. The service again was impeccable. Breakfast (which was included with the stay) was a great selection of a cold buffet and warm options to add from the menu. The town tour with the red bus was great and Johnnie was very enthusiastic with his historical anecdotes. He also entertained us with a few piano songs in the bar, before dinner, and gave us a tour of the rest of the hotel. The gardens and museums were really well looked after. We were very impressed with this small little historical town and its people, in the middle of the Klein Karoo. We had a wonderful stay - would recommend to all.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony are spacious and has wonderfull view over the mountains.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 130michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatjiesfonteinGM, General Manager at Lord Milner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for posting this review.

We are delighted that you chose The Lord Milner Hotel for a getaway during the long weekend.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our historical town and its people, in the middle of the Klein Karoo and what we have to offer from great food to great museums.

The Lord Milner Hotel is proud of its staff and always strives to give the best service and standards to make your stay a memorable one.

Hope to see you soon again.

Kind Regards
Johan Dippenaar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Icy cold outside in winter but warm and friendly inside. Efficient reception and Room 18 is great: 2 baths side by side! The food was exceptional: the Springbok Wellington tasty and tender and the leg of lamb fabulous. After dinner drinks and entertainment in the Laird's Arms is the perfect place to warm around the fire!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Johann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatjiesfonteinGM, General Manager at Lord Milner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the food that we have to offer her in the Karoo.

Indeed cold in winter, but as you mentioned, nothing as nice like after dinner drinks and entertainment in the Laird's Arms Bar, the perfect place to warm up around the fire!

Kind Regards,
Johan Dippenaar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

An oasis in the middle of the Karoo. You make this town your own. It once had a bank, jail, and post office, all of which have been preserved. Fantastic gardens and cool private museums. The locals are all very friendly and very hospitable in their unique Western Cape way. The 15min "shortest tour in South Africa," is a must, the guide, I forget his name, sets a humorous and epic Kaapie tone for Maaitjiefontein. Fantastic spot and definitely worth the stop!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Roy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatjiesfonteinGM, General Manager at Lord Milner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review.

I am delighted you had an amazing experience at the Lord Milner Hotel in Matjiesfontein, with its wonderful history and people.

We hope that you will return to our magnificent town again soon and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Lord Milner Hotel.

Kind Regards
Johan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Lord Milner is one of a kind. An outpost of the British Empire but with a sense of humour that saves it from being a pastiche. We stayed in the Olive Schreiner Cottage, so can't speak to the rooms in the hotel itself. However the cottage is quaint and charming and the association with the great South African novelist was very exciting. Do find the tucked-away swimming pool which we had to ourselves. It's reached through a dried up river bed and by a series of slightly overgrown gardens and deep, mysterious ornamental pools. Take the marvellous bus tour - "the shortest in the world" - narrated by the wonderfully eccentric old retainer. I'm sure his anecdotes are 50% invented and the jokes never change but, along with his sing alongs in the atmospheric bar, are great fun. The food was also a bit of a throw back but tasty enough with a decent wine menu. We witnessed the arrival of the Blue Train for which the entirety of the tiny settlement turns out, including impromptu children's choir and little band. This was an unexpectedly fun part of out trip which we wouldn't have missed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marken2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatjiesfonteinGM, General Manager at Lord Milner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is very good to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of our property, especially our amazing pool dating back to the early 1900’s and witnessing the arrival of the Blue Train, including the “impromptu” children's choir and little band.

We appreciate the feedback regarding the food and I am happy to report that we have taken your feedback to heart and believe living in a unique area like the Karoo, to serve local traditional cuisine with a modern influence and am very proud of it.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Johan Dippenaar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Beautiful and charming hotel with well appointed rooms. Johnny doubles as barman, tour guide and entertainer and he makes a stay over in this hotel absolutely captivating. Food is served in the age old British tradition, but it is typically South African fare.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the hotel itself and not in the annex
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuroraGirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatjiesfonteinGM, General Manager at Lord Milner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you indeed for your positive comments and I am delighted that the team took care of you so well.

We live in an idyllic setting and can’t wait to welcome you back to it for a bit more typically South African Old World Charm
Kind Regards,
Johan Dippenaar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews