We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent self-catering B&B”

Deep Thatch Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rodmell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deep Thatch Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Rodmell B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is an excellent self-catering B&B and we are delighted to have found it. Of its sort, it is the best accommodation I have seen. We stayed in the Old Stable which is a large suite consisting of sitting room/kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. It is clean and the twin beds are very comfortable, the decor is neutral. The bathroom is fairly small but well-equipped and with a good quality shower. I had been expecting very basic catering facilities and breakfast materials, but in fact there is an extremely well-stocked breakfast kitchen with several good quality juices, a range of teas, nice bread, croissants, a wide variety of spreads and cereals, yoghurt, and fresh fruit. The accommodation gives you the privacy and independence of a small self-catering cottage at B&B prices – we paid £90 which is excellent value for the area. There is a TV and a range of books if needed. There is a courtyard with seating outside and parking is easy. The village setting is beautiful and the host is very pleasant and helpful without being intrusive, and it is clear that the whole undertaking has been very carefully thought through and well-managed. Booking is easy and efficient. In all, an outstanding base for visiting nearby, or as stop-over for the Newhaven ferry – or for that matter it would be fine for a more extended holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RovingProfessor881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed for only one night in the Studio but wished it had been longer. It is a very quiet location. The Studio is clean, cosy and very well-equipped with everything we needed and more. Really appreciated the thoughtful extra touches such as the furry hot-water bottles! Would hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Writing on behalf of my in laws who have stayed here twice now. They said carol and Gerry the owner were so welcoming and friendly. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious and had everything they needed. The house is set in the beautiful village of Rodmell and they intend to stay here during every future visit and wanted me to thank you very much for such an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foooooood22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

A warm welcome awaited us ahead of 2 days' walking along the South Downs Way. Our hosts could not have been more helpful. We were walking with another couple, so the arrangement for breakfast in the Annexe was excellent and suited us perfectly. The fridge and kitchen was stocked with everything one would need for the right start for a day's walking. Our hosts obviously are meticulous about details and the standard of the bedroom and shower room/loo reflected that. The sitting area was small but very comfortable, as someone has said, more a small flat than a studio annexe.
We chose to eat in Lewes (Sunday evening and the local pub serves only a limited menu) and can recommend The Pelham Arms.at the top of the High Street...our supper was delicious.
Deep Thatch Cottage is an excellent B&B, very good value, and we would certainly return if in the area.
PS Our host must own one of the few remaining Peerless cars in the country which incidentally was in very good condition!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BucksWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Really well appointed accommodation with an unexpected degree of privacy. Our room was described as the studio, a new build over the garage, but it was far more than a studio: apartment/flat would be more appropriate. There was a separate lounge/kitchen/dining area in addition to the bedroom and ensuite. The kitchen was amply stocked with everything you could possibly need for a continental breakfast and all items were top of the range rather than basic buys. At £85 this was £5 more than the other B&B's we stayed in whilst walking the South Downs Way but the provision of the kitchen enabling you to cook if you wanted to more than justified the price. Carol was welcoming and very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clarriebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol A, Owner at Deep Thatch Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to write this review. We're pleased you had a nice time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed in the studio for 3 nights - our second stay here. You couldn't want more. For £80 a night we had an open-plan living room, dining room and small kitchen (which included an oven with grill and hob, a fridge and a washing machine); nice sized double bedroom with wardrobe and chest of drawers plus roomy bedside cabinets; and an en suite shower room. The continental (prepare it yourself) breakfast included croissants, bread, butter and sunflower spread, a large selection of marmalades, jams, marmite, peanut butter and honey; a selection of cereals, fresh fruit (including melon and grapes), yoghurt, and three different fruit juices. Apart from good quality instant coffee, three different types of teabags were provided - and two packets of biscuits. Had you wanted to prepare a cooked breakfast you had only to ask for the ingredients to be provided.
We chose to prepare our own evening meals on two of the nights which all worked out well - but, as you are warned, the smoke alarm is sensitive so some nifty footwork is required to turn it off! A delightful, relaxing, stay.

Room Tip: There are also two annexes at Deep Thatch which would be equally comfortable but the studio is above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderer1154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol A, Owner at Deep Thatch Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, comments like this make all the hard work worth while.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

A two day stay was a joy. The proprietors were very welcoming and helpful. The accommodation was as described and very clean a real home from home with plenty of room. I would definitely use this lovely B&B again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spider W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol A, Owner at Deep Thatch Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and I'm pleased you enjoyed your weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Deep Thatch Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deep Thatch Cottage

Address: Rodmell, Lewes, East Sussex, BN7 3HF, Rodmell, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rodmell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rodmell
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Deep Thatch Cottage Rodmell, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing