We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
71
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews large bed we loved our stay star hotel one night vista alegre bustling city great hostal beautiful casa green garden stayed two nights hosts hostel revolution taxi hammocks villa nani
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2015

We (Couple, 32 and 34 years) stayed 3 nights of March 2015 in this wonderful Casa which is located in quiet and very neat neighborhood of Santiago de Cuba. The host Nani and her family were so friendly, very obliging and impressive people. It was a really pleasure for us to meet them. Our room and bathroom were very big and stylishly, nobly furnished and of course completely clean. The best casa of all we have seen yet! The whole premises were absolutely green and lovely cared for. Breakfast and dinner were very delicious as well as the recommendation for a dinner at the exclusive restaurant “el Madrileño” just around the corner. We can highly recommend this casa to stay in Santiago de Cuba!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 1Raik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Hiedra de Cu... S, Propietario at Hostal La Hiedra, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2015

Hello Els,
It was nice to see your comment about our house in tripadvisor. Thank you very much. I am looking forward meet you again. Greetings from Santiago de Cuba, Nani.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2015

This is a very nice casa particular in an urban district (very quiet!!) of Santiago de Cuba. Nani and Reynaldo are lovley people and when you're there for the 1. of mai, don't miss to go to the "desfile" with Reynaldo. It's an unforgettable experience with a lot of information about cuban history!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kathrin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Hiedra de Cu... S, Propietario at Hostal La Hiedra, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2015

Hello Els,
It was nice to see your comment about our house in tripadvisor. Thank you very much. I am looking forward meet you again. Greetings from Santiago de Cuba, Nani.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2015

This hostel is a great place to stay the nights and see more of this city. People where very friendly and kind and hellpfull. Rooms are clean, there is airco That works. No complain at all. The breakfast was good, fresh food, fruits. If you like to have something else they make it. Go there, you will see how nice it is. Loation wa fine. Quiet nebrhood.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Pauline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Hiedra de Cu... S, Propietario at Hostal La Hiedra, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2015

Hello Els,
It was nice to see your comment about our house in tripadvisor. Thank you very much. I am looking forward meet you again. Greetings from Santiago de Cuba, Nani.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015

In february 2015 we stayed two nights in Casa La Hiedra in Santiago de Cuba. This was a wonderful experience. The house has beautiful furniture and decorations. The breakfast is delicious with differant fruits, some were even new to us. My husband had his 65 birthday during our stay. Nani and Reynaldo organised a dinner for us with live music. So we sat in the garden and a duo, violin and guitar played for us during a delicious meal. What else could you wish on such an occasion? It was lovely. Needless to say that we recommend this casa to anyone who visits Santiago de Cuba.

Els, Utrecht, the Netherlands

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Els E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Hiedra de Cu... S, Propietario at Hostal La Hiedra, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2015

Hello Els,
It was nice to see your comment about our house in tripadvisor. Thank you very much. I am looking forward meet you again. Greetings from Santiago de Cuba, Nani.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2015

Its amazing how the place you stay at can make or break your experience. To be honest, it felt like my husband and I stayed in a 5+ star hotel so the price is minute. The room was gorgeous, clean at all times (I am a bit of an OCD so by clean, it means very clean). Food was absolutely amazing. We ended up eating at the hostel more then outside. The food is so much better then what we got in town, reasonably priced for everything that you get and you know its clean.

Best part of this were the hosts, I HIGHLY recommend to interact with the hosts. Their political involvement and history is absolutely fascinating. This is when my husband and I really got to know more about Cuba and the revolution. Talking to the hosts is what made our experience in town so much more meaningful. Felt like going into a time capsule.

Room Tip: Room at the end of the hall is gorgeous and huge.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 123hwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Hiedra de Cu... S, Propietario at Hostal La Hiedra, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2015

Hello Els,
It was nice to see your comment about our house in tripadvisor. Thank you very much. I am looking forward meet you again. Greetings from Santiago de Cuba, Nani.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews