We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property needs work but exceptional staff”
Review of Woodborough Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodborough Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Woodborough B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Property needs work but exceptional staff”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

First and foremost, a beautiful setting and very reasonably priced.
I could also imagine this to be a fabulous space for afternoon tea, with its orangery and extensive lawns. We dined in the lunch service - food was faultless and service friendly and relaxed.

Special thanks to Stefan who was exceptional. Having worked at Woodborough Hall several years you can see that he is truly an asset and great ambassador to the organisation. He was attentive to all our requests, and even took the time to take us on a brief tour of the building, talking us through the history and various rooms.

The space in itself (particularly the bedroom wing) needs some extensive attention, but otherwise I'd fully recommend for an informal dinner or even smaller scale event.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JConcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    58
    48
    56
    95
See reviews for
123
162
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We had a lovely afternoon tea in the orangery. There was lots of food and we took some home there were so much. There was lots of variety of sandwiches both meat and vegetarian as my husband had told them I didn't eat much meat. The presentation of the food was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KVS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Ok, here goes. Firstly the setting was just beautiful. Relaxing, serene. Perfect if you want to leave your cares behind for a week-end. Gardens beautiful. Service was simply impeccable, being a musician and having travelled all over the globe, I was completely blown away by how helpful & indeed professional the staff were. Food was,,, well!!!! Magnifique, delicious is an understatement, perfectly cooked, sublimely presented. However, dining whilst being forced to listen to " florence & the machine" and "hits of the 80's " somewhat killed the ambience. A more classical/traditional approach would be more in keeping with the history that surround this stunning building. A real shame. The only other fault we found was that our room "the bridal suite" had virtually no plug sockets for my girlfriends appliances, hair dryer, curling tongs etc etc, also my shaver. This aside, I have to say our stay was just beautiful. We came home relaxed & refreshed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russ7484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I went for a lovely meal on Saturday 31st Aug 13.
I had never been to Woodborough Hall before, and it was a lovely touch to be offered a fruit punch on arrival.
The building is lovely and old, and even though it could benefit from a bit of updating here and there it was very grand.
The meal was excellent, our waiter was lovely, and you couldn't fault either of the 3 courses, everything was cooked to perfection, in a lovely relaxed atmosphere.
I would recommend Woodborough Hall to anyone wanting a good quality meal.
It is a bit more expensive than your average restaurant but worth it.
Thankyou to all the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GailNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My daughter got married here 1st Aug 2013, absolutely beautiful place, the rooms are fantastic and big, honeymoon suite is fabulous, Hollie fantastic and helped in everyway she could. The food was lush so big thank you to the chefs, afraid to say that there was a shortage of bar staff especially for an occasion like this, I had to go and ask for more staff to help out!! Thought the prices was way expensive! Other than that the weather was wonderful, made for a great day, the outside was beautiful and the kids loved it. Mandy was an absolute doll she could not do enough for us, she went that extra mile and I thank her dearly for that, however as for the night porter I am afraid I have to say did not do his job properly, he was asleep on the job!!!! Two of the girls got locked out and spent some time sleeping in the porch!! Eventually they awoke him!

Some of the rooms & furniture could do with sprucing up and some fans dotted around (very hot day with no air) but other than that a beautiful setting for a wedding, can not fault the day apart from the few hic cups I have mentioned.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but the brown & red rooms are second to none, fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We went to woodborough hall for the first time to a friends wedding.

The location is fantastic and will make for some awesome photos for any celebration.

The bar staff were terrible. Taking between 5-10 minutes to complete simple drinks orders.

I was charged three different prices for exactly the same drinks. All massively overpriced as well!

Outside is nice in decent weather. However there is a lot of midges so take some bug spray. The Hall itself could provide some
Citronella candles to help
Combat this issue but as this eats into their massive profits. It isn't going to be done anytime soon.

The dj they provided was terrible. Like something out of the film
"The wedding singer". When he did a half decent mix of two songs he then stood back as if to say "my work here is done" and waved his arms Triumphantly.

Overall a lovely Location but could be so so so much better if they had a clue what they are doing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Had not heard of this venue before Kellys wedding but found it to be a lovely old building, lots of history and attractive outside patio and gardens. The weather helped as it was a beautiful evening but impressed with the whole setting. Will definitely visit again to try the restaurant.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eloise1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodborough
3.1 mi away
Cockliffe Country House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Colwick Hall Hotel
Colwick Hall Hotel
#6 of 49 in Nottingham
651 reviews
10.2 mi away
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#10 of 12 in Loughborough
674 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel
2.0 mi away
Innkeeper’s Lodge Nottingham, Lowdham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodborough Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodborough Hall

Property: Woodborough Hall
Address: 1 Bank Hill | Woodborough, Woodborough NG14 6EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Woodborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Woodborough
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodborough Hall is truly one of the most beautiful venues for a hall hotel in Nottinghamshire. A place of absolute tranquillity and charm, lovingly restored to its former glory, Woodborough Hall is proud to offer the ultimate atmospheric experience suitable for any peaceful countryside estate. Woodborough Hall is steeped in history, there are records of a hall being on the current land dating right back to 1086. The present hall was built in 1660 and Mansfield Parkyns bought it in 1852 and made some exceptional changes for its restoration.. Woodborough Hall - your idyllic dining / functions venue: We are situated in the idyllic village of Woodborough, in Nottinghamshire, within the midlands region of the U.K, but only a short 10 minute drive away from Nottingham city centre, for ease of access. The exquisite Grade II* Hall is the perfect choice for any occasion, from fine dining or relaxing short weekend break, to a full wedding service & celebration event with family & friends. We can also offer extensive facilities for hosting business seminars and conferences using our purpose designed function rooms, but all housed in a beautiful stimulating environment, away from the everyday distractions of the normal working environment. We are well placed for easy access from Nottingham, Derby, Sheffield and Leicester and an easy journey to the local East Midlands Airport. We are well situated for access to other local places of interest such as nearby Sherwood Forest , The Peak District National Park and the local Nottingham Racecourse, and if you have the urge to shop, then Nottingham's extensive shopping centre is only a short 10 mile drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodborough Hall Hotel Woodborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing