We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Manhattans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manhattans
Ranked #2 of 2 Wallsend B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just back from a hen weekend. Matthew is fantastic, friendly and an amazing bar an hotel owner. The hotel is so clean, fresh towels everyday. the nightclub down stairs is even better with DJ Matthew absolutely hilarious very good at what he does don't need to leave this place for anything cheap drinks with brilliant flash promotions, Also the bar star are very entertaining. Would come back anytime. Thanks for an amazing time.:)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Omg cud not fault this place..... cheap booze,absoulutely fantastic bar staff and fun to be in. Me n the girls had grrrreat crack the whole stay. Rooms clean n fresh. Have da say the manager was sooo friendly,funny and great banter from all. Cant wait come back thanks for a smashin hen weekend xx

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank josie133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in manhattans hotel in may for my sisters 21st.. forget all the reviews you have read about manhattans because there not even true! Very clean, brilliant warm, welcoming, fun, cheerful staff, very welcoming hotel, close to newcastle city centre. Perfect hotel for weekend stays! I will definitely be back! Loved every second of it!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Jayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Second stay here was just as good as the first. We had one of the new rooms. We had to share the Bathroom but it was nice and clean. Was good value for money and it is noisy from the Nightclub downstairs but this finished at 1.30. Defenitley going back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slimlady70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just got back from staying at Manhattans and it was awful. The staff were friendly and welcoming but the rooms were not up to standard at all, 1 broken bed and a seriously dodgy tv......not great to start with but the worst thing was the noise, absolutely disgraceful. When I booked I could have never imagined that's would have been kept awake all night by the nightclub then to find everyone and anyone coming up stairs from the nightclub to carry the party on, at one point I thought It was a bloody brothel the amount of people coming and going. I will not be going back and I would really urge others not do do the same if they want to get NO sleep and piss and puke all over the shared toilet in the morning.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ros K, General Manager at Manhattans, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. You were made aware 3 times, twice from booking.com as well as when you checked in at our hotel that the hotel is situated on top of a night club and that noise will be heard, you had these 3 opportunities to cancel your booking but you never did so, neither did you express any concern when you arrived, you could see from our check in area that it was a night club, this is even stated on our website.
The bed you stated was broken was in fact a brand new bed, and im not sure how a brand new LED TV (as seen in our pictures) can be a dodgy tv!
Regarding customers coming upstairs, this is a hotel and they were guest just like you, coming in from their night out, it was the weekend after all. Our manager lives on this same floor and I assure you makes sure along with our onsite security that the only people staying here were our guests. The guests were all arriving back from their night out, they were not coming in and out as you suggest. No parties would be tolerated upstairs because as pointed out or manager lives there and would not allow any such goings on.
The toilet was NOT covered in urine and vomit as you stated, we know this for a fact because our manager uses these facilities as well and as she is in her 50s she certainly does not use a toilet that is dirty so she always ensures that it is kept clean. I think your review was nothing but a malicious one due to your failure of reading the notes on booking.com stating that there would be noise. Many if not all our guests always leave having a great night with us. Thank you once again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed at Manhattans after a party, the rooms are very nice and tidy. bar downstairs reasonably priced and Dj music was spot on.
great value budget accommodation i would recommend it not to far from city center £7.00 in taxi

Room Tip: upgrade to en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leehoult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived at 1am technically the day after we were suppose to check in. Luckily the bar downstairs was still open and a nice young guy helped us to our room. The room is quite spacious (3 beds when we only expected one). The rooms are very tidy and new. Obvious amount of restoration has taken place since the change in management.

The hotel is situated on top of a nightclub/bar. The area (wallsend) apparently is not the BEST area in Newcastle but for us, was good enough. It is about 5/6 Km from the actual city centre but well frequented with metro and busses. The hotel is located close to some essential shops (restaurants, bars, cafés and supermarkets).

The music was never overly loud however we only stayed 3 nights. The rooms are very clean and if we were on a major budget again I would probably return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lucachizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Manhattans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattans

Address: 85-87 High Street West, Wallsend NE28 8JD, England (Formerly The Steam Elephant)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Wallsend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wallsend
Price Range: £23 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manhattans 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manhattans is a small hotel that endeavours to provide comfort and great service to our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Manhattans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattans Wallsend, Tyne And Wear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing