We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Clos de la Garde
Ranked #1 of 1 Anche B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Relaxing”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed three nights at this great B&B. Each afternoon we returned to a fire that Manfred had thoughtfully lit in our sitting room. The dinners he cooked were excellent and much more enjoyable than eating out at a restaurat. Our accommodation was spacious and very clean with a good size bathroom. Manfred was a gracious host, helpful and friendly and the continued restoration of the surrounding garden is his passion.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    6
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
157
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We were very impressed with the standard of the accommodation; really good shower! It is a beautiful collection of buildings tastefully renovated and very comfortable.
And the host Manfred was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionaDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

A great B&B with a great host. The location was ideal for us. Our accommodation was very spacious and had a sitting room, a bedroom and an excellent bathroom. In particular the quality of the bathroom was fantastic. Our host, Manfred, was a delight. Very accommodating and very knowledgeable. We stayed two nights and enjoyed ourselves very much. We were very fortunate to share an aperitif with Manfred in his special ‘cave’. This alone made the stay worthwhile. We loved it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We spent a very enjoyable night at Le Clos de la Garde, appreciating the historic stone buildings that are being so carefully restored by owners, Manfred Fritsch and his wife. Manfred, as the consummate professional hotelier, ensured that we were well cared for during our stay. Our experience at the inn was further enhanced by a visit to the wine cave for an aperitif, the delicious dinner prepared by Manfred, and stimulating conversation. Our room was well appointed, quiet, and comfortable. Hats off to his wife for her care of all these important details. We took advantage of Anché as a convenient base for touring the surrounding area and visiting chateaux. Le Clos de la Garde is unique! Definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Sadly we were only able to stay one night here for one night.

Manfred is a wonderful host and it is obvious that the property means everything to him. The room was fantastic with a wonderful breakfast in the morning.

The location is ideal for touring around Saumur, Chinon and Azay le Rideau. On the other hand if you are just looking for some peace and quiet then the garden is as peaceful as any.

Thank you Manfred. We look forward to seeing you again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed only for one night in Clos de la Garde, but it could have been more without any problem. We enjoyed the scenic room (with nice bathroom), the evening sun in the garden (together with a bottle of Chinon wine) and of course the hospitality of Manfred.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boudewijn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Le Clos de la Garde & thoroughly enjoyed our break. Manfred is a charming & friendly host who goes out of his way to ensure his guests are very well looked after. Very clean & well appointed accommodation. Like other reviewers we enjoyed Manfred's home cooked dinner on one evening, preceded by the wine tasting! We would have no hesitation in recommending this delightful spot to other visitors to this beautiful part of France.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anche
4.4 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
497 reviews
17.2 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 4 in Villandry
271 reviews
12.1 mi away
Troglododo
Troglododo
#2 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Chateau de Rochecotte
Chateau de Rochecotte
#1 of 2 in Langeais
282 reviews
22.4 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
10.8 mi away
La Dixmeresse
La Dixmeresse
#1 of 4 in Restigne
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos de la Garde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos de la Garde

Property: Le Clos de la Garde
Address: 4 rue de la Basse Garde, 37500 Anche, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Anche
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Anche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B with 2 spacious suites and 1 double room deluxe near Chinon in the heart of the Loire valley. Feel the breath of history and enjoy nature and tranquility in a 3000 sqm garden. All rooms are situated in a typically tuff stone house of the 18th century, each with a maximum of 4 persons (convertible sofa), large sized beds, modern bathrooms, heating, TV, free W-LAN and parking. Table d'hôtes (dinner) served upon reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Clos de la Garde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing