We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!”
Review of Rondane Gjestegard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rondane Gjestegard
Ranked #1 of 1 Sollia B&B and Inns
zh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A cute small Norwegian hotel with lovley huts and welcoming hosts. The rooms are clean and warmly furnished. It is a fantastic place for all kinds of outdoor activities or just to relax and read a book at the fireside.

Room Tip: Stay in a hut - it simply belongs to the authentic experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ke e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    9
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

4 people staying in one of the cabins for 3 nights. The cabins have the looks of traditional Norwegian log cabins, both inside and outside. Ours was well maintained and cleaned. All equipment was in place, the bathroom floor heated (important when drying clothes and equipment after a long day hiking). Staff was very friendly and accomodating. We did our own cooking and can not comment on the resturant. All in all, our expectation were exceeded, and we plan to visit every fall and make it a tradition.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OyvindA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We spent two nights here and went husky dog sledging during one of the days. Everything was fantastic. It would have been super fantastic if there had been a microwave. The experience for driving the dogs was great with excellent supervision and help.
We had a meal at the restaurant by the lake (although it was just snow!) was one of the best we have ever had. A marvellous chef who created fabulous food. Would really recommend this location. We were transported to wherever we needed to be. Only blip was having to wait about 45 minutes after we had disembarked the Hurtigruten boat and we were not the first off. But overall excellent.

Room Tip: Request a detached cabin as the block we were in was up some steps and a steep slope. This would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186338travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I do tend to forget to write reviews on lovely places we visit but this Guesthouse really deserves not to be missed out. Rondane Gjestegård is a hidden treasure. Place looked after extremely well by friendly, professional couple; the owners, Cecilie & Christoph. You just feel the care and great attention to detail given to the place the second you enter the gate.
We spent at Rondane Gjestegård under a week during the christmas period 2012. We rented Pika 2, an immaculate, cozy log cabin with clean, fully equipped kitchenette, 24/7 underfloor heating in the bathroom and unlimited supply of wood for the fireplace.
We could borrow sledges, snow shoes at no cost. Christoph even offered to lend their cross-country skis when he heard about us being keen to try.
The snow was just magic, our daughter could not get enough of it. The early dusk did not stop her as this place is safe and well lighten up. We also ice-skated on open lake nearby.
Their cafe was grand. There was a beautiful christmas decco to make up the festive atmosphere for the guests. We tasted and got seriously addicted to Cecilie's home-made cake.
We took part in New Years Eve dinner organised by the owners for all the guests, made up of reindeer&elk fondue, drinking locally produced beer Atna and sending in the air wishing lanterns at midnight and cheering with everyone Happy new year. I do not seriously think we could spend our New years eve evening better. Next day, an organised fun sledge run, drinking traditional Norwegian glug & topping it up with delicious pancakes. Bliss.
If you like a real experience of Norway, stay at this hidden treasure, and discover the splendid natural surroundings of Rondane national park. Winter/summertime.
We cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: All log cabins are well located, close to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martina29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillehammer
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Nice place to stay, clean and simple. Personal service like being at home. Beautiful site at a little river. Equipment for barbecue at the river side. Nice surroundings, even if it is down in a valley.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunnar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gambrills, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

As part of a hiking trip to the area, I happened to stay at Rondane Gjestegard, which is very near to trails in Rondane national park. Wow, is this a fantastic area and wonderful place to stay! There are several small traditional Norwegian cabins for rent or there is a main 'guesthouse' with simple rooms (with bathroom included). So one can choose the level of privacy, plus cost he/she is willing to spend.

The hosts Cristoph and Cecelia make each guest feel so special. Both went out of their way to recommend local (and far away) activities, cater to the guests at all hours, and generally ensure a very positive visit for each guest. The guesthouse and cabins are of a very high standard, clean, well decorated. Local homemade food is served. They bake their own bread, make the jams, catch the fish, etc.... It was truly delicious.

The grounds are very special too - sitting in a quiet valley, with a small crystal-clear stream, and hiking and fishing very close. Cecilia (a Norwegian) has decorated the entire grounds to mimic traditional Norwegian mountain hytte or mountain homes. She is also an avid modern art lover, so for the attentive, one can spot some modern art touches here and there. This is guesthouse is just so very special and unique! And even better, at a very fair price if not 'cheap' for the country. A true gem. I highly recommend Rondane Gjestegard.

Room Tip: There seem to be about 10 cabins, and about 10 rooms -- so it is best to book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunshine_Grl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I think we liked this hotel better than any of the other dozen we stayed at in Norway.
The hotel and our room were spotless. The owner-wife was so friendly, and had lived in the U.S. so she spoke perfect English.
The owner-husband pointed out a hiking trail for us to take, which we did.
We were asked what we wanted for dinnner and when we wanted it served; it was a very good dinner at a reasonable price (for Norway), about $30.
The breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank XenophonAnabasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sollia
9.0 mi away
Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane
10.3 mi away
Venabu Fjellhotell og Hytter
Venabu Fjellhotell og Hytter
#2 of 4 in Ringebu Municipality
91 reviews
22.7 mi away
Thon Hotel Otta
Thon Hotel Otta
#1 of 2 in Otta
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Rondane Hoeyfjellshotell
Rondane Hoeyfjellshotell
#1 of 1 in Mysuseter
69 reviews
22.3 mi away
Smuksjoseter Fjellstue
Smuksjoseter Fjellstue
#2 of 3 in Hovringen
17 reviews
23.4 mi away
Per Gynt Lodge
Per Gynt Lodge
#1 of 3 in Vinstra
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rondane Gjestegard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rondane Gjestegard

Property: Rondane Gjestegard
Address: Highway 27, Sollia 2477, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Tingvoll Municipality > Sollia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sollia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rondane Gjestegard Rondane Gjestegard is located in sunny Sollia, approximately 250 kilometers north of Oslo. Situated some 780 meters above sea level, two of the closest neighbors of Rondane Gjestegard are Lillehammer, the home of the 1994 Olympic Games, and the beautiful Rondane National Park. A charming hotel and rustic, comfortable log cabins await guests, who can look forward to delicious home-cooked meals and freshly baked cakes. We invite you to experience the stunning expanses and breathtaking beauty of Norway while enjoying the region’s peaceful serenity in total comfort. Cabins We invite you to stay in one of our ten traditional log cabins, which are available with either two or five beds. The cabins were built in 1994 and feature a very high standard. All of them come with a shower and floor heating in the bathroom as well as separate bedrooms. A cozy wood stove awaits you in the comfortable living rooms. You will find all the firewood you need stacked just outside your door. All of the cabins feature wireless Internet access and fully equipped kitchenettes where you can prepare your own meals. If you prefer, you can enjoy delicious meals in the hotel restaurant. Guests are also invited to use the hotel lounge where they than can relax over a cup of coffee and piece of a fresh home-baked cake while relaxing by the fire or browsing through the books in our small library. There is also a grill area near the river for guests who would like to cook or grill their meals outdoors. If you are looking for a unique experience, we invite you to stay in our Stabbur. Traditionally, a stabbur is building found on Norwegian farms where food is stored. Our Stabbur is no longer used as a pantry. Instead, we transformed the two-storey structure into a comfortable cabin, which is the pride and joy of our estate. The Stabbur has been fully modernized and furnished with meticulous care while still retaining its quaint storehouse character. Hotel Our charming hotel offers personalized service and home-cooked meals. Guests enjoy full hotel service yet still feel completely at home in the small but comfortable rooms with shower/WC and Internet access. A hearty Norwegian breakfast is included in the price. Lunch and dinner are also served, and we’ll be glad to prepare a tasty take-away lunch for you for your outings. If you prefer, you can simply relax by the crackling fire in the comfort of our cozy lounge. You can browse through our small library or simply let your mind wander and enjoy the soothing silence that surrounds you. We are looking forward to your visit, Cecielie and Christoph ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rondane Gjestegard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing