We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly nice standard hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Lofoten Hotell
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leknes
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“surprisingly nice standard hotel”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed in Leknes because we were planning to use busses to travel through the lofoten, we changed that plan really soon.
Leknes is a small town, and if you come to the hotel from the backside you get the impression that it is all away from anything. But in fact you are quickly in the shoppingscenter, the towncenter and in restaurants.

The room was clean, well furnished and quiet. There is no luxury, but I wasn't expecting it. The Best Western is a standard hotel and so is the room.
The breakfast was very good. I actually enjoyed it a lot, it's not too full and messy as you may expect at hotel buffets. The food quality is high.
The bed could have been a bit more comfortable, the mattress was too soft for my taste.

Strategically it's well situated. You can go for short trips to Eggum, Ramberg, Nusfjord and so on.

Room Tip: We had room in second floor which might be quieter, because you have no room above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zbinistrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    48
    52
    6
    2
See reviews for
11
52
12
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel is close to Stamsund port and stragically located to visit the southern (and most interesting part) of the Islands. However, the building and the rooms lack personality and look a bit old. The quality of the restaurant is quite poor.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Good pick from our crew, with all required facilities on broad.

Short Distance for shopping mall, food stores and restaurant area, so no need to stay at hotel for the day, and good restaurant around for all tasting the catch of the day.

As the last stop, just 5 minutes drive to Leknes Airport, what else you should said!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Everybody should go to Lofoten. Even if you live in Big Sur, Califorina! It is the most amazing place on the planet! And if there, you´ll come by Leknes. The Leknes Hotel is one of the hotels from the Winter Olympics in Lillehammer 1994 that were built in sections, dismantled afterwards and sold. So, it´s a wooden building, assembled section style and not of the standard of a new Hotel built in concrete. It was due for some refurbishing. However, breakfast was great. The staff was friendly and good, with one single exception. A mature lady in her 40´s with long, half-curly dark hair. I have never felt so unwelcome in a hotel as when she took over the recepton at night. Actually, I have never ever felt that I was trespassing into someones living room with muddy boots on a clean carpet before, while sitting in a hotel lobby watching sports and having a beer. I talked to some truckers who were in town doing some construction work. They were living there for some period and were actually scared of her. It´s hard to fire people in Norway, but I hope she´s gone. If not - go to bed early before the night shift comes on. I think it´s around 10 o´clock.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
180 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

The main advantage of this hotel is its location in town, close to eateries, shopping mall, gas stations for refill of rental cars, and proximity to the Leknes airport. Scenery-wise there is nothing exciting but serves its functional purpose.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
137 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Leknes may not be the most charming town in the Lofoten Islands. Absent is the fishing harbor theme. Nevertheless, Leknes is an ideal place to overnight. And in Leknes, the Best Western is THE place to stay. Actually, it may be the only true hotel in town. Best of all the prices were the lowest we paid in the Lofoten Islands and we smiled the whole time at having found value. Sure, the harbor ambience is nice; one can visit it for nothing or pay handsomely to be there while sleeping.

I have to admit that the ‘Best Western’ brand name set my expectations towards the low end. Despite their website photo I envisioned something old and tired but of good cleanliness and quality. My expectations were far exceeded. This Best Western is new and perky as well as clean and offered both good quality and value. The hotel’s history is equally as impressive. Each of the rooms was part of a modular housing complex for the Lillehammer 1994 Olympics. While there is some odd feeling about being in a ‘mod’, that feeling is offset with the thinking that we may have slept in the same room as a gold medal winner.

The rooms were nicely re-done with excellent beds and bedding, flat screen TV’s, and nice pictures on the walls. Our room had a small desk. We had a splendid mountain view out the window. We also got to see the midnight sun. The property had great internet that was fast and easy to use. The small bathroom was very clean.

Best Western had a dinner buffet for 195NOK [about $33 USD] with no additional tax and tip. Considering high food prices on the Lofoten Islands, this was a good price for fine food. Best Western also had a breakfast buffet with nice arrangement of breads, meats, cheeses, yoghurt, fruit, juice and coffee – but no eggs.

There was no problem conversing in English. All staff spoke and understood with fluency.

Upon checkout we discovered they had charged us twice for evening meals. The bill was adjusted with no problems.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed there in Summer for a couple of Nights and our impression is that the Rooms are down used the Funiture looks old and well used, It was clean and the Staff was very nice, even a German speaking Woman which was of Great Help for us. This place have seen better times but if you dont expect too much , it is okay. Greetings From Germany

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamScheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leknes
15.3 mi away
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
#1 of 2 in Henningsvaer
124 reviews
22.0 mi away
Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
#3 of 9 in Vagan
109 reviews
19.9 mi away
Reine Rorbuer
Reine Rorbuer
#3 of 66 in Lofoten Islands
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Lofoten Panorama
Lofoten Panorama
#2 of 2 in Stamsund
3 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hattvika Lodge
Hattvika Lodge
#1 of 7 in Ballstad
37 reviews
10.3 mi away
Nusfjord Rorbuer
Nusfjord Rorbuer
#1 of 1 in Nussfjord
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lofoten Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lofoten Hotell

Property: Best Western Lofoten Hotell
Address: Lillevollveien 15, Leknes 8370, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Lofoten Islands > Vestvagoy > Leknes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leknes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Lofoten Hotell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Lofoten Hotell BEST WESTERN Lofoten Hotell is located in Leknes, surrounded by beautiful mountains in the middle of Lofoten. Our hotel has 60 modern guest rooms, of which two are suites and one room suitable for wheelchair users. All rooms have separate bathrooms and are equipped with a television, telephone and wireless Internet. Our a la carte restaurant 'Bevares' can be seated for 80 guests and serves traditional Norwegian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Lofoten Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing