We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Country B&B With Excellent Food!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alvediston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crown Inn Alvediston
Ranked #1 of 1 Alvediston B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Lovely Country B&B With Excellent Food!”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Me and my partner found The Crown when we were looking at places to stay near Salisbury and Stonehenge. We decided to book for a couple of nights and really enjoyed our stay. It's family run and in the middle of nowhere (I managed to get phone signal with Vodafone but my partner didnt) the rooms are based in an old country pub, really quaint with low ceilings and an open fire they lit in the evenings! Food was incredible! It's the son and daughter in the kitchen apparentely and they seem to know what they're doing! The steak I had was flavoursome and properly cooked, served with loads of sides and proper, homemade onion rings! My partner enjoyed her homemade fishcake too although she couldn't finish it. We decided to go out for food the second night and that was also nice, but could've easily eaten in The Crown's restaurant twice! There was loads to do in the area, Lin, the landlady gave us some info - our favourite was a trip to Wardour Castle although it wouldn't be nice on a wet day!!! Definitely planning on revisiting as there were some other things we'd like to do in the area!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AKF186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    18
    4
    0
    6
See reviews for
5
44
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We came across this pub in mid winter this year, a warm, friendly, cosy pub, had lunch there, it was so good that we went there again a few weeks later, nice open fire, good pub food, try the steak and kidney pudding, its out of this world!
Will certainly be going back very soon.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Philly353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albrighton Shrops
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Booked a late deal 3 nights for the price of 2 so a bit of a bargain. Lovely old, squeeky floorboarded, quaint inn. Perfect for romantic/quiet getaways, no mobile phone reception (orange/O2), no light polution, just the hoot of an owl or two at night. Room warm and cosy, bed comfy. Food in pub was excellent as was the delicous cooked brekkie in the morning. The 2 resident dogs also lovely - Puzzle & Trigger! Will definately be going back again, as hospitality was great!

Room Tip: Only 3 to chose from and ours was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissBongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We visited this pub for two nights at the end of September for a wedding and it was everything we could wish for. The room was comfy and quaint, and the food and the ale were excellent, and as for the service, the pub is family run and they could not do enough for us, from catering for my fussy eating habits - to running us to a nearby village for our friend's wedding. I am surprised about the negative comment from Tracy A as she didn't appear to stay at the pub - I thought this site was intended for travellers! We can't wait to go back in the New Year to explore the countryside.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I visited this pub on a Sunday during their recent ''Food, Ale and Music'' festival. The flyer promised live music, produce stalls, cream teas, tombola, garden games, bouncy castle and horsey racing and lots of local food to try from 12pm on the Saturday.

On Sunday afternoon there was live music and a bouncy castle but none of the other promises. Any local food to try was only available to buy off the menu which was quite expensive- £11 for a burger with chips and salad. There was a good range of local beers and ciders on offer which was good to see and were very tasty.

On arrival we were greeted by the landlord and were told to go and relax in the garden with some menus and make our choice there. No mention was made of food serving times. When we tried to order about 20 minutes later the same man informed us that they stopped serving food at 3pm ( only 10 minutes after we had got there). We couldn't even get the cold cheese platter off their festival menu. The landlord did say there would be be a BBQ in the garden where we could get a burger - we then found out there would be a 45minutes wait for this to start. Now very hungry after having cycled there, we politely raised the issue of not being informed of the end of service and were accused of lying about ever being given menus and about the time we had arrived - by 3 members of the same family running this pub. It was very unpleasant and totally uneccessary especially when the pub was nearly empty when we got there.
Needless to say, despite being quite local to us we won't be visiting again.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Hidden away in a quiet valley in the chalk downland of South Wiltshire the Crown is a traditional thatched country pub. The beer is very well kept, the interior is not all glass and chrome: wooden bar, comfy chairs, low ceilings, original beams etc. We stayed B&B and our room was lovely, everything one could wish for. Breakfast was great (local pork for the sausages and bacon) and the welcome from Dave and Lynn made us feel very much at home.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FujairahFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

A spur of the moment decision for a weekend break we found this great thatched pub on the internet. It is located in a very quiet location but seems to be very popular, not surprising as the food was excellent. Well run family business, we were made to feel welcome by Dave, Lin and family, including Puzzle the family dog. The hospitatlity was great.

The room was a good size for a weekend break and had an en-suite shower room. the bed was comfortable and we certainly slept well. Breakfast was a good traditional English breakfast and set you up for the rest of the day.

There is plenty to do in the area and we will certainly try to visit again and add some more walking to our break as the countryside and views are beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VJR285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Crown Inn Alvediston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn Alvediston

Property: The Crown Inn Alvediston
Address: The Road, Alvediston SP5 5JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Alvediston
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alvediston
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Inn is now open under new management having been closed since September 2015. We offer quality bed & breakfast accommodation in a 15th century country Inn set in the idyllic village of Alvediston some 11 miles from the beautiful city of Salisbury. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Crown Inn Alvediston Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing