We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another lovely stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alvediston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crown Inn Alvediston
Ranked #1 of 1 Alvediston B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“another lovely stay”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed for a second time last weekend and enjoyed it as much as the first time - it was great to be welcomed back like old friends. My partner loved the real ale and enjoyed taking some home for the following evening too. I loved just being able to put my feet up by the lovely fire. Thanks again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 576Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    18
    4
    0
    6
See reviews for
6
45
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We were recommended this pub by friend who stayed there a few weeks earlier and having heard their reviews and read others on here we thought we would give it a go.
It’s a beautiful, cute little pub in a remote village. The landlords are so welcoming you can’t help but feel at home.

The rooms are basic but clean, which in my opinion is what matters most and it is extremely good value for money

The food is amazing; proper home cooked “pub grub” for want of a better expression. As someone else said in their review the portions are massive! And the Breakfast the following morning was equally as good, just what was required after an evening drinking real ale.
I would without a doubt recommend this pub! And will go back!

Thank you Linda and David and a lovely stay and the birthday “firework” in husband’s pudding went down a treat.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwater, West Sussex, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

4 of us stayed for 3 nights and used the pub as a base for walking, it was perfect. Very warm welcome, eager to please, comfortable rooms. Evening meals were excellent and huge as others have said. Breakfast was equally large and tasty. We did not wish to look further in the evenings as the Crown Inn had it all. Thank you Linda and Dave, we will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spreaders99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We would recommend this wonderful old Inn to anyone; the food is second to none and like a lot of other places we've stayed at in the West Country, it's some of the best we've ever tasted. The rooms have an old world charm about them but are beautifully decorated in a country style with everything you need and are clean and well presented. The pub area itself has a charm of its own - its modern and has a country feel and from what we saw on Saturday, loved by the locals. The open fire is just wonderful! Dave and Linda are lovely people who make you feel really welcome from the moment you enter the Inn.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Spacegirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

This is a super place: beautifully quiet, sweet little room, lovely walks nearby. Dinner was excellent - HUGE portions - and we had a lovely evening drinking local real ale and cider in front of the roaring log fire. It was great value and we'd definitely go back, as we left feeling so relaxed. Thank you

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 576Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We recently stayed at The Crown Inn, just for one night. Pleasant stay in nice location with great breakfast and friendly hosts. We did not have time to sample the food or drinks in the bars but it looked nice! Seriously lumpy mattresses but it was only for one night. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TEDBUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We chanced upon this hotel via Late rooms and I'm so glad we did. It was the cutest hotel. The rooms were fairly small but really rustically decorated and fully serviced in respect of toiletries and tea, coffee, etc.
We were looking for a quiet weekend away and that is exactly what we got. It is out of the way and beautifully situated.
The landlords Dave and Linda were absolutely lovely, it felt like we were staying with family, they made us so welcome.
The evening meal we had in their restaurant was superb and such good value for money. The breakfast was also big enough to set us up for the whole day.
There was no evening entertainment but frankly we didnt even notice as Dave kept us entertained all evening with his jokes and banter. It was almost a shame when the evening had to end.
We loved every minute of our stay here. We would go again anytime and recommend it to anyone looking for a gorgeous little out of the way pub with a fantastic garden and food to indulge yourself.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessFletcher73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvediston
4.4 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
195 reviews
2.7 mi away
Greenbank B&B
Greenbank B&B
#1 of 1 in Bowerchalke
19 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Queen's Head
The Queen's Head
#2 of 3 in Broad Chalke
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn Alvediston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn Alvediston

Property: The Crown Inn Alvediston
Address: The Road, Alvediston SP5 5JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Alvediston
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alvediston
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Inn is now open under new management having been closed since September 2015. We offer quality bed & breakfast accommodation in a 15th century country Inn set in the idyllic village of Alvediston some 11 miles from the beautiful city of Salisbury. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Crown Inn Alvediston Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing