We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super relaxed stay with amazing food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alvediston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crown Inn Alvediston
Ranked #1 of 1 Alvediston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spent a much needed Saturday night off in the total peace and calm of the Crown Inn last weekend. The pub is literally in the middle of nowhere with fabulous log fires and super friendly service. We had a lovely dinner with partridge and some wonderful veggie options too. The rooms are cosy with their own ensuites under the eaves of the thatch.

There are loads of local walks to choose from - all from right outside the front door ....

The pet sheep were entertaining too!

Room Tip: all nice and cosy - only four to choose from.. we had number 2 which was great with a power shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeaT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Visited on the off chance of getting a table for a sunday roast without booking and we were lucky. We always feel so at home here. This was our second visit for food and the roast was amazing! Also Love the alviston ale .Went away feeling nicely full. We will be back that's for sure.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bradders12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Recently spent a relaxing 3 night stay at The Crown. Warm welcome from Dave and Linda.
Our room was clean with creaking floorboards which you would expect from a building of this age and only added to the experience. Food was very good and we ate dinner all 3 evenings.
Good selection of Real Ales from local breweries. Weather was very kind to us and we spent 2 days walking in the beautiful local countryside.
If you want somewhere to stay to recharge your batteries i can recommend The Crown

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaleenOgeFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

To cut a long story short we were subjected to a catalogue of issues such that we refused to stay the night and refused to pay for the accommodation that we were not prepared to use and the food that we were not going to eat. It seems that as the establishment had my credit card details they still took unauthorised payments.
We arrived at 2pm and the bar area was so cold that after two drinks and a sandwich each we decided to go elsewhere and warm up. We were also subjected to the owners very smelly dogs who slobbered over us as we attempted to eat or lunch. Our room was unheated also and we were promised that this would be rectified by the time we returned.
We returned at 7:30pm to find the bar and restaurant area so cold that I went to my room to put on a cable jumper. The room was still cold and the radiator was still not on. I reported this issue again and was questioned as to if I knew how to operate the radiator correctly. The pint of beer that was ordered was cloud and tasted off. I was told that it may be because of the cold and was made to feel awkward when asking for a replacement.
The final straw was when we were both served our main meal, game pie, which was stone cold in the middle. I returned to the room to find it still very cold, picked up my bags and reported the reason for refusing to pay for the accommodation or the meal. The advertising describes the log fires and depicts a cosy and warm thatched inn. When I mentioned the lack of heating I was informed that the log burner in the main bar was broken and “what did I expect when staying in such and old building”. I expect some heating in my room and not to have to wear a coat indoors.
I was happy to pay for what we had drunk and the sandwiches we ate, but refused to pay for the accommodation and evening meal. I was told that we HAD to pay for the first night stay of £45 included in the total of £88.60. This included the room that I have not used except to place my unopened bags in. I refused and walked out in discussed, with our weekend away ruined and drove the 100 plus miles home that evening. I now find that they have taken a second payment over a week later for a further £45 and I have no idea what this was for.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Just returned from The Crown after a 2 night stay. Fantastic location set in beautiful countryside. Dinner was good and breakfasts superb both fresh and well cooked. Linda is an absolute natural and makes you feel at home as soon as you arrive. Great selection of ale and ciders. Great base to return to after a day of site seeing. We will most certainly return in the summer and subject ourselves to Linda and her hospitality again.

Room Tip: Just remember this is a 15 C inn bathrooms are small but perfectly acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the crown in may, was back in the area visiting family and was recommended to stay here. Very friendly and warm welcome by the landlord and landlady, rooms were spacious, very clean and well presented! The decor perfectly matched the pub and location, everything was in working order! Always a bonus! Excellent dinner! Great choice and presented! Breakfast was delicious! And we got to choose when we wanted it! Will be staying here again! And so should you!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie-mob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed for a second time last weekend and enjoyed it as much as the first time - it was great to be welcomed back like old friends. My partner loved the real ale and enjoyed taking some home for the following evening too. I loved just being able to put my feet up by the lovely fire. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 576Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvediston
4.4 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
207 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Queen's Head
The Queen's Head
#2 of 3 in Broad Chalke
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Greenbank B&B
Greenbank B&B
#1 of 1 in Bowerchalke
19 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn Alvediston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn Alvediston

Address: The Road, Alvediston SP5 5JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Alvediston
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alvediston
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Inn is now open under new management having been closed since September 2015. We offer quality bed & breakfast accommodation in a 15th century country Inn set in the idyllic village of Alvediston some 11 miles from the beautiful city of Salisbury. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Crown Inn Alvediston Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing