We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great b & b, great landlords”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alvediston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crown Inn Alvediston
Ranked #1 of 1 Alvediston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We were booked in here by our work, and read some of the past reviews stating that the landlord and staff were rude and not welcoming. All I can say is they must of been having a bad day when these people visited. We have been made to feel like part of their family, even having a pint with them after our meal. The food it good and the rooms although basic meet all our needs and are comfortable. Trigger the dog is a great addition, and if I could take him home I would. We would definitely recommend this place to both working people and visitors.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night, was originally going to be two but plans changed and Im glad they did, the food here is superb, slightly pricey but when you have a great meal you dont mind, our room was small but taking into account the age and design of the B&B that was expected but the hardness of the bed and the fact it creaked everytime we moved meant a sleepless night. Situated in a lovely rural location, great for peace and quiet and as dog friendly our pup was allowed too which wad lovely and Jane made it easy for us to have breakfast with our pup by our side which was great. No phone signal at all but again Jane was more than helpful providing us with other options, free wifi in the bar and in our room however obtaining the password was slightly more challenging, this was our downside, the B&B is run by Jane and her husband Dave, however Dave needs a lot of work on his customer service, at times we felt uncomfortable asking him for milk, sugar etc and the wifi password as ended up between a domestic as to where the password was or if it was even needed, Jane once again to the rescue. Would we return? Yes if Jane was there alone and taking into account what we saw her do which was basically everything she might as well be!

Room Tip: They all have creaky floor boards but the dog friendly room has a hard bed cant comment on the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayjcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Visited as recommended in CAMRA guide. Pub is very pretty and nice inside as well. food good but pricey (not worth price tag i dont think) Beer was excellent and service friendly.
No phone signal and variable WIFI provision so no good if you need to stay in touch.
Double room very reasonable price although a bit twee it goes with building, but tiny bathroom (due to age of building) is in dire need of refurbishment. Shower tray was heavily stained with lime scale and when you closed the curtain you couldn't see anything as it was so dark and the extractor was very loud. We decided to shower when we got home instead. A shame as rest of stay was enjoyable.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mim115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Crown is a gem, an Inn with good food, a warm welcome and excellent beer. The accommodation is cosy and comfy. The family that run the Crown are professionals who have been in the pub and restaurant business for many years. The landlord will keep you amused with his many tales. Yes the inn has it quirks, but that is the character of a true English Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoosaDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed in this pub for a couple of nights, it is an extremely beautiful pub and the surroundings are amazing! Very large garden which captured the sun All day, lots of seating with a very nice terrace and covered area for when it started to get colder in the evening! The room was excellent! Very clean and well presented! Tea tray was full of goodies which is always a bonus! Breakfast was to a very high standard! Good variety and very friendly service! We also ate one evening! A very nice homemade menu and our starters, mains and puddings were all delicious and looked fab! Again service was very good! Family run pub so it was a very personal service, we were looked after very well for all of our stay by dave and linda, excellent price for the rooms and would recommend this charming pub to anyone!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mariadl379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My wife and I would have tried this pub for lunch, set in a very picturesque village, but in spite of the sign saying they were open, Wednesday is not one of those days. However, we will try again and ring beforehand to make sure. The location is just superb. Judging by other reviews, the landlord is clearly not in the hospitality business, but it could be that he was just having an off day or two!

Room Tip: Make sure the pub is actually open the day you plan to arrive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Thank PRM42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

On arrival to the crown inn you are greeted by a beautiful building in an excellent rural location, I especially loved the landlords classic car parked outside the front, suited the cottage pub perfectly.

Our check in was great, very welcomed by the landlord and landlady, enjoyed a wonderful local ale before being shown to our room, which was a big cosy room with all the details that match the style of the pub, the room was very clean and fresh had fresh linen. The bed was very comfortable and we both had a brilliant night sleep

We were not particularly hungry so we had a couple of starters and desserts, my other half had the goats cheese which was beautifully presented and tasted just as good! I on the other hand had the local pate which was excellent! For dessert we shared the treacle tart, which easily was the best we had ever had and again presented to a very good standard. Breakfast in the morning was very nice, good selection and plenty of it!

Overall a brilliant stay and we would recommend this beautiful rural pub/inn to anyone, great customer service, excellent food and beer a wonderful location!


Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Foodlover115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Crown Inn Alvediston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn Alvediston

Address: The Road, Alvediston SP5 5JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Alvediston
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alvediston
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Inn is now open under new management having been closed since September 2015. We offer quality bed & breakfast accommodation in a 15th century country Inn set in the idyllic village of Alvediston some 11 miles from the beautiful city of Salisbury. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Crown Inn Alvediston Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing