We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown Inn
Ranked #10 of 10 Keynsham B&B and Inns
halifax, west yorkshire, england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner spent a night at the crown inn. It was ideally situated as just off the ring road which was easy to find so great location. The room was lovely had everything we needed. Breakfast was lovely we ordered it the night before as we had a full English. I would highly recommend the crown inn.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ritamack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie M, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi Rita
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, this is much appreciated. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again if you are in this area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    15
    9
    8
    14
See reviews for
18
24
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I along with my sister recently stayed at the crown and received a warm welcome and even tho the staff had a very busy lively party going on they still took the time to make sure we were comfortable our room was very clean the beds were very comfy we had dinner there food was good and there was plenty of it the landlord sorted a taxi for us to get to our night out venue nothing was too much trouble lovely breakfast next morning after a good nights sleep, could not have wished for a better place to stay would def stay again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank katey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie1234_12, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi Katey, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review which we really appreciate. I will pass on your kind words to all the staff involved and hope to see you again when you are in this area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed for the first time and will return. Very warm greating from the bar staff, room clean and had everything I needed for an overnight. Expect a little road noise as it's on a main road but it has secondary glazing so not bad. Good beer, larger and cider and food was very nice and a good portion, you can eat in bar or restaurant area. Natalie and Shaun made me feel very welcome and you can see the effort and money that they have been putting into the pub and rooms. Breakfast was spot on (thanks Shaun). This is a pub, so expect a pub, the accommodation is clean and good value for money. I will return on my next trip. Many thanks Martin Mould, see you soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ttautomotive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie M, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hi Martin Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us feedback, it is much appreciated. I am so glad the staff made you feel welcome as we like to treat people how we would like to be treated. I will pass on your thanks to them. We love nothing more than seeing an empty plate coming back to the kitchen so really pleased you enjoyed the food. Look forward to seeing you again soon when you are back in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

it is what it is ,, old pub done up as well ,, nice and worm in the rooms, got everything you need tv,coffee tea ect , clean , tidy with genuinely friendly staff and owners, would stay there again for sure. made to feel welcome even though i had the better shirt on ,,

Room Tip: all the rooms looked cleaned , from what i saw i would stay in any of them .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d2splumbingservices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie M, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and as you mentioned your shirt I am glad enjoyed our range of books, as I know one book got your interest. I have passed on your comments to Elaine who cleans the rooms for us as she needs to take the credit for how clean they are. Look forward to seeing you again when you visit Keynsham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Really friendly landlady and great room... Perfect for a nights stay before shooting into Bath for works do! Lots of places to mill around locally, and superb distance from Bristol and Bath, without being in the middle of it all. Which we loved! Definitely recommend!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chloeburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie M, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave some lovely feedback. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

My wife and I had booked to stay at the Grange Hotel down the road, but their poor attitude (see my review) caused me to cancel and find an alternative. We drove down the road and pulled into the nearby Crown pub, whose signboard offers ensuite rooms. It was after 3pm. Would there be anyone on duty to greet us? Good news, the pub still had a few drinkers. A friendly young woman greeted me from behind the bar and when asked if she still had a room, it was yes with smiles, price £59. You never know quite what to expect staying at pubs on busy main roads. But our room was clean and warm and the facilities worked. The bed was comfortable, the pillow odourless and like the duvet, crisp and clean. The double glazing effectively shut out the constant A4 traffic noise. Satelite TV worked (in the inefficent way satelites work) and there were books in the room and on the landing, if TV isn’t your bag. We were too tired to have a bevvy in the pub, but the room kettle served us OK with coffee and hot chocolate. We had a good night’s sleep. I obeyed the rules at breakfast and had cereal and toast. (You are supposed to preorder a fry up, though the lady owner offered it to me and the others at breakfast in any case). We stayed here on spec. We might not have if beforehand, we had read the Trip Advisor reviews. I just wonder what the anonymous writers of the poor reviews expect. The Hilton? The Ritz? The Dorchester? It’s a pub, for heaven’s sake, and I for one say good for the hard working owners. The Crown delivered all I needed and more.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank purcyrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie M, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely words, it is really nice to hear when someone enjoys their visit. I hope your wife enjoyed her birthday surprise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

The bedrooms were acceptable and an effort had been made to decorate them to a better standard than the rest of the hotel. However the bathroom left a lot to be desired with a smell that you couldn't get rid of and a very strange and loud noise coming from the toilet every time you flushed. There was no mirror in the bedroom and the lighting was poor. The dining room was very small so as there was a group of us we decided to walk up the hill and had a highly delicious meal in the pub up the road. There was a darts match going on when we were there which unfortunately meant that the members of our group who were staying above the bar didn't get to sleep until very late despite having to cycle over 100 miles next day from a very early start.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pensioner62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie M, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave us some feedback. I would like to respond to a few issues that you raised. First off you started by calling us a hotel, we are not a hotel we run a pub with a rooms above. It is unfortunate that you did stay on a darts night and the pub was a bit busier than normal, but surely you would have thought of this when you booked a pub for a nights stay. If you needed no noise due to the fact that you had a early start then it would have made more sense to book into somewhere like a Travel Lodge. The noise did stop at 11.30 when the pub closed. In response to the bathroom thank you for letting us know about the lighting and no mirror this will be dealt with this coming week to help improve other customers stay. The toilets are Saniflow toilets due to the plumbing in the building so I do appreciate the noise when the flush is pulled, but unfortunately there is nothing we can do about that unless we replace them all and install normal toilets and change all the plumbing which unfortunately is too expensive for our small business. Once again thank you for your time as we do appreciate constructive feedback where it will help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Keynsham hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keynsham
2.9 mi away
Arnos Manor
Arnos Manor
#36 of 37 in Bristol
3.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel
5.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Manor House Hotel
Old Manor House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Keynsham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#1 of 10 in Keynsham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grasmere Court
Grasmere Court
#5 of 10 in Keynsham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Property: The Crown Inn
Address: 63 Bristol Road, Keynsham BS31 2WA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Keynsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Keynsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello and welcome to The Dining Rooms - The Crown Inn. Reknowned for our friendly service, value food and great value drinks. The Crown in that is to re-open it's doors under David & his team is having a face lift in public areas and two additional rooms added. Located a ten minute drive from both Bristol & Bath the Inn is in a great location. Bus stop's outside the hotel and the train station a five minute walk away that takes you to the Airport, Bristol Temple Meads & Bath / Bath spa. Rooms from just £20pp.pn with breakfast - FREE WI=FI & breakfast often included in the packages. Food is served from 12-9 Monday - Saturday & 12-6 on Sundays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing