We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disregard earlier reviews - things have changed”
Review of Hotel National

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel National
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Davos Platz
Reviewed 3 March 2009

I suggest you disregard earlier reviews. My Inghams rep tells me that this hotel has recently changed management and has had a major refurb.

Certainly, the National Hotel I stayed at bore little resemblance to the one I was expecting based on the reviews I read here. I found an excellent hotel. Recent refurbishment was obvious, but was pleasingly sympathetic to the hotel's original styling; nothing looked "tired" to me.

My single room was smallish, but well equipped with wardrobe and drawers, so I had no problem with clutter. Everything worked, and everything was clean. Doors connecting adjoining rooms created a bit of a noise transmission problem though.

Great staff, attentive, smiling, and all of whom spoke excellent English. Free wifi Internet access on ground and first floor. Location as good as any in Davos (I'm not sure Davos has an "ideal" hotel location - it's that kind of place).

Ski equipment room arrangements are unusual. There's a room for your skis, but you're allowed to put your ski boots on in your room and walk through the hotel wearing them. Unique in my experience: all other hotels I know of forbid that.

The food was a highlight - really good, perhaps the best food I've ever had in any hotel. I recommend you stay here half-board. Multi-course meals, served with a pleasing flourish (I won't spoil the surprise by telling you what I mean by that). Bring some smart casual clothes though: everyone but me dressed quite well for dinner, leaving me feeling a tad embarrassed in my T-shirt, jeans, and walking shoes. Darn that 20kg luggage allowance!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2007

This was the third hotel on a 3 centre "Glacier Express" tour. Pleasant if somewhat anonymous modern hotel close to the centre. Our rooms in the previous hotels had been large, but this was quite small - little bigger than those found in "Travelodge" type places. However, it did have a nice balcony. The public rooms were very comfortable and the food was excellent, with extremely pleasant dining room staff. A very big "plus point" about Davos is the free pass to local cable cars, funiculars, trains, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheltonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2007

Nice welcome at the station and easy transfer to the hotel, which is uphill from the station and main street. Access back to station is easy by lift from main street.
Check-in a bit fussy, but ok.
Make sure you get a balcony south-facing room. Non-balcony singles are more 1 star than 4. Hotel overall is classed as 4 star but this seems generous in reality. The family owners are renovating the property but there is probably a 10 year programme involved.
Doubles good sized but furniture very 1970s and a bit tired.
Good breakfast and ok dinners. Chef is obviously operating on a tight budget, but does pretty well.
No room safes although there is a safe at reception.
No writing table in room but there are facilities in reception.
Pay internet terminal at reception where it's CHF 5 for 15 minutes- a bit of a rip-off. Free internet at the tourist office!!
Better options in town, but acceptable overall.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
423
Reviewed 31 January 2005

I've stayed at this hotel twice now. Last year I had a single room which was small but OK. This year travelled with my two daughters and had a very comfortable room with balcony (not that we used it in the winter).

We were collected from the station and check in consisted of handing me the key - no formalities required at all which was great.

The hotel has a nice restaurant. We had half board and the table d'hote evening meal comprised seven courses; they brought out exactly the same for my 9 year old! Anyway, the food was very good quality.

In the afternoon they provide tea and cakes in the very comfortable lounge area.

The hotel is close to the bus stop for the various ski areas (you can walk to the Jakobshorn area).

Most importantly the staff are friendly and extremely courteous.

Not cheap but good value; would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank psoendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank spooky365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Hotels D, Marketing at Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wirbeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davos Platz
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Davos
0.1 mi away
Morosani Posthotel Davos
0.9 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
InterContinental Davos Hotel
0.4 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#3 of 4 in Davos Platz
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Davos
Hard Rock Hotel Davos
#1 of 4 in Davos Platz
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel National

Address: Obere Strasse 31, Davos Platz, Davos 7270, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos > Davos Platz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Davos Platz
Price Range: £128 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel National 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel National***plus is centrally located in a tranquil and peaceful location in central Davos. Within a short 3 minutes' walk you are in the center of Davos Platz, or at the Jakobshorn cable car or at the train station. The sun terrace on the fifth floor is a special treat with an amazing view over Davos. Another benefit is our Sauna area which consists of a "Finnish Sauna", "Bio Sauna", "Steambath" and Jacuzzi tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing