We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Lion House a comfortable stay”
Review of Red Lion House

Red Lion House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Lion House
Ranked #1 of 1 Swarthmoor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I only stayed two nights at Red Lion House but it is a very comfortable and reasonably priced place to stay . The owners are friendly and helpful and provide a fine breakfast. The rooms are spacious and all is really good.

There is a pub not far away.

Swathmoor has a good bus service from Ulverston if you don't have a car and Ulverston has a train service.

Wonderful countryside nearby.

Obviously there is no swimming pool or fitness centre I just couldn't Un check it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

Just returned from a lovely stay at the RedLion. Attended a 60th birthday party with some friends. The rooms were immaculate and so fresh and clean, it was a joy to sleep there. Very quiet and comfortable. The owners made us feel very welcome and relaxed. Thje breakfast was lovely with lots of variety and the cooked breakfast was prepared as requested. Nothing too much trouble and we are definately coming back again for another get together. Brilliant place.

Jacky and Dave Lane

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stayed with my two adult daughters while in the area for a weekend's kayaking!! The accommodation was clean, well presented and provided everything you normally look for in a B&B. The breakfast set us up for the days activities ahead. Joanna and eric were excellent hosts and helped us out drying out our kit & recommending local places to visit & eat. The chinese they recommended was one of the best we had been to.
Didn't affect us, but don't use sat nav to locate the B&B. We also weren't overly impressed by the pub that lies next door (miners arms)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenwoodclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We only stayed here 1 night after the great north swim but we couldnt have been made to feel more comfortable and at home.The room was very well presented and extreamley clean. We had a kettle with tea coffee milk and sugar and biscuits and were even given fresh milk and a cupcake each on arrival.
Breakfast was cooked for the time we requested and was very tasty. along with the cooked brekkie on offer was cereal yogurts and toast with fruit juices and tea or coffee.The owners happily chatted to us while they were cooking.

we will deffinatley stay here again hopefully for more than 1 night the next time

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojo2989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We had a very enjoyable 2 night stay in this really comfortable and clean b&b. The room was well appointed and immaculately clean, with thoughtful compementary touches like tea, coffee and biscuits plus wifi code (without the need to ask). Breakfast was served at our requested time and was sublime. Overall an excellent place to stay with thoughtful and lovely hosts, we were very much welcomed like old friends. Will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Our first night before embarking on the Cumbria Way couldn't have been made any better than staying a this beautiful well appointed b&b. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, we were made very welcome by the owners and the breakfast, had I been upnto eating it was varied and plentiful. Great value for money, will definately be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigrooLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stopped here visiting relatives in nearby Ulverston. The rooms were spacious and the owners were highly accommodating from the moment we walked in to waving us off as we set off again on our way. The kids were well entertained as there was a variety of toys available plus both were impressed by the excellent dippy eggs served up in the morning.

All in all a very good accommodating B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swarthmoor
2.4 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#5 of 5 in Ulverston
40 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ulverston
76 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Virginia House
Virginia House
#10 of 26 in Ulverston
83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crosslands Farm
Crosslands Farm
#9 of 26 in Ulverston
43 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bay Horse Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion House

Address: 41 Ulverston Road, Swarthmoor LA12 0JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Swarthmoor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Swarthmoor
Price Range: £61 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion House is an ideal base for people wanting to visit the Lake District or do business with one of the areas thriving enterprises. We offer the choice of three comfortable, well appointed bedrooms with en-suite and private bathrooms and a tasty breakfast selection sourced from local producers. All our bedrooms are equipped with a hospitality tray, hair dryers; flat screen TVs with free-view channels and Wi-Fi internet is available on request at no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Red Lion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion House Swarthmoor, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing