We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Belper Arms

The Belper Arms
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Nestled amidst the beautiful Leicestershire countryside, The Belper Arms offers a warm, friendly atmosphere. Our traditional, family run pub and restaurant warmly invites you and your family to join us for a quiet drink, light lunch or sumptuous dinner. Our extensive menu is sure to tempt, as will our specialist evenings- Monday evening is 'Pie Night', Tuesday is 'Steak Night' or why not join us for a beautiful Sunday lunch! We're open from 12 noon every single day with our Chef's ready to freshly create your meal from 12 noon until 2.30 and 6pm 9pm Monday to Friday from 12 noon to 9pm Saturday and 12 noon to 6.30pm on a Sunday. We're also available to cater for private parties either in our restaurant or at your venue. 2015 we were honoured with the title of East Midlands and East Anglia Regional Best Newcomers in the Great British Pub Awards 2015
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Visited Sunday with my family, we didn't book a table but it wasn't a problem as there were a few tables available as we visited about 3 o'clock. We had heard a few bad reviews but were aware that there were new owners and as expected the standards will not be the same as previous owners who have been doing it for much longer! That being said, the food was absolutely amazing. The sunday dinners were more than enough but a few of us managed to fit in desserts (ice cream sundae) which again, were very nice. Starters and desserts on a sunday are £2.50 per portion and the main courses varied from 8.90 and 9.90. which for that price was very good for what you get. the staff were attentive and helpful and the landlord and lady were walking around chatting and joking with locals and other customers making everyone feel very at home. We heard the bar staff sharing jokes and chats and everybody who worked there seems to know what they're doing and get a long well together, like a family and work group should. Looking at previous reviews it is very hard to think of it being the same place as the atmosphere and food was great. would recommend it to anybody who is looking for cheap and nice sunday lunch

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank mrodger22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    46
    25
    28
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon trent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Oooh not good at all”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Had a bite to eat with friends very poor, nearly £7 for a par baked baggette, with a soggy vingery salad and no more than 8 chips( seems there's a theme here). My friend did not want a lot so opted for a bowl of cheesy chips, she did a little better and got 10 chips ,which is still dispointing as this was nearly £4.this lovely pub used to be thriving, not anymore!! The land lady, was heard moaning to the staff, which does not look good in front of customers. The landlord came from behind the and went for a sit down while people where waiting to be served. Leaving it to the young staff that were rushing around. Clearly we won't be visiting again.poor show .

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bt8910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nowhere near as good as it used to be”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Used to be great value and high quality food. We used to go weekly but the last time we visited my gammon steak was more like bacon, the chips were undercooked and the salad which used to consist of mixed leaves, peppers, onions and celery was a mere few pieces of past its best rocket. Food quality has rapidly decreased yet the prices have increased. Used to be our favourite place to eat however we wont be going there again and wouldn't advise it to anyone expecting to get what their money has paid for.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Despite reading some of the negative reviews, my partner and I thought we would come and try a sunday roast. As soon as we arrived we were warmly welcomed by a waitress and served very efficiently at the bar. We were offered a specials menu and a normal menu, which was much appreciated as my partner decided to have a steak instead of a roast. We took a seat and the waitress soon came over to take our orders.

The food was delicious! My partners steak was cooked to his request, which at times does not always arrive as expected and the sauce that accompanied his steak was beautiful and full of flavour. My sunday roast was gorgeous too. The meat was cooked to perfection and I could tell the veg was nice and fresh! Compliments to the chef!

Our plates were soon taken away and we were offered a dessert menu and more drinks. Although we wanted a dessert, we were too full to be able to enjoy one so we just had another drink each. We did however get some chocolates with the bill which were a very nice touch!

Overall, we had such a lovely afternoon. All of the staff were very efficient and friendly and the food was delicious. Big congratulations to Carole and Geoff on taking over the pub, you're doing a fantastic job! Will definitely be returning!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GraceVictoria92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Warm and Welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I spent the evening here with friends and family and found the pub to be very cosy, welcoming and friendly. Drinks reasonably priced. Everyone seemed to be having a good evening.

For dinner I had gammon and I have to say, that it was cooked to perfection - probably the best piece of gammon I've had in years. When it arrived I thought that there was no way I could eat it (as it was a large steak), but I did as it was very delicious (had to leave the chips!).

There is a lovely atmosphere in the Belper and it feels like a real pub with the locals making you very welcome. The staff are really great, so cheery and helpful. The garden is great for families and dogs. Geoff and Carole are new to the pub and doing a great job. It is so nice to go to a pub that isn't trying to be something else. Loved it and will be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Belper Arms also viewed

Nuneaton, Warwickshire
Snarestone, Leicestershire
 
Snarestone, Leicestershire
Shackerstone, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Belper Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing