We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$84
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A&B Events(Matale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kamrel(Kurunegala)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Jetwing Lake(Dambulla)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
136
21
6
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
21
6
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssri lankaswimming poolthe main roadhidden gemkaraoke roomlong timemouth wateringhis wifethe managerslong driveunforgettable memoriesbest wishesremote locationpersonalized servicespacious roommust visit placesuper friendly staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Brook was our fisrt HM destination. We loved it for many reasons.Firstly, friendlyness of the staff . Ambience and the tasty food. We stayed in the red chalet and it was an ideal setting for us specially with the private pool. Brook is not offering common buffet thus we could get done whatever dishes we need on our preference which is very rare option in many hotels. We loved American + breakfast with our favorite Sri lankan delicacies. Brook also offers you fine dining which gives five star dining experience. More than everything we never felt like that we are away from home cos Pubudu (the Owner) and Karen (Operations Director ) always made sure that all our needs and wants are satisfied thus customized service is marvelous which is Brook’s no one marketing point , as we understood. We have never experienced such a wonderful hospitality, caring staff before. During our stay we visited the Na Uyana Monastery which is nearby and the friendly guide from brook guide us there. We have uploaded few photos for viewer’s reference. And also Brook is good hide out for bird lovers cos we could see various types of birds in t the area even in Na-Uyana. We also visited the Lake in the same area which is again a very nice view. Most importantly, Brook swimming pool is one of the best pool’s with a great view. That surrounding makes you feel like you are so near to the heaven. (see the pics) Many more attractions are awaiting to welcome you at Brook and all the best for your next vacation at Brook !
Pubudu and Ravini

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snowy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, Co-owner/Director of Operations at Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you for your delightful review of your Honeymoon here at Brook! We were so pleased that you chose us for this special time, starting off on your journey through life together as man & wife.

We are very glad that you mentioned your trip to Na Uyana Monastery. It is an amazing place, which devotees travel to from around the world to perform silent meditation & strengthen their beliefs in the teachings of Lord Buddha. The beautiful tank (lake) a few kilometres away is also somewhere lovely to experience. Around our area, there are several sites of interest not normally visited, we like to promote these sites for more visitors to Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa to enjoy!

It was a little confusing having another Pubudu around for a few days, I'm only used to having my business partner, Pubudu D around but we certainly enjoyed your company. Thank you for saying how much you felt 'at home' with us.

We hope to welcome you back to Brook soon, where our wonderful staff are ready to take care of you.

Congratulations on your marriage.

Karen, Pubudu & the Team @ Brook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Brook Boutique Hotel for 11 nights in November 2012. We had been in Sri Lanka before and visited the heritage sites then, but this time, I had recently undergone an operation on my foot and my mobility was limited, as was my husband's due to a trapped nerve, so we needed a hotel where we could relax and be pampered.
We couldn't have found anywhere in the world that would have looked after us better than they did at the Brook. The owners, Karen and Pubudu, have picked the most wonderful staff who follow their friendly, caring and efficient example. Nothing is too much trouble. When we sat relaxing in the air conditioned lounge, they would quietly come in from time to time to see if we needed anything. Likewise, the chef would ask what we would like to eat in the evening, or would help us decide if we asked. The food was always superb and beautifully presented, with an excellent selection of wines available. The breakfasts were also fantastic, with fresh homemade cakes and pastries, cooked breakfast and Sri Lankan choices, or all of them if you could manage it. We never could. Karen and Pubudu greet all newly arrived guests with a management cocktail in the bar before dinner, staying for a chat and making them very welcome.
We stayed in the luxury garden chalet with a very private garden and a Jacuzzi, which we made very good use of. The room was very large and so was the bed, with the most comfortable mattress we have ever slept on and an excellent choice of pillows. We had a huge shower and twin washbasins, which is always a good idea. I had a very well lit make-up area, which you always look for in a hotel, but rarely get.
We spent a lot of time at the splendid swimming pool. The view from up there was so beautiful and relaxing, overlooking the coconut plantation, with the ever attentive staff bringing cooling drinks to order.
During our 11 days we were never bored, there was always something to do, with lots of books and a massive DVD library available, many beautiful birds to watch, or having a relaxing massage in the spa.
It is a long time since we were at the Brook, but the sheer enjoyment we got from our visit has stayed with us and we can thoroughly recommend it. It is the most fantastic, welcoming and relaxing hotel, in a really beautiful setting. We shall; certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norman E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We went to Brook Boutique on our honeymoon. We was amazed by the surrounding & hard to believe such a fantastic place exists. I'm glad we stayed there for two days. Service is top class & food is delicious too. They made food for our preference which is quite rare. Must visit place for honeymooners..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rumesh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, Co-founder/Dir of Operations at Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Thank you very much for choosing Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa for your honeymoon, it was a pleasure having you with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel & that you loved the surroundings. We are very proud of our award winning hotel & we are always thrilled when our guests tell us how wonderful it is. It makes our chef & his team glow with pride when our guests mention his wonderful cooking. The food is prepared & cooked especially for you, so we are happy you appreciated the lovely choices you were given.

Please return to visit us before too long.

From Karen & the team at Brook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Great find, i was surprised at their quality and service being a new hotel. Very friendly staff (hotel manager sets the example), they went out of their way to make our stay a comfortable one. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a peaceful and relaxing getaway. Almost forgot to mention about the master chef who made all different kinds of food dishes we asked for. Its one of the best places we have ever been to and we are planning to go there again soon.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Praveen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, Co-founder/Dir of Operations at Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa and for your kind comments about your experience here with us. Our friendly, professional staff go beyond what is expected because they genuinely love to see our guests happy while staying with us.

We consider ourselves very fortunate to have our executive chef & his team working away behind the scenes to provide such fantastic food for your pleasure.

We are taking you at your word & expect to have you join us again, very soon, for another wonderful stay; until then, tell all your friends how much you enjoyed your moments at Brook.

Looking forward to welcoming back.

From Karen & all the Team @ Brook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed five nights at Brook and it was the best holiday we ever had. We stayed in Galle, Kandy and Melsiripura during our stay in Sri Lanka. Excellent welcome by resident manager and few staff on arrival. Welcome towels beautiful welcome drink smiles all the time( Very happy team). Chef had a chat with us and discussed our favourites. We stayed in a garden chalet with a plunge pool. WOW it was the best room. Food was always excellent throughout our stay. Underground karaoke bar was really nice touch. Hilltop pool is the best swimming pool. Very romantic swimming pool located in the highest point of the large estate. We used the Golf buggy to drive around the estate. Both of us used hotel mountain bikes to visit the village. Our tracker was very nice guy. Very helpful and had very good local knowledge.We visited Na Uyana Monastery with the tracker and it was a great experience. Like a walk in the Amazon jungle. Hotel is located in a beautiful location. When you entered through bamboo gates we felt like we were in a different planet. Drive through mango trees was stunning feeling. Service was the best ever experienced for last twenty years travel. We wish we could have stayed for a few more days.Both of us got wonderful suntans by the pool. Great holiday. Reserved for two weeks next year before I left Brook.
Price is very reasonable for the value they give. We recommend this hotel. It is a WOW.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews