We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melsiripura
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

It's one of a kind place. After travelling through a shady winding road it ends at Brook which is in the middle of a large coconut estate. Place is so close to nature and it give a homely feeling.
We went there on our honeymoon and stayed at a Garden Chalet with a private pool. It was very spacious and had a small private garden as well.
Chalet is clean and fully loaded including books, DVDs and even a Pillow menu. If you want more, they even have a separate book and DVD library. King size bed was super comfort.
Food was served À la carte and it is mouth-watering. The best fresh meals I have had so far.
On the first night they surprised us a with a cocktail which was on the house.
Next night, they even prepared "koththamalli" for us on request. Hospitality at it's maximum. (thumbs up)
Stayed two nights and enjoyed every bit of it, and surely will visit again.

Special thanks to Indika and crew for making our stay the perfect one!
Highly recommended for couples.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhanushka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    21
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
42
81
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I wish we had spent more than one night here. What a fabulous experience it was!!
We arrived later than expected. We were warmly greeted by one of the owners.
After freshening up, we asked about food availability. They inquired about any food allergies or preferences/intolerances.
There was a standard menu with many interesting local options. But, when I asked about vegetarian options, I was asked what we would like.
An hour later, we were served a fabulous meal with Indian and Sri Lankan items. Outstanding preparations, served piping hot. Everything was made fresh.
Service was more like being at home.
The next morning, breakfast was another feast. Again, options of western or Asian foods. Plenty of it, made fresh and served promptly. Lots of locally grown fresh fruits.
I can't say enough about the staff. They anticipated our needs well, and every request was met with a smile, and promptly handled.
Rooms are great. The villas are spacious, very clean, and all the amenities one could imagine are provided. Beds are very comfortable. Linens and towels looked and smelled fresh.
At night, there are some insects (but did not encounter any mosquitos), which are attracted to the exterior lights. But, closing doors quickly kept them out of the rooms.
In the AM, we went on a walking tour of the property. It is a working plantation with lots of mangos, bananas and a large variety of vegetation. Our guide gave us coconut milk from a freshly picked coconut. Delicious.
They have a brick-making facility on the property, where they make the bricks for their buildings. Nice use of local resources.
I would love to spend several days here to really experience all the charms of this little hideaway.

Room Tip: Larger villas with plunge pools are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rawanoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Recommended by close friends, Brook Boutique, is the ultimate place to spend time away from the hustle and bustle of city life. We chose to stay in the Luxury Villa which far exceeded our expectations. The decor and furnishings were first class and the Jacuzzi Pool overlooking the fruit plantations provided an ideal retreat to sit watching different varieties of birds and butterflies. Leaving such comfortable surroundings was difficult but well worth it to spend time around the hilltop pool overlooking the surrounding mountain side. The food was excellent, as was the range of fine wines all may I say at reasonable prices. Throughout our stay all members of staff were attentive, helpful and a credit to the hotel management.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MickDandSueD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

What a nice and peaceful place.The Villas are really good with their own pool. Food was excellent, and the breakfast was amazing. The most friendliest staff I have ever known, nothing was too much trouble for them. The swimming pool was on top of a hill overlooking the mountains. If you are looking for peace and quiet, this is the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navinder L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Brook Boutique was recommended by a family member as a nice place to relax and unwind while still being close to the Sri Lankan cultural triangle. Our expectations were exceeded on every count! The hotel is located on an 86 acre Fruit Plantation in the mountains near Melsiripuri. It is possible to go days without hearing a mechanical noise - plane, train or automobile! But there is plenty to do. Hike to the nearby Monastry high in the mountains, paddle along the Brook and enjoy the birds and small animals, lay by the pool or just sit on your verandah and watch the world go by! If you wish to travel further afield, Kandy, Dambulla, Sigirya and Pinawalla Elephant Orphanage are all within about 90 mins drive and make easy day trips.

We stayed in a superior room which was enormous and fitted with high quality linen, pillows, cushions, drapery and widescreen satellite TV. The Garden rooms are even bigger with a private outdoor area, Jacuzzi and excercise equipment. We opted for the half board option which included breakfast and dinner. I defy anyone to get through the breakfast! There is a western option, Sri Lankan option or both! The Sri Lankan breakfast is sensational. The dinner menu is extensive and covers all major cuisines. Additionally, if the ingredients are somewhere in the menu, the Chef will prepare a meal of your liking. And, there is a very well stocked cellar! Most if not all the restaurant staff have worked overseas - from Salzburg to Dubai to Tokyo. The service is excellent.

The hotel staff are friendly and genuienly caring. We felt pampered for the entire seven days we stayed at Brook. Each room has a mobile telephone which guests can use for any request and from anywhere on the estate. The phone can also be taken with you on day trips and if you have any difficulties, you can call Brook for assistance. This is a unique service.

Brook is an outstanding property quitely nestled in the forest and plantations of the mountains near Melsiripuri. If you are looking for somewhere to unwind away from the hustle and bustle of day to day life in Sri Lankar yet close enough to the major sites for day trips, Brook is the ideal choice.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are huge and well equipped.m
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank O1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

This privately run hotel is a little gem. To wake in the morning in your comfortable and charming room to the sound of exotic bird song was just the start. Centrally located for the SL Cultural Triangle, Brook is a delight! Secret? Well no! Tell your friends. Now!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jervaulx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Lovely hosts. Well thought out rooms and main building. Great food. Yes it is off the main road but it is well signed and I think the journey helps you shut off your go, go, go brain and switch to your lets relax brain.

We spent 3 nights here. The plan was to spend 2 days touring the Cultural Triangle with the Boutique as our base. However once we saw the hotel we gave ourselves permission to only spend one day touring to just 2 sites in the Cultural Triangle and to spend the second day relaxing by the pool and enjoying the views and the day. A little vacation from the vacation.

Room Tip: My tip is, book as many nights as you can at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen1CUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melsiripura
0.0 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
#3 of 11 in Kalkudah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#3 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,315 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: Madahapola Road, Alipallama, Melsiripura 60540, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Melsiripura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melsiripura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World Luxury Hotel Award winner 2012 for the best Luxury country Hotel,Melsiripura-hub to many Cultural Heritage sites-on 80 acre fruit-growing estate.(Close to Dambulla) 4 Superior rooms,3 Luxury Garden Chalets,2 Bedroom Luxury Villa, Flat screen satellite TV-DVD-Internet. In room T/Coffee- 300 thread-count bed-linen/Pillow Menu, AC/fans, safes, minibar, hairdryer, iron, robes. Designer bathrooms-state of art body-showers. Chalets with secluded gardens-Jacuzzi or plunge pool,Magnificent hilltop swimming pool. Brook running through estate with natural pool, Spa, Ala carte and Fine Dining. Underground Wine-cellar, bar, lounge with variety of board-games. Designer Jewelry shop-Book/DVD Libraries. Child policy 7+ Ideal for bird-watching and relaxing.Day tours recommended from the hotel are: Dambulla, Sigiriya, Kandy,Na Uyana, Arankelle, Rideegama, Matale.Approx 2.5 Hrs Drive from Airport. Closest Luxury Boutique Hotel (Cultural Triangle Hotels) to the Airport/ Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Boutique Hotel And Spa
Brook Boutique Hotel Melsiripura
Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa Sri Lanka/Melsiripura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing